ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support - Page 321 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3201 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-02-2019, 10:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MacMus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 156
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
waiting and resting does not help unfortunately ;-(

all fans, pumps are working @ max speed and are stuck there. Shifting to BIOS 2 via on board switch does not help ether...
MacMus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3202 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-02-2019, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AllenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 561
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
Welcome to the club MacMus. This problem goes wayyyy back, funny as their response to my exact same problem with the older x399 prime was to buy the board you have now, assuring the problem is fixed. Liars. Want to not have the issue? Control your fans and pumps with something different, you may monitor with mobo if you like, but it CAN'T control them or you will have these issues... Hopefully this helps. Pardon my french, i don't care if i get reprimanded for it... but 110% **** ASUS. If you can still return board and aren't locked into waterblocks or something i'd seriously advise to go with an Asrock or MSI board, even if they are less superior in certain aspects.

CPU
i7 990x @ 4.69GHz
Motherboard
Asus Rampage III Extreme
GPU
EVGA GTX780 FTW ACX 2.0 3GB
RAM
12 GB Samsung DDR3L @ 2100Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro 256gb Raid0 On LSI 9207
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro 512gb
Hard Drive
PSN across 10Gb Fiber
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVDRW
Power Supply
Corsair 850HX
Cooling
DTek Fuzion V2 CPU Block w/ Quad Insert
Cooling
Laing D5 pump {2MT}
Cooling
2 x Black Ice Pro 240 Radiators {2MT}
Cooling
EK Full Cover RIIIE Nickel/Acetal Block
Case
Lian Li PC-A10B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Enterprise X64
Monitor
Monoprice 27in WQHD IPS
Keyboard
Das Keyboard Model S
Audio
Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Platinum
Other
LSI 9207-8i SAS6G Raid Controller
Other
Intel XF SR 10Gb Fiber Adapter
CPU
Pentium G3258 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard
MSI PC Mate Z97
GPU
EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX2.0 4GB
RAM
8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
256 GB Plextor M6 SSD
Hard Drive
WD Black 640GB Raid0
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic S12II 620W
Cooling
Corsair H50
Case
Old Antec
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
Changhong 42in 1080p TV
Keyboard
HP Wireless Keyboard & Thumb tracker
Mouse
HP Wireless Keyboard & Thumb tracker
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality
CPU
Intel Xeon x5687 @ 3.6GHZ
CPU
Intel Xeon x5687 @ 3.6GHZ
Motherboard
Supermicro X8DT6-F
GPU
EVGA GT630 2GB
GPU
EVGA GT630 1GB
RAM
24GB Hynix DDR3 1333 2R-X4 ECC
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic S12II 620W
Cooling
Intel LGA1366 HDX Cooler for Extreme Edition CPU
Cooling
Intel LGA1366 HDX Cooler for Extreme Edition CPU
Case
CM Stacker
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Monitor
Qnix QX2410R DP
▲ hide details ▲
AllenG is offline  
post #3203 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-02-2019, 11:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MacMus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 156
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by AllenG View Post
Welcome to the club MacMus. This problem goes wayyyy back, funny as their response to my exact same problem with the older x399 prime was to buy the board you have now, assuring the problem is fixed. Liars. Want to not have the issue? Control your fans and pumps with something different, you may monitor with mobo if you like, but it CAN'T control them or you will have these issues... Hopefully this helps. Pardon my french, i don't care if i get reprimanded for it... but 110% **** ASUS. If you can still return board and aren't locked into waterblocks or something i'd seriously advise to go with an Asrock or MSI board, even if they are less superior in certain aspects.
hey sorry i think you misunderstood... my fans are working fine when board is working. It's when the board is "stuck" on 00 sometimes on initial boot everything works on max speed .. all fans, pumps, vrm fans etc.
MacMus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3204 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-02-2019, 11:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AllenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 561
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
No misunderstanding, the problem stems back to the pwm controller going into whack mode whenever it wants. Everyone tries to say it's triggered by different things, which is bs. It just does what it wants, when it wants. I've seen problems from cold boot (getting stuck in different portions of the init), sometimes it would persist for periods of time. It's very random. The board wants to know that its not overheating, so it needs to know something is spinning. When that pwm controller doesn't initialize properly it doesn't know what to do. Sometimes the temp sensors even get stuck because of the issue, which really causes havoc especially if the sensor got stuck at a high temp... Happened most often on the VRMS, would cause stuck in init issue trying to "cool" itself down.

BTW, the only way i found to get it out of stupid mode is to pull the power all together and let it drain off, then pull the battery too for a few. I will say this gets annoying though, especially if your board decides to do this often.

CPU
i7 990x @ 4.69GHz
Motherboard
Asus Rampage III Extreme
GPU
EVGA GTX780 FTW ACX 2.0 3GB
RAM
12 GB Samsung DDR3L @ 2100Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro 256gb Raid0 On LSI 9207
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro 512gb
Hard Drive
PSN across 10Gb Fiber
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVDRW
Power Supply
Corsair 850HX
Cooling
DTek Fuzion V2 CPU Block w/ Quad Insert
Cooling
Laing D5 pump {2MT}
Cooling
2 x Black Ice Pro 240 Radiators {2MT}
Cooling
EK Full Cover RIIIE Nickel/Acetal Block
Case
Lian Li PC-A10B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Enterprise X64
Monitor
Monoprice 27in WQHD IPS
Keyboard
Das Keyboard Model S
Audio
Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Platinum
Other
LSI 9207-8i SAS6G Raid Controller
Other
Intel XF SR 10Gb Fiber Adapter
CPU
Pentium G3258 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard
MSI PC Mate Z97
GPU
EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX2.0 4GB
RAM
8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
256 GB Plextor M6 SSD
Hard Drive
WD Black 640GB Raid0
Optical Drive
Sony Optiarc DVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic S12II 620W
Cooling
Corsair H50
Case
Old Antec
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
Changhong 42in 1080p TV
Keyboard
HP Wireless Keyboard & Thumb tracker
Mouse
HP Wireless Keyboard & Thumb tracker
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatality
CPU
Intel Xeon x5687 @ 3.6GHZ
CPU
Intel Xeon x5687 @ 3.6GHZ
Motherboard
Supermicro X8DT6-F
GPU
EVGA GT630 2GB
GPU
EVGA GT630 1GB
RAM
24GB Hynix DDR3 1333 2R-X4 ECC
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic S12II 620W
Cooling
Intel LGA1366 HDX Cooler for Extreme Edition CPU
Cooling
Intel LGA1366 HDX Cooler for Extreme Edition CPU
Case
CM Stacker
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Monitor
Qnix QX2410R DP
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by AllenG; 06-02-2019 at 12:02 PM.
AllenG is offline  
post #3205 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-03-2019, 01:59 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,947
Rep: 741 (Unique: 345)
Quote: Originally Posted by MacMus View Post
waiting and resting does not help unfortunately ;-(

all fans, pumps are working @ max speed and are stuck there. Shifting to BIOS 2 via on board switch does not help ether...
I've owned C6H/C7H/ZE/ZEA, all the boards have controlled fans/pumps, all use the same Super IO chip; ITE8665E. I do a lot of testing of length, various loads and rePOSTing board, etc.

OP contains information as to why this happens. Besides monitoring tools even apps like Aura access Super IO chip from what I can tell, for example it has a temperature based profile which can only work if it's gaining the data from sensors which the SIO accesses. So I'd say can't back on SW and see which is the one causing these issues. Prior to even ASUS WMI coming out on all boards mentioned I had no issues as didn't use SW which could send SIO whack.

I also have not had the ZEA get stuck at Q-Code: 00. Yesterday I spent virtually whole day entering UEFI tweaking settings to gain 3400MHz C14 1T. Only issue I had was Kahru RAM Test failing, I had no POST issues/fan issues, etc. As stated in ZEA thread perhaps share data on config of FW/HW/SW used, you may gain a better insight.

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-03-2019 at 04:18 AM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #3206 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-03-2019, 02:01 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,947
Rep: 741 (Unique: 345)
gupsterg is offline  
post #3207 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-03-2019, 04:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Brain29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 212
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
for the ZE I very cheaply dipped a sensor into my water and tapped two to the sides of my chip and would use those for temp controls for all my fans set in bios - most of my issues went away

-- since there are so many temp sensors on the thread-ripper chip for some reason every other uefi seems to grab there own node or fail to see a node

im now playing with the corsair commander pro for all my fans as a controller (it was on sale for $20 bucks) they both have there faults software wise but the icue seems more constant but with less options

pretty sad how buggy the bells and whistles have been on this board since there the same stuff on all the other boards I like paying for things that don't work
Brain29 is offline  
post #3208 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 07:36 AM
TensorVortex
 
zodiacsoulmate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Waterloo, ON
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
btw guys I just noticed a new BIOS 1901 on ZE support site.

Version 1901
2019/06/11 5.67 MBytes


However there is no change log lmao
zodiacsoulmate is offline  
post #3209 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
NEW BIOS 1901

Quote: Originally Posted by zodiacsoulmate View Post
btw guys I just noticed a new BIOS 1901 on ZE support site.

Version 1901
2019/06/11 5.67 MBytes


However there is no change log lmao
I came here to report the same, has anyone dared to try it?
<sigh> is offline  
post #3210 of 3230 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,947
Rep: 741 (Unique: 345)
It seems as if Alpha has same UEFI release version, it's only had 2 UEFIs so far 0207 & 0405 an gone straight to 1901 ...

Quote:
ROG ZENITH EXTREME ALPHA BIOS 1901
Improve hardware monitoring compatibility with 3rd party applications.
Fixed a boot issue when using a Quadro K6000 GPU.
" Before running the USB BIOS Flashback tool, please rename the BIOS file (ZEA.CAP) using BIOSRenamer.''
AEGSA is still SummitPI-SP3r2-1.1.0.2, so do think will attain same profile for me...
gupsterg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off