Offical Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 Owners Thread - Page 11 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Offical Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 Owners Thread

Reply
Thread Tools
post #101 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-13-2018, 01:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
w1zk1d
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: New York
Posts: 1
Having issues with installing windows 7 Pro via DVD Drive:



I flashed BIOS Version F10 - can get into BIOS, see DVD drive and Samsung 970EVO, on initial boot will recognize various DVD drives with options to boot EUFI Drive and non EUFI DVD Rom. It'll get to the point PRESS ANY KEY TO BOOT CD/DVD... However, when I press enter, it freezes the entire system. Any ideas? Any help would be appreciated.



Specs:
X399 Aorus X399 Gaming 7
AMD Threadripper 1950X

EK-FB GB X399 Monoblock, Radiator, Res/Pump
SAMSUNG 500GB 970EVO NVME
G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB DDR4-3200
w1zk1d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 10:38 AM
Linux Lobbyist
webhito Level 1
 
webhito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 700
It seems that bios F10 and F11e are keeping one or more of my cores pegged at max, thus, my vcore at idle is not dropping. Anyone else here ran into this? I ask because with F2D its not happening, only the most recent bios are doing this. The sad part is that I purchased a 2950x and only the latest versions will recognize it afaik.

Went to gigabytes forum and it seems both the latest have issues with cores being pegged at max speed, sadly I purchased a 2950x and can't use it properly, gonna have to either wait for a bios update or switch motherboard.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ss1.JPG
Views:	40
Size:	222.5 KB
ID:	219624  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ss2.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	186.2 KB
ID:	219626  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ss3.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	219.1 KB
ID:	219628  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ss4.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	182.9 KB
ID:	219630  


Last edited by webhito; 09-22-2018 at 05:47 PM.
webhito is offline  
post #103 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-26-2018, 04:12 AM
Linux Lobbyist
Randa71 Level 1
 
Randa71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 36
It's a common and known bios problem related to F10 and F11e with first gen Threadripper. I have a 1950X...first core and last core are stuck at max clock. No drop voltage at idle. even if i set windows balanced power setting. So i've installed and i'm using F3j bios version.
I don't know if it's different with 2950X...and i'm surprised that gigabyte has not fixed this yet....

Last edited by Randa71; 09-26-2018 at 04:18 AM.
Randa71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #104 of 109 (permalink) Old 10-01-2018, 05:27 AM
Linux Lobbyist
webhito Level 1
 
webhito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 700
Quote: Originally Posted by Randa71 View Post
It's a common and known bios problem related to F10 and F11e with first gen Threadripper. I have a 1950X...first core and last core are stuck at max clock. No drop voltage at idle. even if i set windows balanced power setting. So i've installed and i'm using F3j bios version.
I don't know if it's different with 2950X...and i'm surprised that gigabyte has not fixed this yet....
Yea, I am not sure either if 2nd gen Tr's suffer from the same fate.

I did get a reply from gigabytes customer services where they requested me to do a fresh install on a new hard drive even after explaining that the issue pops up as soon as the bios is flashed with the exact same software. This was Gigabyte Latin America support, meaning its quite possible whoever replied has no idea what hes doing or in worst case scenario, gigabyte has no idea so many people are having this problem.

I have a 2950x sitting on my desk for over 2 weeks now, it took gigabyte 5 days to give me a reply going nowhere.
webhito is offline  
post #105 of 109 (permalink) Unread 01-13-2019, 11:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
ckoons1 Level 1
 
ckoons1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: O'fallon Mo. 63366 USA
Posts: 532
Any one looking for an ek monoblock for this board let me know
ckoons1 is offline  
post #106 of 109 (permalink) Unread 01-13-2019, 12:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
ckoons1 Level 1
 
ckoons1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: O'fallon Mo. 63366 USA
Posts: 532
sorry double post
ckoons1 is offline  
post #107 of 109 (permalink) Unread 01-17-2019, 04:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
OsmoTech
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Quote: Originally Posted by ckoons1 View Post
Any one looking for an ek monoblock for this board let me know
Just sent you a pm. I am interested if you still have it
OsmoTech is offline  
post #108 of 109 (permalink) Unread 01-17-2019, 10:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
ckoons1 Level 1
 
ckoons1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: O'fallon Mo. 63366 USA
Posts: 532
Right now the one i have is for asrock

ckoons1 is offline  
post #109 of 109 (permalink) Unread 01-28-2019, 04:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
ckoons1 Level 1
 
ckoons1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: O'fallon Mo. 63366 USA
Posts: 532
Curious how does this compare to aorus 7 version?

Thank you

ckoons1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off