ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support - Page 313 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3121 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-23-2019, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,930
Rep: 739 (Unique: 344)
@elmor

Ahh cool, I maybe suffering from bad internal brain memory training that did not recall the menu being in other UEFIs , many thanks for PDF and +rep .

So far RT on same RAM setup as previous UEFIs with AGESA to allow 3400MHz without BCLK tweak is non issue for me.

1x full post test run

Spoiler!


1x warm post test run

Spoiler!


Currently on a RB run, then will fire up P95, Y-Cruncher and some [email protected]/bionic .

*** edit ***

Room ambient 23C, RB 29 of 60min, RB 59 0f 60min and final PASS screenie.

Spoiler!


Done 2x PWM checks, one was between RT runs and another after RB, no issues.

Spoiler!


3x AIDA64 (Set to NUMA in UEFI)

Spoiler!


Base profile & 3400MHz settings txt.


Last edited by gupsterg; 02-23-2019 at 10:18 AM.
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3122 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-23-2019, 02:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Palulukas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Glad a new UEFI made its way to the users!

But I'm sure that after the update the saved uefi profiles won't work anymore and therefore will have to configure all over again... :-(
If the ASUS guys find a way to overcome that, that'll be awesome!
Palulukas is offline  
post #3123 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 04:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 815
Rep: 332 (Unique: 145)
Quote: Originally Posted by Palulukas View Post
Glad a new UEFI made its way to the users!

But I'm sure that after the update the saved uefi profiles won't work anymore and therefore will have to configure all over again... :-(
If the ASUS guys find a way to overcome that, that'll be awesome!

I believe profiles work across flashes now, if saved on a USB drive. Can't remember if it has been added to ZE yet, feel free to try. You can always go back and re-load the profile from your drive if it doesn't work on the new version.
elmor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3124 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 01:43 PM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 94
Rep: 0
@elmor

I have a LiqTech II rgb whatever CPU cooler. I was wondering, in your opinion, should I run my cpu at 3.9 all core or let amd do it's thing? I compile openwrt and do dev on arch linux (I use arch btw) but also dual boot windows for gaming. I have the 1950x. Thanks!

Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
post #3125 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 03:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 61
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by elmor View Post
I believe profiles work across flashes now, if saved on a USB drive. Can't remember if it has been added to ZE yet, feel free to try. You can always go back and re-load the profile from your drive if it doesn't work on the new version.
cannot load saved 1601.cmo
it just says file corrupted, have to reenter all values base on setting.txt
there is no reloading of profile either, after flashing from 1601->1701, all profiles are gone, same as previous bios updates. I have never been able to reload profiles / load cmo.
bummerboy is offline  
post #3126 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 03:44 PM
BOINC Cruncher
 
Keith Myers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 577
Rep: 18 (Unique: 13)
I would think it depends on how many threads you spin while compiling. I find that for distributed computing where I tend to keep all threads active, I find that just setting a multiplier and engaging PBO gets me better across the board clocks on all cores than just setting Auto and letting XFR2 and PBO run. I see higher clocks on some cores that way, but the other cores which are also engaged are running at reduced clocks compared to my fixed multiplier. That is how I run the Ryzens.

For the TR 2920X, I just set it on Auto with PBO and I manage to keep every core above 4.1Ghz on average. Cores that are feeding gpus drop temporarily to 2200Mhz when the task leaves the gpu and before the next one starts which ramps back up to 4.1Ghz. Some cores occasionally wander into 4.2 or 4.3 Ghz territory briefly.

Try both ways and see which lets you compile the fastest.

ASUS-Linux
(15 items)
Serenity
(14 items)
Numbskull
(17 items)
CPU
I7-6850K
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E-10G-WS
GPU
EVGA 1080TI Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080 Hybrid
GPU
Zotac 1070Ti Mini
RAM
G.Skill Rampage 3000-CL15
Hard Drive
Adata SU-900
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1600T2
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS Bionic Beaver
Monitor
AOC i2269vw 22-Inch
Mouse
Logitech Marble Mouse
CPU
Ryzen+ 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Hybrid
RAM
G. Skill F4-3200D-16GTZ TridentZ DDR4
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO M.2
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
EVGA CLC 280
Case
Corsair Air 540
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Monitor
HP 27xw
Keyboard
Logitech M520 Keyboard/Mouse combo
CPU
AMD 2920X Threadripper
Motherboard
Asrock X399 Fatality Pro Gaming
GPU
Zotac GeForce GTX 1070FE
GPU
Zotac GeForce GTX 1070FE
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW Hydro
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080XC Hydro Copper
RAM
G. Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZ
RAM
G. Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 960EVO
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm Pro Neo Threadripper block
Cooling
XSPC X4 Photon 170 Pump/Reservoir times two
Cooling
XSPC RX360 Radiator times two
Cooling
Noctua NF-A12x25 fan
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Black E-ATX
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Monitor
AOC 2367F
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Keith Myers; 02-25-2019 at 03:51 PM. Reason: Corrected for the type of system
Keith Myers is offline  
post #3127 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 06:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 815
Rep: 332 (Unique: 145)
Quote: Originally Posted by bummerboy View Post
cannot load saved 1601.cmo
it just says file corrupted, have to reenter all values base on setting.txt
there is no reloading of profile either, after flashing from 1601->1701, all profiles are gone, same as previous bios updates. I have never been able to reload profiles / load cmo.

That's too bad. Possibly "Update ASUS user profile module" means that this feature was added in the 1701 release which would mean that it would work to re-load profiles starting from that version.
elmor is offline  
post #3128 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 06:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
I updated to bios 1701...previous profiles were wiped out.
Then I loaded the built-in 4.0 ghz profile, temp sensors are still abnormal (<10c) unless I disable the MI Skew

Have to say I am disappointed with this. Not sure what I can believe with temps now.

Last edited by mojodawg; 02-27-2019 at 06:23 AM.
mojodawg is offline  
post #3129 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 10:07 AM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 94
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mojodawg View Post
I updated to bios 1701...previous profiles were wiped out.
Then I loaded the built-in 4.0 ghz profile, temp sensors are still abnormal (<10c) unless I disable the MI Skew

Have to say I am disappointed with this. Not sure what I can believe with temps now.
This is intentional... AMD is using XFR which benefits from low temps to drive up the frequency, hence why you get inaccurate temps

The solution seems to be pretty clear. Turn off MI Skew (I would also set a manual multiplier [3.9Ghz on all cores in my case]) to get the correct readings.

Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
post #3130 of 3224 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 10:14 AM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 94
Rep: 0
@elmor

Can you comment on my specific situation:
Chose to set everything auto as i upgraded from your 1601 to 1701. Changed a few non-vital options (LED, boot order, etc). Booted windows and was literally just unzipping a 7zip when the pc locked up and rebooted????

Went into the option and set my previous settings
[39 multiplier]
[disabled all the spread+ enhancements]
[DOCP 14-14-14-34]
[CPU core 1.35V]
[CPU SOC 1.1125]
[went to digi+ and upped the current % from 100% ->140%]
[tweaker's paradise: turned off MI Skew]

booted back into windows and unzipped again...no lock up and everything is relatively normal.

Why would auto lead to such a bad case vs manual?

Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off