ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 06:41 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Sweet, those are just suggestions for ProcODT. The Stilt and [email protected] repeatedly stated in C6H thread that really what is right is what you test and need. Yeah real pain but it's price we gotta pay if OC'ing/Tweaking redface.gif .
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 06:45 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Sicness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 121
Rep: 8 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

Sweet, those are just suggestions for ProcODT. The Stilt and [email protected] repeatedly stated in C6H thread that really what is right is what you test and need. Yeah real pain but it's price we gotta pay if OC'ing/Tweaking redface.gif .

That's ok. Happy to pay that price smile.gif

I'm just surprised it differs from X370 that much. BTW, in case anyone was wondering, RTC works on X399 as well.

TR 1950X @EKWB + ASUS Zenith Extreme + 2x G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX + 2x RX Vega 64 @EKWB + EIZO FS2735 + ASUS PG278Q
Sicness is offline  
post #13 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
I guess the mobo/CPU creates the variation if you are using same RAM kit.

I know on same C6H/RAM but differing CPU I needed differing ProcODT to attain highest RAM clock compared with another CPU, upto ~3500MHz was what I went for.
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 12:41 PM
Founder
 
LiquidHaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 1,985
Rep: 78 (Unique: 72)
I was able to achieve a 4.1ghz overclock on my 1920X at 1.33v

I set power delivery settings from Standard to Optimized, which may bump voltage to 1.35v to maintain stability, as well as throughput from 100% to 110%




www.liquid.haus
Team Heatkiller
LiquidHaus is offline  
post #15 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 04:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Poloasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 30
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeisshort117 View Post

I was able to achieve a 4.1ghz overclock on my 1920X at 1.33v

I set power delivery settings from Standard to Optimized, which may bump voltage to 1.35v to maintain stability, as well as throughput from 100% to 110%




What type of G-Skill Trident Z RAM are you using?
Poloasis is offline  
post #16 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 04:18 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Sicness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 121
Rep: 8 (Unique: 4)
My 24/7 settings from the C6H (3066, 16-16-16 2T) are now stable with 68.6ohm. 3200 seems tricky and may require Bus tinkering, as I always get an occasional error in Memtest sooner or later.

tr_3066pss50.jpg
3066x4skc.jpg

TR 1950X @EKWB + ASUS Zenith Extreme + 2x G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX + 2x RX Vega 64 @EKWB + EIZO FS2735 + ASUS PG278Q
Sicness is offline  
post #17 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 07:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ajc9988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 488
Rep: 33 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poloasis View Post

What type of G-Skill Trident Z RAM are you using?
Those are F4-3200C16_-8GTZR, if I read the label correctly. Waiting for more board comparisons to dive in, and a binned CPU, but then will join and am transplanting my 4133 Trident Z (CL19 21-21). I've gotten 3733 on a Maximus VIII Extreme with CL14. I had 4K working, but no improvement in performance with the looser latency. So, those 4 dimms are making the move and that build is being retired to another project!biggrin.gif

Desktop (Click to show)
Asus Maximus VIII Extreme, G.Skill 4133MHz - Running 3733MHz (MB limitation; I've had 4000, but...)@[email protected] 14-17-17-36-280 with Corsair CMXAF2 Ram fans, EVGA 980 Ti Classified (OC specs to come), [email protected]@1.42V everyday stable, Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate AIO (push/pull 6xNoctua iPPC 3000), EVGA 1600 Ti PSU (for later SLI setups), Thermaltake X9 Cube, Intel 600P NVME
Laptop (Click to show)
P770ZM / Chi Mei 1080p 17.3" TN matte - OC to 100Hz / Intel Core i7 4790K - 4.5GHz 1.130V Static / Nvidia Geforce 980M 8GB (current OC limit of 330MHZ Core/410MHZ VRam/ [email protected]) / Kingston HyperX 32GB DDR3 [email protected] CR-2T custom SPD / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB M.2 / Intel Wifi Dual Band 7265ac+BT / Win 7 Pro x64 - custom by NTLite / 330W PSU/Prema BIOS
ajc9988 is offline  
post #18 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 07:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alucardis666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Up and running. Using the X62 to cool, anyone else getting high temps? Like... I'm sitting @ 65C @ idle?! CPU @ 3.9ghz... rolleyes.gif

EDIT: So idk to go by cam software or HW monitor, maybe it's an offset thing here that's throwing me off?


Intel i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz|| NZXT X62 || GIGABYTE AORUS GAMING 5 || EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3 HYBRID || 32GB G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz || Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 & XP941 256GB M.2 || EVGA 220-P2-1600-X1|| Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG || Samsung UN55KS9000 4k HDR TV || Martin Logan Vision X || SteelSeries Wireless H || Logitech G710+ & Logitech MX Master ||
alucardis666 is offline  
post #19 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ajc9988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 488
Rep: 33 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alucardis666 View Post

Up and running. Using the X62 to cool, anyone else getting high temps? Like... I'm sitting @ 65C @ idle?! CPU @ 3.9ghz... rolleyes.gif

EDIT: So idk to go by cam software or HW monitor, maybe it's an offset thing here that's throwing me off?


27C offset from the junction to get the die temp. The new HWinfo should have both listed.

Edit: Cam is correct and the HWinfo is showing the junction temp, which is made to kick the fans up higher. If you subtract 27C from it, you get the cam temp (actually 36.5, but close enough).

Desktop (Click to show)
Asus Maximus VIII Extreme, G.Skill 4133MHz - Running 3733MHz (MB limitation; I've had 4000, but...)@[email protected] 14-17-17-36-280 with Corsair CMXAF2 Ram fans, EVGA 980 Ti Classified (OC specs to come), [email protected]@1.42V everyday stable, Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate AIO (push/pull 6xNoctua iPPC 3000), EVGA 1600 Ti PSU (for later SLI setups), Thermaltake X9 Cube, Intel 600P NVME
Laptop (Click to show)
P770ZM / Chi Mei 1080p 17.3" TN matte - OC to 100Hz / Intel Core i7 4790K - 4.5GHz 1.130V Static / Nvidia Geforce 980M 8GB (current OC limit of 330MHZ Core/410MHZ VRam/ [email protected]) / Kingston HyperX 32GB DDR3 [email protected] CR-2T custom SPD / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB M.2 / Intel Wifi Dual Band 7265ac+BT / Win 7 Pro x64 - custom by NTLite / 330W PSU/Prema BIOS
ajc9988 is offline  
post #20 of 3255 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 08:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alucardis666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajc9988 View Post

27C offset from the junction to get the die temp. The new HWinfo should have both listed.

Edit: Cam is correct and the HWinfo is showing the junction temp, which is made to kick the fans up higher. If you subtract 27C from it, you get the cam temp (actually 36.5, but close enough).

Just updated. It's now showing both. So just disregard the higher one? lol.

Intel i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz|| NZXT X62 || GIGABYTE AORUS GAMING 5 || EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3 HYBRID || 32GB G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz || Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 & XP941 256GB M.2 || EVGA 220-P2-1600-X1|| Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG || Samsung UN55KS9000 4k HDR TV || Martin Logan Vision X || SteelSeries Wireless H || Logitech G710+ & Logitech MX Master ||
alucardis666 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off