ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 476 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4751 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 06:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
numlock66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 216
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Sn0ops View Post
Hello Guys - I need an advice from someone who is more familiar with ramtimings / voltage setting for Ram.

-> My problem tooks me long time to investigate where the rootcause is. The Problem was I had missing soundsteps / sometimes bit fps drops / Soundcrackling.
Especially missing footsteps in cs go / BF 5 drove me crazy.

I had the whole time: RAM : 3200 MhZ Geardown off / command rate 1T ( 14 / 13 / 13 /13 / 28 / 42 @ 1,4v) I switched back to Geardown ON / Commandrate 1T

-> FPS Drops gone (180 up to 200 fps in BF5), missing sounds gone , footsteeps not missing - ultra smooth gameplay

But frameparcing is slower / inputlag is defenetly bit higher.

So, how can I stabilize commandrate 1T with geardown off, without that faulty sound and fps drops ???

Thanks for your help !!!



Current Settings:

BIOS 1002 (I tested 1103) -Problem still persist with Agesa 1006.
Im waiting for next Bios with 1006. As 1002 seems to be more responsive / snappy. Lower DPC etc.

I using Performance Enhancer Lvl 2 - Offset Voltage mode: -0.07500 / Syncronus Mode / BCLK = 100 mhz
All Cores are on 4,25 GHZ ingame constantly. Single core boost going to 4566 mhz - having a good chip i guess

Ram: 3200 MhZ / Timings: 14 / 13 / 13 /13 / 28 / 42 @ 1,4v - 1T Geardown (on)


Asmedia Controller = off
XHCI Handoff = off
fastboot = off

_____________________________

My System Specs:

CPU: RYZEN 2700X
RAM: 16 GB G.Skill Flare X (3200 MhZ)
Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair Hero VII
GFX: Saphire RX Vega 56 + Nitro
PSU: Seasonic Prime - 750 Watt
Cooler: Water Cooled by Artic Liquid Freezer 360
OS: WIN 10 - 64 bit - Pro N - 1809
SSD: MX500 Crucial
Why don't you try 3466 or 3533mhz cas14 Ryzen Dram Calc?

My Rig
(6 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
X370 Taichi
GPU
Radeon RX480 8GB
RAM
F4-3200c14d-16gtz
Power Supply
Corsair TX650W
Cooling
Masterliquid 240
▲ hide details ▲
numlock66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4752 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 07:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
freddy85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
How is it possible to get so high single core clocks without overclocking BCLK?
i get max 4.35 on pe3, any setting im missing?
freddy85 is offline  
post #4753 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 08:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 49
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by freddy85 View Post
How is it possible to get so high single core clocks without overclocking BCLK?
i get max 4.35 on pe3, any setting im missing?
It's not possible to go higher using PBO without BCLK.
Singularity48 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4754 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 09:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Where the West Begins
Posts: 224
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Using pbo3/4 in addition to bclk increases can you share with me your voltage/digi+ settings? I am having much trouble with system hanging about 70sec after OS load, presumably due to insufficient vcore

C7h/2700x @ pbo3/4
Bclk 104
Offset +0.025v OR - 0.05v
LLC 4

Can this be due to a bad chip?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Bill Murray
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 2700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair 7 Wifi
GPU
ROG Poseidon 1080TI
GPU
ROG Poseidon 1080TI
RAM
F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
Seagate BAArracude
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G3
Cooling
Custom Cooling Loop
Case
Corsair Obsidian 900D
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Glaive
Other
Corsair RGB Headset Stand
▲ hide details ▲
specialedge is offline  
post #4755 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 09:28 PM
DRAM Obsessor
 
CJMitsuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,033
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by Sn0ops View Post
Hello Ramad,

Thanks for the fast reply! I will test them tomorrow and give you feedback here

Just one question for the timings you offered me.
I will still use 1,4V , Geardown off, 1T with them - okay?

Thanks in advance.

Why are you so adamant on using GD off and 1t? GD enabled vs disabled has negligible performance impact but for the vast majority it increases stability massively. Just go with GD enabled and either step frequency up on the ram or tighten timings to match the performance or surpass the current setup.


Also you state that you hit 4.5ghz+ with baseclock at 100. Are you sure about that? Ryzen 2700x does not got beyond 43.5x multiplier when using XFR/PBO so its not possible to hit that speed without baseclock increases. The speed you are talking about requires 105mhz baseclock to achieve which would drop your gpu performance as you would be using PCIe 2.0



Quote: Originally Posted by specialedge View Post
Using pbo3/4 in addition to bclk increases can you share with me your voltage/digi+ settings? I am having much trouble with system hanging about 70sec after OS load, presumably due to insufficient vcore

C7h/2700x @ pbo3/4
Bclk 104
Offset +0.025v OR - 0.05v
LLC 4

Can this be due to a bad chip?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Set Performance Enhancer to default and make sure XFR enhancement is enabled in the NBIO settings as well as CPB and then try your base clock OC and see if that helps. I recently started playing with it and the stability is great with lower voltages. It is more geared toward Single core performance vs PE4 but is definitely better than PE3 since PE3 is also geared toward single core performance more than PE4 but PE3 takes much more voltage than the setup I described. I can run 4.5ghz with LLC1 and +.05v and the voltage is much less and more stable than PE3. At 104.8mhz the all core runs at 4.375ghz and 1-6 cores most of the time are running at 4.557ghz with all core voltage around 1.42v and the 1-6 core 4.55ghz bounces arounnd with short spikes to 1.55v as with any XFR controlled setup.

Quote: Originally Posted by freddy85 View Post
How is it possible to get so high single core clocks without overclocking BCLK?
i get max 4.35 on pe3, any setting im missing?
Max boost is 43.5x multiplier no matter what you do on XFR/PBO, so 4.35ghz is maximum that can be achieved without help from the BCLK increase. The system still runs at the stated maximum 43.5x limit but the baseclock is what is needed to break that frequency limit. I wish that werent the case since it kind of limits you to 104.8mhz unless you want to lose SSD and GPU performance from droping to PCIe 2.0 and PState and manual all core OC is underwhelming in the way of performance.

CPU- AMD Ryzen [email protected]
MOTHERBOARD- ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU- EVGA GTX 1080ti SC2 @2075mhz
RAM- G.SKILL TridentZ 32gb (4 x 8gb) @ 3800mhz (14-15-15-22-36-1T)
COOLING- CORSAIR Hydro Series H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 (x7)
CASE- Lian Li O11 Dynamic
MONITORS- VIOTEK GN34DB (x2)



Last edited by CJMitsuki; 12-10-2018 at 09:48 PM.
CJMitsuki is offline  
post #4756 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 06:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sn0ops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by numlock66 View Post
Why don't you try 3466 or 3533mhz cas14 Ryzen Dram Calc?
I will soon!

Quote: Originally Posted by freddy85 View Post
How is it possible to get so high single core clocks without overclocking BCLK?
i get max 4.35 on pe3, any setting im missing?
In Windows: as CMD : bcdedit /set useplatformclock false


Seriously - i dont know why my CPU hits that high clocks..See my Screens attached, this was when playing battlefield 5 today CPU Hitted 4449 mhz.
Yesterday I played and HWMonitor reported up to 4566 MHZ.

FYI - I have nice 360 Watercooling.

In Tweakin Menue im using: (BIOS 1002)



Im Using Overclock mode : Manual
Syncronus Mode
Performance Enhancer = Level 2
BCLK = 100 MHZ
Voltage mode= Offset
minus
-0.0750

+ My Ramsettings - mentioned in the post before

Everything else is on Auto.

+

Asmedia Controller = off
XHCI Handoff = off
fastboot = off
Onboards Sound = off

If you need further infos please feel free to ask.

Quote: Originally Posted by CJMitsuki View Post
Why are you so adamant on using GD off and 1t? GD enabled vs disabled has negligible performance impact but for the vast majority it increases stability massively. Just go with GD enabled and either step frequency up on the ram or tighten timings to match the performance or surpass the current setup.?
Games felt more snappy. Inputlag was less - but so far there was this glitching sound and framespikes. So at the moment staying with GDN on - 1T (Im playing competetive and very sensitive to this).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	394.6 KB
ID:	237638  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	292.3 KB
ID:	237640  


Last edited by Sn0ops; 12-11-2018 at 06:53 AM.
Sn0ops is offline  
post #4757 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 06:52 AM
DRAM Obsessor
 
CJMitsuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,033
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
[QUOTE=Sn0ops;27755164]
Quote: Originally Posted by numlock66 View Post
Why don't you try 3466 or 3533mhz cas14 Ryzen Dram Calc?
I will soon!

Quote: Originally Posted by freddy85 View Post
How is it possible to get so high single core clocks without overclocking BCLK?
i get max 4.35 on pe3, any setting im missing?
In Tweakin Menue im using:

in Windows: as CMD : bcdedit /set useplatformclock false

Seriously - i dont know why...See my Screens attached, this was when playing battlefield 5 today CPU Hitted 4449 mhz.
Yesterday I played and HWMonitor reported up to 4566 MHZ.


Im Using Overclock mode : Manual
Syncronus Mode
Performance Enhancer = Level 2
BCLK = 100 MHZ
Voltage mode= Offset
minus
-0.0750

+ My Ramsettings.

Everything else is on Auto.

+

Asmedia Controller = off
XHCI Handoff = off
fastboot = off
Onboards Sound = off

Quote: Originally Posted by CJMitsuki View Post
Why are you so adamant on using GD off and 1t? GD enabled vs disabled has negligible performance impact but for the vast majority it increases stability massively. Just go with GD enabled and either step frequency up on the ram or tighten timings to match the performance or surpass the current setup.


Also you state that you hit 4.5ghz+ with baseclock at 100. Are you sure about that? Ryzen 2700x does not got beyond 43.5x multiplier when using XFR/PBO so its not possible to hit that speed without baseclock increases. The speed you are talking about requires 105mhz baseclock to achieve which would drop your gpu performance as you would be using PCIe 2.0


Please see my screens.
Do you have HwInfo64? It will show all of that info and more. I don’t know if HWmonitor is accurate as I don’t really see others using it. Also it could be due to turning hpet off. HWInfo has an option for baseclock polling as without Hpet it can become skewed.

CPU- AMD Ryzen [email protected]
MOTHERBOARD- ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU- EVGA GTX 1080ti SC2 @2075mhz
RAM- G.SKILL TridentZ 32gb (4 x 8gb) @ 3800mhz (14-15-15-22-36-1T)
COOLING- CORSAIR Hydro Series H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 (x7)
CASE- Lian Li O11 Dynamic
MONITORS- VIOTEK GN34DB (x2)


CJMitsuki is offline  
post #4758 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 49
Rep: 0
HWMonitor is wildly inaccurate infact. A thread with that exact question comes up almost daily on reddit. HWinfo64 is much much more accurate.
Singularity48 is offline  
post #4759 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 07:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
freddy85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Thanks for sharing setting, did not work for me though. Got slightly lower clock speed. Hitting 4.450 while gaming bf 5 is amazing I only get 4.1.
freddy85 is offline  
post #4760 of 11914 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 09:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,919
Rep: 28 (Unique: 17)
HWMonitor is reporting the wrong speeds. 3DMark also does that. Use HWiNFO.

AMD Ryzen 3900X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/3 Corsair SP120L and 3 Noctua NF-F12 3000 fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  |  G.SKILL TridentZ 3600CL15 2x8GB @ 3800MHz 14-15-14-14-30  |  EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black w/NZXT Kraken G12 Cooler  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3 PSU | Thermaltake Core P3 Case 
nick name is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
crakej
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off