Offical Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 Owners Thread - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Offical Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 Owners Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-03-2017, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
ht_addict Level 1
 
ht_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 637

GIGABYTE X399 AORUS

​GAMING 7(Rev 1.0)

 

 

 

http://ca.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X399-AORUS-Gaming-7-rev-10#kf

 

 

 

 

  • AMD X399 Gaming motherboard with RGB Fusion, Digital LED strip support, Triple M.2 with Thermal Guard,120dB SNR
  • ALC1220, Killer E2500 Gaming Network, Front & Rear USB 3.1 Gen 2 Type-C, Intel Dual Band 802.11ac WiFi+BT4.2
  • Supports AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ Processors
  • Quad Channel ECC/ Non-ECC Unbuffered DDR4, 8 DIMMs, 3600MHz+(OC)
  • Fast Front and Rear USB 3.1 Gen 2 Type-C™ and Rear Type-A Interface
  • 4-Way Graphics Support with Dual Armor and Ultra Durable™ Design
  • Server-Class Digital Power Design & Gold Plated Solid Power Connectors
  • ALC1220 120dB SNR HD Audio with Smart Headphone AMP and WIMA audio capacitor
  • Sound BlasterX 720°, the Top-of-the-line Audio Engine Solution for 4K Gaming and Entertainment
  • Killer E2500 GbE LAN Gaming Network
  • Intel ® Dual Band 802.11ac + Bluetooth 4.2 – AC 8265 WiFi Module
  • RGB FUSION with Multi-Zone LED Light Show design, support Digital LED & RGB LED strips
  • Smart Fan 5 features Multiple Temperature Sensors and Hybrid Fan Headers
  • Triple Ultra-Fast M.2 with PCIe Gen3 x4 interface and Thermal Guard
  • USB DAC-UP 2 with Adjustable Voltage
  • Precise Digital USB Fuse Design for Stronger Protection
  • Ultra Durable™ 25KV ESD and 15KV Surge LAN Protection
  • GIGABYTE UEFI DualBIOS™ with Q-Flash Plus USB port
  • App Centre Including Easy Tune and ​Cloud Stations Utilities

 

NOTE:  Install driver off Gigabyte Website for Intel Wifi.  Driver installed from Windows Update can cause system to Blue Screen.  This issue may be the source of memory issue people can be having.  See below.

 

 

 


ht_addict is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-03-2017, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
ht_addict Level 1
 
ht_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 637
Finally got my build together and up and running. Setup is under water cooling with EKWB(Cpu and Gpu) blocks powered by Predator 360's. I set the 1950x to 4Ghz @1.25v and she booted into Windows. Haven't ran any stress tests yet, though I ust played Titanfall 2 for a couple hours with no issues. 3DMark Time Spy ran but had to boot at 1.275. Have to play around with it more. Currently having issue with the memory. I have Corsair LPX 4x16G(CMK32GX4M2B3200C16) from a previous build. If I populate in Dual mode I can run XMP 3200. Goto Quad mode and I get reboots in Windows. Any ideas?

ht_addict is offline  
post #3 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-03-2017, 04:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
happyluckbox Level 1
 
happyluckbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 361
You can add me to his list. Nice overclock at 4ghz, I was also able to boot windows at 4ghz with those settings but it failed p95.

Im currently running 3.9 ghz at 1.243 voltage. 4ghz stable requires 1.35v+ and im not quite comfortable with that considering my cooler.

One thing ive noticed is that my board likes a lower soc voltage, so ive undervolted it from 1.1 to 1.

Crystal Thread
AMD Threadripper 1950x CPU @ 4.0ghz || 128GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB RAM @ 2933mhz 14-14-14-30 2T || Gigabyte x399 Aorus Motherboard || Evga GTX-1080ti FTW3 Hybrid Graphics Card @ +85 Gpu & +650 Mem || Samsung 960 Pro 1TB SSD || Evga 1000watt Platinum Power Supply || Liqtech TR-4 Liquid Cooling All In One || Corsair Crystal 570x Case || Acer Predator X34 Monitor || DX Racer Chair
happyluckbox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-03-2017, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
ht_addict Level 1
 
ht_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by happyluckbox View Post

You can add me to his list. Nice overclock at 4ghz, I was also able to boot windows at 4ghz with those settings but it failed p95.

Im currently running 3.9 ghz at 1.243 voltage. 4ghz stable requires 1.35v+ and im not quite comfortable with that considering my cooler.

One thing ive noticed is that my board likes a lower soc voltage, so ive undervolted it from 1.1 to 1.


​For a second I thought I was along.  I've still got more work to do, to test how far I can push it.  Are you running Dual or Quad channel memory?  If Quad what speed and are you stable?  Any settings you have to change?  I don't think the latest Bios has the latest Agesa code as it says 1.0.0.3 patch 4. Latest is 1.0.0.6. 


ht_addict is offline  
post #5 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-03-2017, 11:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
happyluckbox Level 1
 
happyluckbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 361
Currently running quad channel, 8sticks of 128gb tridentz at
14-14-14-30 3066mhz, Everything stable.

The only setting I had to change at the end was slightly upping vcore to 1.243, setting LLC to turbo, and ram timings lowered to 14 instead of default 15.




Im currently testing 3200mhz playing around with cldo_vddp, looks like 950mv is the sweet spot for 3200mhz, but cant get it stable at 14cas

Crystal Thread
AMD Threadripper 1950x CPU @ 4.0ghz || 128GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB RAM @ 2933mhz 14-14-14-30 2T || Gigabyte x399 Aorus Motherboard || Evga GTX-1080ti FTW3 Hybrid Graphics Card @ +85 Gpu & +650 Mem || Samsung 960 Pro 1TB SSD || Evga 1000watt Platinum Power Supply || Liqtech TR-4 Liquid Cooling All In One || Corsair Crystal 570x Case || Acer Predator X34 Monitor || DX Racer Chair
happyluckbox is offline  
post #6 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-04-2017, 12:04 AM
Zen
Kpjoslee Level 1
 
Kpjoslee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Somewhere in US.
Posts: 928



Alright, anyone has issue with bios showing correct temperature value? I am getting correct temp and voltage on HWmonitor.

Also, I am not able to change fan speed on my noctua cooler fans, PWM is not enabled for some reason. I am blocked from accessing smart fan 5 on windows as well.


My home PC
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7
GPU
EVGA Geforce RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 3600 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 840 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 1300W
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S TR4
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2711
Monitor
Samsung 55" 4k
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Denon AVR-X3300W
▲ hide details ▲
Kpjoslee is offline  
post #7 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-04-2017, 06:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
The L33t Level 1
 
The L33t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Portugal
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht_addict View Post


I don't think the latest Bios has the latest Agesa code as it says 1.0.0.3 patch 4. Latest is 1.0.0.6. 

AGESA for TR differs in version from the Ryzen/AM4. You have the latest for TR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpjoslee View Post




Alright, anyone has issue with bios showing correct temperature value? I am getting correct temp and voltage on HWmonitor.

Also, I am not able to change fan speed on my noctua cooler fans, PWM is not enabled for some reason. I am blocked from accessing smart fan 5 on windows as well.


Regarding temps on TR seems the latest agesa is not reporting correctly, maybe related to your issue, see this article: http://www.tomshardware.com/news/threadripper-temperature-issue-agesa-bios,35348.html
The L33t is offline  
post #8 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-05-2017, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
ht_addict Level 1
 
ht_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 637

Having issue getting Quad channel working. Dual channel at 3200 works fine with either set  of modules.  Once I go Quad I get Blue Screens in Win10. I get thread exception error as well as Error writing to read only memory.  Memory is on the approved list(Corsair CMK32GX4M2B3200C16). They are 2x16G sticks.


ht_addict is offline  
post #9 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-05-2017, 09:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
ocvn Level 1
 
ocvn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht_addict View Post

Having issue getting Quad channel working. Dual channel at 3200 works fine with either set  of modules.  Once I go Quad I get Blue Screens in Win10. I get thread exception error as well as Error writing to read only memory.  Memory is on the approved list(Corsair CMK32GX4M2B3200C16). They are 2x16G sticks.

Check manual for ram slot first.
Clear bios.
Use 1 stick to flash F2 bios
Clear cmos. Try 4 sticks as manual suggest. Any problem?

ocvn is offline  
post #10 of 109 (permalink) Old 09-05-2017, 09:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
The L33t Level 1
 
The L33t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Portugal
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht_addict View Post

Having issue getting Quad channel working. Dual channel at 3200 works fine with either set  of modules.  Once I go Quad I get Blue Screens in Win10. I get thread exception error as well as Error writing to read only memory.  Memory is on the approved list(Corsair CMK32GX4M2B3200C16). They are 2x16G sticks.

Are you installing them acording to the manual?
The L33t is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off