Asus & X399 The ROG Zenith Extreme: A Complaint & Bug Tracking Thread - Page 129 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asus & X399 The ROG Zenith Extreme: A Complaint & Bug Tracking Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1281 of 1289 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 09:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
neil_tohno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Today, I changed the settings about memory, and It cause a memory stability issues.
Click image for larger version

Name:	CJR_f1_01.png
Views:	10
Size:	97.6 KB
ID:	284524
Click image for larger version

Name:	CJR_f1_02.png
Views:	6
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	284526

Then I pressed Clear CMOS Button, but it doesn't work anymore.
I have flashed 1701-BIOS three times, until I use Afuefix64.efi, again, the problem is solved.
https://www.overclock.net/forum/26403470-post1.html
Name:  20190730123133.png
Views: 119
Size:  21.0 KB

It's weird. Is there some problems in BIOS?

In last few days, my computer sometimes freezes on post, the LiveDash OLED shows "checking NVRAM", I have to press Clear CMOS Button to end this process.


1701-BIOS-ZE.CAP
Name:  1701.png
Views: 91
Size:  8.8 KB

Last edited by neil_tohno; 08-02-2019 at 10:02 AM.
neil_tohno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1282 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 06:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
1stFalloutBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by dejanh View Post
What ram do you have?
I managed to track this problem down to dip 5 in the end I only found that after reading some information on a NewEgg review for a purchase, now that DIP5 is uninstalled no crashes in over a week.

My memory is Corsair CMW64GX4M4C3200C16W.

There are still more oddities with this board though...

While CPU-Z shows me the memory correctly - ASUS System Info either lists an empty combo box to select the module to view with or strait out crashes AISuite ( I'm putting this down to bodgy ASUS software .... AGAIN )
MemTweakIt - reports the basic memory timings correctly but not the rest and gives a negative score for ram efficiency - yet another ASUS botch job.
Updating EZUpdate from the ASUS website resulted in Could not load AsIo.sys (5) **** ASUS.

Thaiphoon Burner a program to read what sort of memory chips you have on your ram reports everything correctly except it reports all my ram as having invalid SPD module checksums.
( I am not making any assumptions here as it could be something ASUS has done or it could be Thaiphoon Burner , ASUS reports the checksums in BIOS as being 1B1D, it could also be because this is R.G.B ram that used SM Bus to sync colours )

ASUS informed of DIP5 issue and told to get their **** together - everyone needs to complain until this is fixed.
1stFalloutBoy is offline  
post #1283 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 10:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
phazedreality81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 23
Rep: 0
hey i have a zenith extreme, and am trying to figure out how to switch between uma and numa mode in the bios (i dont use ryzen master)
i see in the memory interleaving option, that there is auto, none, channel, socket, and die, and mmaybe one more. can someone explain to me what each of those mean and which one i should choose if i want uma mode? i think channel is numa mode, and i've tried auto, but whenever i use auto my system crashes when i have long encodes (4k content that takes maybe 5 hours to encode) but doesnt crash when i use channel.

thank you
phazedreality81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1284 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 03:23 AM
Beat
 
Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: In the gutter but looking at the stars.
Posts: 332
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
New BIOS 2001 has appeared
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	287382  

Arne Saknussemm is offline  
post #1285 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 01:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 28
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
New BIOS 2001 has appeared
Yeah I'm scared to update to it..
Jerky_san is offline  
post #1286 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 10:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dejanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,880
Rep: 105 (Unique: 76)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jerky_san View Post
Yeah I'm scared to update to it..
Just updated. I am able to boot with the same memory settings as 0405, however I can no longer do so when my CPU is OCd to 4.0GHz. Something has changed and I would have to tweak the OC manually it seems now to make it stable. No time for that now. Back to stock for now. Super flaky platform.
dejanh is offline  
post #1287 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 06:39 AM
Beat
 
Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: In the gutter but looking at the stars.
Posts: 332
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
I took the plunge and it is working fine here...still get the same good results I always have...so far...
Arne Saknussemm is offline  
post #1288 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 05:34 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,052
Rep: 764 (Unique: 349)
Today whilst on r/AMD I noted a thread highlighting ASRock X399 Taichi getting AMD AGESA ThreadRipperPI-SP3r2 1.1.0.2. I first thought this was a mistake, as we've had it for a while. I checked the ASRock site and indeed virtually 6mths after ZE the Taichi has updated AGESA.

Quote: Originally Posted by dejanh View Post
Just updated. I am able to boot with the same memory settings as 0405, however I can no longer do so when my CPU is OCd to 4.0GHz. Something has changed and I would have to tweak the OC manually it seems now to make it stable. No time for that now. Back to stock for now. Super flaky platform.
When I moved same CPU/RAM from ZE to ZEA I lost ability to use 3400MHz, only by tinkering with the PMU menu did I gain back the ability. Perhaps try playing with that section.
gupsterg is offline  
post #1289 of 1289 (permalink) Old 08-19-2019, 07:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
neil_tohno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Just update, performance decreased, just a little.

Name:  20190820003032.png
Views: 10
Size:  36.6 KB Click image for larger version

Name:	b1.png
Views:	1
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	290150

Last edited by neil_tohno; 08-19-2019 at 09:32 AM.
neil_tohno is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off