Ryzen BIOS mods + how to update BIOS correctly - Page 132 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen BIOS mods + how to update BIOS correctly

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1311 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 09:05 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,317
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
I've downloaded a vanilla BIOS for my X370-PRIME PRO and used UBU to update the CPU microcode inside. I tried to use the latest "afuefix64.efi" from AMI's website to update the BIOS but I just get the standard "secure flash rom verify fail" error. I had a look at the first post of this thread but it seems to suggest modified BIOS images can only be flashed if they are in a .rom format, is that correct? Otherwise, is the version of "afuefix64.efi" provided in that post a special version that works with unsigned BIOS images?
What command did you use? I use afuefix64 1201.cap /p /b /n /k /x /CLRCFG - it should work, you're not modding the rom, just updating the drivers.

Ryzen 1700x Current Bios - 2406

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Amiga10
(18 items)
CPU
R7 1700X @ 4.13GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
RAM
Patriot Viper Steel 4400 CL19
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200NP NVME
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
Optical Drive
ASUS BW=16D1HT Blueray
Power Supply
Corsair RM 1000
Cooling
Fractal Design S36
Cooling
Gskill FTB-3500C5-DR Memory Fan Turbulence III 3500RPM
Cooling
2 x Riing 140mm
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Riing
Operating System
Windows 10 Creators Ed
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
No brand cheap gaming!
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Wireless Mouse 4000
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1312 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 12:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DragonQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 53
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
What command did you use? I use afuefix64 1201.cap /p /b /n /k /x /CLRCFG - it should work, you're not modding the rom, just updating the drivers.
Yes, I followed the instructions in the first post of this thread:

Code:
afuefix64 name_bios.cap /P /B /N /K /X /CLRCFG
DragonQ is offline  
post #1313 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-14-2019, 12:07 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,925
Rep: 739 (Unique: 344)
Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
Ryzen AGESA UPDATE (easy way)


Spoiler!
Thank you .

I would say the title needs changing of this mod. It is CPU microcode update/mod, not AGESA.

Reous's AGESA list has X570 AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3, this contains CPU mCode that UBU v1.74.0.3 does not have in database. It states to report this and can extract mCode, I was able to add this mCode as well to UEFI 2304 AEGA 0.0.7.2a of C7H.

Click image for larger version

Name:	UEFI 2304 CPU MOD.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	391.7 KB
ID:	274408

Click image for larger version

Name:	C7H 2304 mCode 800820D.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	606.6 KB
ID:	274412

Click image for larger version

Name:	new mCode.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	337.4 KB
ID:	274410

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-14-2019 at 12:27 AM.
gupsterg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1314 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-15-2019, 01:04 AM - Thread Starter
AMD overclocker/developer
 
1usmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ukraine / Germany
Posts: 1,493
Rep: 245 (Unique: 120)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
Thank you .

I would say the title needs changing of this mod. It is CPU microcode update/mod, not AGESA.

Reous's AGESA list has X570 AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3, this contains CPU mCode that UBU v1.74.0.3 does not have in database. It states to report this and can extract mCode, I was able to add this mCode as well to UEFI 2304 AEGA 0.0.7.2a of C7H.

Attachment 274408

Attachment 274412

Attachment 274410
here the latest versions are published
https://cloud.mail.ru/public/HLDj/6c...IOS%20Updater/

Stand#1 Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX + Liqtech 240 * MSI MEG X399 CREATION * G.Skill [email protected] * Sapphire Vega 64 NITRO+ * Corsair HX750i * Samsung 960 PRO * Benq BL3201PT
Stand#2 Ryzen 2700X + NZXT Kraken x62 * MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC * G.Skill [email protected]3666CL14 * MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X * Corsair HX750i * Samsung 970 PRO
DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.5.1 by me + TM 5 0.12 1usmus config v3 (memory test)
How to update BIOS correctly + Unlocked AMD_CBS for Ryzen motherboard
1usmus is offline  
post #1315 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 05:37 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,317
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Yes, I followed the instructions in the first post of this thread:

Code:
afuefix64 name_bios.cap /P /B /N /K /X /CLRCFG
How did you convert back to a cap file? This isn't really a modded bios, just updated, so you should just need to covert back to .cap (if necessary) and flash away. I can't think what else could be causing the error. Can you use this method with an original bios file?

Ryzen 1700x Current Bios - 2406

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Amiga10
(18 items)
CPU
R7 1700X @ 4.13GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
RAM
Patriot Viper Steel 4400 CL19
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200NP NVME
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
Optical Drive
ASUS BW=16D1HT Blueray
Power Supply
Corsair RM 1000
Cooling
Fractal Design S36
Cooling
Gskill FTB-3500C5-DR Memory Fan Turbulence III 3500RPM
Cooling
2 x Riing 140mm
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Riing
Operating System
Windows 10 Creators Ed
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
No brand cheap gaming!
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Wireless Mouse 4000
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
post #1316 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 05:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiagogl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Yes, I followed the instructions in the first post of this thread:

Code:
afuefix64 name_bios.cap /P /B /N /K /X /CLRCFG
I'm using this same command but I'm receiving this following error 18 "secure flash rom verify fail". On the past worked fine. I have X370-F Strix.
tiagogl is offline  
post #1317 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 05:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DragonQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 53
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
How did you convert back to a cap file? This isn't really a modded bios, just updated, so you should just need to covert back to .cap (if necessary) and flash away. I can't think what else could be causing the error. Can you use this method with an original bios file?
My updated image is a .rom file, I was just quoting the parameters I used from the first post.
DragonQ is offline  
post #1318 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 07:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiagogl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by tiagogl View Post
I'm using this same command but I'm receiving this following error 18 "secure flash rom verify fail". On the past worked fine. I have X370-F Strix.


Looks like I bricked my motherboard. I used afuefix64 name_bios.cap /P /B /N /K /X /RECOVERY /CLRCFG
and don't boot anymore :/ there is any way to recover the bios?
Strix X370-F here
tiagogl is offline  
post #1319 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 08:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tiagogl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by tiagogl View Post
Looks like I bricked my motherboard. I used afuefix64 name_bios.cap /P /B /N /K /X /RECOVERY /CLRCFG
and don't boot anymore :/ there is any way to recover the bios?
Strix X370-F here

I tried to recover but I'm stuck on this screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190619_123857.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	275112  

tiagogl is offline  
post #1320 of 1398 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 09:16 AM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 888
Rep: 16 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by tiagogl View Post
I'm using this same command but I'm receiving this following error 18 "secure flash rom verify fail". On the past worked fine. I have X370-F Strix.
for a .rom file you need to use afugan biosname.rom /gan

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.
mtrai is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off