Ryzen BIOS mods + how to update BIOS correctly - Page 168 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Ryzen BIOS mods + how to update BIOS correctly

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1671 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 12:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cosminmocan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Hey @waltdanger , I also have a x570 tuf (mine's a non wifi version), and I would also like to disable spread spectrum.
What other mods where you able to do on the bios, and would you be willing to do it again . I would backup my bios and send it to you.

Thanks in advance, and great job !

AMDPC
(5 items)
CPU
R7 3700x
Motherboard
Asus x570 tuf
GPU
1070ti
RAM
Corsair 3600cl18 tightened to cl16 CMK16GX4M2D3600C18 2x8gb
Cooling
Noctua NH-d14
▲ hide details ▲
cosminmocan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1672 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 03:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Haven't done any other mods, some are easy like the PCH Fan control mod.
BCLK adjustment doesn't appear to work at all.. I thought it would work but limited to 1mhz steps, but it doesn't take effect and is locked to 100.

There is also something called Determinism in one of the menus that you have to hex edit to enable with preference for either consistent Power or Performance - I do not know if these apply to Ryzen 3000 chips though, but it sounds like the default is Performance? Anyone play around with this? I wonder if it might change boost behavior if changed to Power, for higher PBO boosts.
https://community.amd.com/thread/223642
https://www.amd.com/system/files/201...eterminism.pdf
waltdanger is offline  
post #1673 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-18-2020, 03:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Greece Athens
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Asus Strix B450-f Gaming

Hello guys , any thoughts of creating a modded bios for the Asus Strix B450-f gaming ?
vtecquila is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1674 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-22-2020, 06:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
t1ago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by waltdanger View Post
I was hesitant to go forward with the flash due to risk of bricking board but decided to just go for it tonight.

To recap:
-Turn off your overclocks just in case! Don't want to risk some data corruption as unlikely as it might be.
-Dump your BIOS with flashrom
-Split it and export the second 16MB chunk with hex editor
-Make changes with AMIBCP5 .31 on that 16MB chunk
-Merge it back into full 32MB bin
-Flash with flashrom

(this is for ryzen 3800X, i take it the first 16MB of bios is what it used for Ryzen 1000/2000, and the second 16MB chunk for 3000).
@waltdanger , I have x570 tuf (non wifi version), and like to disable spread spectrum.
What other mods where you able to do on the bios?

How split second part in hex editor?
t1ago is offline  
post #1675 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-22-2020, 06:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mirzet1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 411
Rep: 21 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by vtecquila View Post
Hello guys , any thoughts of creating a modded bios for the Asus Strix B450-f gaming ?
For X370 -B450 follow this guide - https://puissanceled.com/vrac/Bios_modding/EN.html - works with my Tuf B450 Gaming

Quote: Originally Posted by t1ago View Post
@waltdanger , I have x570 tuf (non wifi version), and like to disable spread spectrum.
What other mods where you able to do on the bios?

How split second part in hex editor?
Open X570.ROM in HxD
Go to Edit - Select block type in Start-offset 1000000 then End-offset 2000000
Copy selected block paste it to new file in HxD - save close
Open 16MB ROM in AMIBCP edit and put it back to origi bios.ROM and save it as modx570.rom.
Fix Checksumme
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	modrom.PNG
Views:	21
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	334356  



mirzet1976 is offline  
post #1676 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-27-2020, 08:19 AM
Shining Brightstar.
 
MT441HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hey, i have switched boards for my 3700x and am looking to unlock all options from my MSI B450 TOMAHAWK MAX. Does this guide still work with 32mb flash BIOS like that. I have bios flashback and a backup laptop with a tested and working old Cruzer USB so i'm fine risking, i just want to disable HPET and stuff. Any1?

Xero4081
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen+ 5 2600X
Motherboard
BIOSTAR X370GTN
GPU
Sapphire RX 470 NITRO+ 4GB W/BP UEFI
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series F4-3600C17D-16GTZ 16GB DDR4 3600 MHz C 17 1.35 V Memory Kit - Dual Colour
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda - 2 TB internal hard drive (3.5", 64 MB SATA cache from 6 GB/s up to 210 MB/s), silver
Optical Drive
LiteOn IHAS324-17 24x DVDRW Retail Kit
Power Supply
be quiet! BN279
Cooling
Game Max Iceberg 120MM AIO
Case
Cooler Master Elite 130
Operating System
Windows 7 SP1 Pro PL
Monitor
Samsung S24C550L HDMI 1920x1080 60hz 1Ms
Keyboard
Trust 17185
Mouse
SteelSeries Sensei 310 USB2.0 1000Hz RGB 1-to-1 Mouse
Audio
Anker A3143 2.1 Bluetooth/3.5mm Speaker 9hr life
▲ hide details ▲
MT441HD is offline  
post #1677 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 12:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ShadowHunterMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Has any one used flashrom to downgrade a bios on the Asus x570-p?

Any help you can give to concern a cap to bin and for me not to brick my x570?

I tried using afudos, but no luck. I upgraded to bios 1405 from 1005 and i can't get my ram to run at 3600 any longer. Having a lot of ram issues overall. Trying to get back to 1005.
ShadowHunterMan is offline  
post #1678 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 12:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bluechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 247
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by ShadowHunterMan View Post
Has any one used flashrom to downgrade a bios on the Asus x570-p?



Any help you can give to concern a cap to bin and for me not to brick my x570?



I tried using afudos, but no luck. I upgraded to bios 1405 from 1005 and i can't get my ram to run at 3600 any longer. Having a lot of ram issues overall. Trying to get back to 1005.
Does your motherboard had s fall safe bios writing procedure like the gigabyte ones? Like Qflash i mean. With that i assume you can roll back.

CPU
Ryzen 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Pro
GPU
Nvidia GT710 Pci X1
RAM
Trident Z DDR4-3200MHz CL14-14-14-34 1.35V 64GB (4x16GB)
Hard Drive
HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 4TB 7200 RPM 512n SAS 6Gb/s 3.5-Inch 64MB HDD Enterprise Hard Drive HUS724040ALS640
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 256GB M.2 2280
Power Supply
Corsair HX750i High-Performance ATX Power Supply — 750 Watt 80 Plus® PLATINUM Certified PSU
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 chromax black
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Cooling
NOCTUA NF-A8 FLX FAN 80MM
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 740
Operating System
VMware ESXi 6.7 Update 3
Other
Asus HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2
Other
HPE Smart Array P440/4GB FBWC 12Gb 1-port Int SAS Controller
▲ hide details ▲
bluechris is offline  
post #1679 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 04:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mirzet1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 411
Rep: 21 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by ShadowHunterMan View Post
Has any one used flashrom to downgrade a bios on the Asus x570-p?

Any help you can give to concern a cap to bin and for me not to brick my x570?

I tried using afudos, but no luck. I upgraded to bios 1405 from 1005 and i can't get my ram to run at 3600 any longer. Having a lot of ram issues overall. Trying to get back to 1005.
Use UEFITool to extract bios.bin from capsule and then flash bios with flashrom.
https://puissanceled.com/vrac/Bios_m...s/UEFITool.exe
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Snimak ekrana (9).png
Views:	16
Size:	4.73 MB
ID:	335800  



mirzet1976 is offline  
post #1680 of 1680 (permalink) Old 03-30-2020, 06:09 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 528
Rep: 50 (Unique: 29)
Reous is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off