ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support - Page 73 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 01:37 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
royfrosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 81
Rep: 17 (Unique: 14)
Ok i have found the issue. Its the pcie ssd giving the issue.

I swap out and use a sata ssd, there was no issue with screen flickering.

Thee moment i put back the pcie ssd, it starts to flicker whenever i overclock. Something is causing it to flicker really badly.
royfrosty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 02:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ljugtomten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 81
Rep: 6 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivanov88 View Post

Thank you very much! I did upgrade to 0603. What is the best procedure to clear CMOS that you will suggest, to my understanding I need to power the pc off, unplug the PSU cable and press the CMOS clear button on the back. Is that all i need to do?

Shut down and keep PSU cable plugged in, press the CMOS clear button and you should be all set :-)
When booted up in Windows, don't forget to update the AURA/OLED firmware aswell, first .10 (reboot) and then .13 :-)
Ljugtomten is offline  
post #723 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 03:46 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Paprika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 279
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by royfrosty View Post

Ok i have found the issue. Its the pcie ssd giving the issue.

I swap out and use a sata ssd, there was no issue with screen flickering.

Thee moment i put back the pcie ssd, it starts to flicker whenever i overclock. Something is causing it to flicker really badly.

Are you tinkering with bclk?
Paprika is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 04:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Puniek7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

OK.

So you have Samsung B die dual rank 4x16GB. Ref'ing the table in post 682, 2400MHz would be officially supported RAM MHz IMO.

i) Which UEFI are you using?

ii) Do you get 2400MHz?

iii) Would you mind providing UEFI settings txt? (Go to Tool page > ASUS Overclocking profile > Load/Save to USB > press CTRL+F2 to save to USB, attach to post)

If you are new to Ryzen/ThreadRipper and don't need 4x16GB, it maybe better to build up experience of HW you have by aiming to see what you get with 2x16GB and then moving to 4x16GB. I do not mind attacking 4x16GB with yourself with what I may try if in your shoes. Your call which way you wish to roll. I can not say how far we will get but happy to help smile.gif .

I couldn't manage to get it to anything except stock 2133. I tried on every single UEFI starting at 0503, Now I have 9980 beta if I remember correctly (downloaded from the first post in this thread). Do you want default UEFI settings or with clocked CPU?
Puniek7 is offline  
post #725 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 04:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Puniek7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljugtomten View Post

Did you also set voltage to 1.35V on DIMMs?

Se my post https://www.overclock.net/t/1636566/asus-rog-zenith-extreme-x399-threadripper-overclocking-support/680#post_26360011 for my exact settings in UEFI.

Yep, I set it to 1.35V as Corsair recommends.

Also just tried your settings and still no luck (UEFI 9980)
Puniek7 is offline  
post #726 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 04:17 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
royfrosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 81
Rep: 17 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paprika View Post

Are you tinkering with bclk?

No. Just multiplier. Bclk never touch. Im not sure if its the board issue.

I have spare gpu, spare x399, spare monitor, but do not have spare m.2 nvme. So far as long as* i dont put in the nvme ssd it will boot up and no flickering. Sigh.
royfrosty is offline  
post #727 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 04:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ljugtomten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 81
Rep: 6 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puniek7 View Post

I couldn't manage to get it to anything except stock 2133. I tried on every single UEFI starting at 0503, Now I have 9980 beta if I remember correctly (downloaded from the first post in this thread). Do you want default UEFI settings or with clocked CPU?

Please use UEFI 0603 which is the latest :-) 9980 is several updates old.
Ljugtomten is offline  
post #728 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 04:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Puniek7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljugtomten View Post

Please use UEFI 0603 which is the latest :-) 9980 is several updates old.

Updated to 0603 and same results - both Manual setting, XMP profile and your settings
Puniek7 is offline  
post #729 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 05:07 AM
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 64,147

Quick one guys, in my process of building. I notice that my CPU TR 1950X is the BIOS reports 63c, I notice I need to update the BIOS but did anyone else see these high temps in the BIOS. I have seen people have reported bugs with temp reporting.



Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #730 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-27-2017, 05:11 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
@royfrosty

BCLK shouldn't change with CPU Core Ratio change. I always opt for:-

Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
BCLK Frequency [100.0000]

Perhaps give that a try.

@Puniek7

Leave timings [Auto]

Use:-

Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
BCLK Frequency [100.0000]

Next ProcODT value on some C6H UEFI was 'auto determined' when on [Auto] and some releases [Auto] equaled 53.3 Ohms. What ZE UEFIs do I have no idea. Again I opt for my own setup.

Elmor/The Stilt had given some pointers on ProcODT in C6H thread, as you have Samsung B Die DR below would be some values to try.

Samsung B (DR) 2x16GB 80Ω / 96Ω
Samsung B (DR) 4x16GB 43.6Ω

I would try 80Ω / 96Ω as essentially your doing 1 16GB DR dimm per channel.

Then I would do changes to:-

Memory Frequency [Auto]

Just do jumps from 2133MHz upwards to see where you get, at post ProcODT is crucial and then using stress testing in OS you'll be able to tune it a bit better. Again the ProcODT values above are suggestions only, Elmor/Raja/The Stilt/Praz all stated in C6H thread to experiment as "what is right is what you need for your setup".

@ENTERPRISE

Update to latest OLED FW and UEFI and should see lower/more accurate temps.
gupsterg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off