ASUS TUF B350M-PLUS GAMING motherboard review... it doesn't suck after all - Page 22 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS TUF B350M-PLUS GAMING motherboard review... it doesn't suck after all

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 220 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 04:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sideeffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 200
Rep: 9 (Unique: 4)
If your forcing the CPU frequency to 99% with power plan it won't drop down into the lower power states.

Better to use the Windows balanced power plan and reset it to defaults to remove any changes you made. In BIOS P1 and P2 can be left alone and P0 Should be set to your maximum which I think you said was 4ghz.

Make sure your CPU settings in AI tweaker are set to auto so that they don't interfere with p-states. It's fine to use voltage offsets though.
sideeffect is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 220 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 07:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 64
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
99% max frequency locks the max frequency to whatever your p1 state is, I was just doing 99% max to test whether the p1 state I set in the bios was working. Editing p1/p2 in zenstates still works with downvolting but as soon as I set p0 to my overclock of [email protected] downvolting stops working but down clocking does.

Either way I'm not worried downvolting only saves about an extra 1w at idle because most of the time during idle cores are in a sleep state and it doesn't matter much what their awake voltage is set to.

Last edited by 2600ryzen; 11-07-2019 at 09:43 AM.
2600ryzen is offline  
post #213 of 220 (permalink) Old 11-27-2019, 02:51 AM - Thread Starter
Tactical Moron
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,435
Rep: 81 (Unique: 47)
In case anyone hasn't noticed and/or cares, this board now supports the 3950X! https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/ From the reviews, the 3950X at stock actually pulls the same or slightly less power than the 3900X or a 2700X with PBO enabled so I really don't see an issue with this board handling a stock 3950X.... I'm thinking... used market in a year upgrade path... not bad for a B350 board years after purchase.

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!


Minotaurtoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 220 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Rep: 0
What are the exact settings do I should touch on UEFI to overclock my CPU and RAM? I already switched from Corsair LPX White 3200 Mhz to G.Skill Flare X 3200 Mhz, but If I put 3200 the system crashes, BSOD, no matter if the entire system passes the stress tests successfully (Aida64, Prime95, Memtest86, etc. each one running for an entire day per test), if I put 3000 Mhz the programs crashes even Windows desktop but not BSOD, If I put 2866 I don't have any issues except game bar crashes randomly.
I set all the RAM values from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen at safe preset, I repeat the stress tests pass without issues, 1 day of Memtest86 of 16 or more passes I didn't have errors.
I have all Up to date, I can only set offset voltages, CPU Core and SOC Core at 0.075 V and 0.0185 V respectively, resulting 1.31 V/1.11 V respectively.
I want do It properly so I want to start from the beginning. So what are the exact settings I must touch?
Right now I have Ryzen 5 1600 @3.6 GHz, RAMS @2866 MHz 1.35 V, TUF B350M-Plus Gaming, GTX 1070 (Never Overclocked).
soldiermxdeath is offline  
post #215 of 220 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 09:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 64
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by soldiermxdeath View Post
What are the exact settings do I should touch on UEFI to overclock my CPU and RAM? I already switched from Corsair LPX White 3200 Mhz to G.Skill Flare X 3200 Mhz, but If I put 3200 the system crashes, BSOD, no matter if the entire system passes the stress tests successfully (Aida64, Prime95, Memtest86, etc. each one running for an entire day per test), if I put 3000 Mhz the programs crashes even Windows desktop but not BSOD, If I put 2866 I don't have any issues except game bar crashes randomly.
I set all the RAM values from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen at safe preset, I repeat the stress tests pass without issues, 1 day of Memtest86 of 16 or more passes I didn't have errors.
I have all Up to date, I can only set offset voltages, CPU Core and SOC Core at 0.075 V and 0.0185 V respectively, resulting 1.31 V/1.11 V respectively.
I want do It properly so I want to start from the beginning. So what are the exact settings I must touch?
Right now I have Ryzen 5 1600 @3.6 GHz, RAMS @2866 MHz 1.35 V, TUF B350M-Plus Gaming, GTX 1070 (Never Overclocked).

I don't think anyone in this thread was able to get over 3133mhz on zen/zen+, actually I'm not sure what the max speed people got on zen 1.
Here's a good guide for manual overclocking ram - https://github.com/integralfx/MemTes...0OC%20Guide.md
2600ryzen is offline  
post #216 of 220 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Tactical Moron
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,435
Rep: 81 (Unique: 47)
Quote: Originally Posted by 2600ryzen View Post
I don't think anyone in this thread was able to get over 3133mhz on zen/zen+, actually I'm not sure what the max speed people got on zen 1.
Here's a good guide for manual overclocking ram - https://github.com/integralfx/MemTes...0OC%20Guide.md
I think one person did on a third gen ryzen, but I can't even get 3133 to stay stable on samsung b-die, one boot it would pass hours of memtest... next boot wouldn't launch firefox without errors... I'm about to get a 3900x in, and I will try again to see what I can get on that.

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!


Minotaurtoo is offline  
post #217 of 220 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 01:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Rep: 0
At least 3133mhz would be fine, I'll check the link thanks.
soldiermxdeath is offline  
post #218 of 220 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Tactical Moron
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,435
Rep: 81 (Unique: 47)
well... I did it.... plonked a 3900x off in this board... and so far so good. I've left it at stock, but the board seems to be enabling PBO by default and top clocks hit 4.65 on single core.


cpu-z link: https://valid.x86.fr/rcw3kl
userbenchmark:https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/24264537 if you browse through the history you can see a result where I manually disabled PBO and my cpu score dropped.

attached is a cinebench R15 run... I can't believe that on a cheap B350 board I'm getting scores that when Ryzen first came out could only be obtained on a 16 core Threadripper chip.


Well done AMD, well done on this board ASUS.

I'll run more benchmarks later, if there is any interest I'll share them too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	for ocn.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	323338  


Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!


Minotaurtoo is offline  
post #219 of 220 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 07:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 64
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Does your RAM run stable at 3200mhz? Is it the samsung b-die that wouldn't even do 3133mhz? If this board can handle a 2700x it can handle a 3900x-3950x because they're the same tdp.
2600ryzen is offline  
post #220 of 220 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 10:26 PM - Thread Starter
Tactical Moron
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,435
Rep: 81 (Unique: 47)
Quote: Originally Posted by 2600ryzen View Post
Does your RAM run stable at 3200mhz? Is it the samsung b-die that wouldn't even do 3133mhz? If this board can handle a 2700x it can handle a 3900x-3950x because they're the same tdp.
so far so good on the 3200mhz ram... I did have one problem when I tried to use my old custom timings though that required a hard bios reset... but after that I just took the default cas 14 timings it gave... as far as power, I noticed that this board seems to enable PBO by default on this chip, so wattage was somewhere around 140 watts where a stock 2700x rarely passed 110 in hwinfo.

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!


Minotaurtoo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off