ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support - Page 80 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 ThreadRipper Overclocking / Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #791 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-29-2017, 09:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CalderHutchins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hello, Since updating to 0603 BIOS I can finally overclock my CPU, It had been crashing at desktop on the previous iteration.
I'm at 4.0GHZ with 1.35 stable on a Kraken 62X on my 1920X, and I get around 40-50C in games. I was able to get 4X8GB of 3200 RAM stable at 2933, but nothing higher than that. I have not tried the 0803 UEFI yet, but since I am stable as is I might just wait a while till there is something else before I try and get the full 3200Mhz out of the RAM.

Thanks for this thread you guys, It's really helped with all my ZE issues.
CalderHutchins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #792 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 01:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
faxfan2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 42
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalderHutchins View Post

Hello, Since updating to 0603 BIOS I can finally overclock my CPU, It had been crashing at desktop on the previous iteration.
I'm at 4.0GHZ with 1.35 stable on a Kraken 62X on my 1920X, and I get around 40-50C in games. I was able to get 4X8GB of 3200 RAM stable at 2933, but nothing higher than that. I have not tried the 0803 UEFI yet, but since I am stable as is I might just wait a while till there is something else before I try and get the full 3200Mhz out of the RAM.

Thanks for this thread you guys, It's really helped with all my ZE issues.

I've found it's a balancing act between CPU o/clock and memory overclock - have the same setup (not sure on RAM but mine is Samsung B-die) and I found 3333RAM / 3.8GHz a sweet spot on 9910 BIOS but upgrading to 0603 broke this... mad.gif
faxfan2002 is offline  
post #793 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 04:50 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Sicness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 121
Rep: 8 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

You absolute !#$! ....

Nah sweet mate thumb.gif .

Thanks for share thumb.gif .

Sure thumb.gif

Gonna update to 0801 today and maybe get to tinker a bit.

TR 1950X @EKWB + ASUS Zenith Extreme + 2x G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX + 2x RX Vega 64 @EKWB + EIZO FS2735 + ASUS PG278Q
Sicness is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #794 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadspeedv View Post

My Chassis fan 1 profile speed in the BIOS keeps changing back to Standard. Anyone else having this issue?

Using UEFI 0601, 0603 and 0801 I have not experienced issue as yourself.

I set custom profile, using PWM mode, for CPU_FAN, CHA_FAN1, CHA_FAN2 and H_AMP_FAN.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalderHutchins View Post

Hello, Since updating to 0603 BIOS I can finally overclock my CPU, It had been crashing at desktop on the previous iteration.
I'm at 4.0GHZ with 1.35 stable on a Kraken 62X on my 1920X, and I get around 40-50C in games. I was able to get 4X8GB of 3200 RAM stable at 2933, but nothing higher than that. I have not tried the 0803 UEFI yet, but since I am stable as is I might just wait a while till there is something else before I try and get the full 3200Mhz out of the RAM.

Thanks for this thread you guys, It's really helped with all my ZE issues.

Nice result smile.gif , thanks for share thumb.gif .
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sicness View Post

Sure thumb.gif

Gonna update to 0801 today and maybe get to tinker a bit.

I thought before attempting tightening timings I'll roll down SOC and VDIMM as it should be lower IMO.

SOC 1.05V and VDIMM 1.38V

Y-Cruncher 9hrs pass



Currently doing P95 29.2 build 4, custom 8K 4096K 13000MB.




0801_3333_C15_setting.txt 25k .txt file
Attached Files
File Type: txt 0801_3333_C15_setting.txt (24.9 KB, 8 views)
gupsterg is offline  
post #795 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 06:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheScarecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 35
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

@Sicness


What timings are you using? struggling with getting 3333MHz Safe/Fast stable redface.gif, using the 3466MHz preset with 3333MHz currently. Gonna do some manual tweaking down.

Since going to the latest BIOS I can boot into windows and run 3dmark using stilts 3466Mhz preset but i have to use 2t and geardown mode otherwise i get BSOD


Not sure how much its really worth it at this stage over 3200 fast presets, need to do more testing but bed calls

*edit* even a quite prime95 run in blend makes all the workers fail within 5mins so yeah not looking good so far
TheScarecow is offline  
post #796 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
Once at 3200MHz your best to aim for tighter timings. See Is RAM MHz king? in OP of this thread and some of my testing on R7/C6H in this post.

I used 3466MHz The Stilt on my R7 1800X/C6H just because I wanted to test it for long term stability. If I was honest I felt 3333MHz Fast was best performing and as I used ~0.5V less SOC, lower VDIMM (~0.25V), better on voltages as I was closer to stock. So I would take in to consideration voltages needed to get xyz and ease of gaining vs performance gained.

*** edit ***

Forgot to say.

If dropping threads in P95, besides voltages/RAM MHz & timings you may need to tweak ProcODT and or CAD Bus. It is time consuming and laborious process, but I know no other way to sort stability if HW can do the "settings" being aimed for.
gupsterg is offline  
post #797 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 01:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CalderHutchins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by faxfan2002 View Post

I've found it's a balancing act between CPU o/clock and memory overclock - have the same setup (not sure on RAM but mine is Samsung B-die) and I found 3333RAM / 3.8GHz a sweet spot on 9910 BIOS but upgrading to 0603 broke this... mad.gif

You could try 0801, some people have posted that they have had success on that UEFI version.
CalderHutchins is offline  
post #798 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 02:44 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Sicness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 121
Rep: 8 (Unique: 4)
Updated to 0801. Found that there's a new MemTestPro version (6.0):
Quote:
Release notes:
6.0: optimized for computers with >4GB ram. Particularly significant for Deluxe users. If you are testing 8GB or more you need this version. If testing less than 4GB, 5.x may actually be slightly faster. Based on extensive empirical research we have updated the percent coverage metric; testing to 100% will catch all errors except for intermittent failures; to detect intermittent problems test to 400%.

The testing speed increase is indeed massive. Using the bootable test (deluxe version), it took 20+ hours to get 100% coverage with 32GB RAM on earlier versions.

Now, with 6.0, I tested Stilt's 3333 fast with 0801 and it's at 239% coverage after about 2.5 hours.

TR 1950X @EKWB + ASUS Zenith Extreme + 2x G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX + 2x RX Vega 64 @EKWB + EIZO FS2735 + ASUS PG278Q
Sicness is offline  
post #799 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 06:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,032
Rep: 56 (Unique: 23)
It irks me how many people go onto the site they bought the board from and leave horrible (and stupid imo) feedback without any evidence of attempting to get support. Had they had come here or any other support forum they would probably have been well off already.

I just want to choke them mad.gif

Don't forget to ground yourself

https://valid.x86.fr/9ly8hi
Reikoji is offline  
post #800 of 3267 (permalink) Old 09-30-2017, 10:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
capitaltpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Erlanger, KY
Posts: 736
Rep: 51 (Unique: 47)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reikoji View Post

It irks me how many people go onto the site they bought the board from and leave horrible (and stupid imo) feedback without any evidence of attempting to get support. Had they had come here or any other support forum they would probably have been well off already.

I just want to choke them mad.gif

Well to be fair, support for any product I buy should be on the manufacturer's support page. If you look there, you'll see BIOS 503. I could understand other people's frustration.

That being said, I updated to 801 and my Live Dash OLED stopped working and Aura started crashing. Went back to 603 and Aura is more stable, but Live Dash is no longer working. Trying to re-install the firmware just tells me the firmware is already the latest version. Any ideas?
capitaltpt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off