ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 539 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5381 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 09:12 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,076
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by CJMitsuki View Post
1201 feels quite good to me but one thing Im trying to understand, why the obsession with 3600? Youre likely to get better performance with 3533 using tighter timings or running a base clock OC and using something like 3550 like I do. Ive had 3600 stable multiple times but the performance is not as good due to the timings. Sure, it looks better on Aida64 but Im sure we all know that Aida64 numbers are only numbers and lack any evidence of performance. This is another thing that I try to understand as I see so many overclocking ram, How do we know this OC "A" is better than OC "B"? There has to be a clear performance metric to compare different overclocking setups or essentially an overclock could be working against you and providing less performance. A consistent memory sensitive test has to be ran to get a clear picture so you aren't spitting into the wind so to speak.
I do it for a hobby really. Love the challenge.

I do a LOT of tests! I'm focusing on 3600 currently as I've had it running stable, and better than my 3533 profile in all tests. Not much, but enough to be noticeable.

After many tests today on 1103, I cannot get my profile to run reliably as it does on 1002 - I've loosened up all my secondary timings, changed voltages up and down, but nothing works. It's intriguing and annoying! - I thrive on trying to find out what's changed (AMD tell us nothing for a multitude of reasons) - if I can.

Since I started with My X370 Prime Pro I've gradually got better and better at doing things, and been able to extract excellent performance. But, give a dog a bone (or in this case, 4200MTs ram) and he's going to do his darnedest to get every bit of juice out of it I can! I should point out I have ADHD, and can do this for HOURS! I do lose hope sometimes and give it a break - often coming back too it able to solve my current problem.

At one point, I had 3600MTs stable with 1.420v, now (if I'm on 1002 bios) it needs 1.30v. Any setting either side of those voltages would cause failure (for me and my set up) - it's got to be spot on, so takes some time working in combination with other voltages, power settings.

I may now have found the limit for my hardware, but it will take a bit more testing to be sure of that. I think on 1002 I can probably tune in 3666, but not on newer bioses. It may be that LLC is working differently on the latest bios, or it may be I need to change the termination blocks which I've not previously needed to do. Really am stumped why previous timings and voltages no longer work.

Something else I've noticed - for my setup anyway - is that there are some tweaks from the ram calculator which really helped out - as well as a couple that didn't. L1 and L2 Stream HW Prefetcher>Enabled worked well and Opcache>enabled too, but enabling mem interleaving at the suggested values actually SLOWED down certain tasks. These are settings that may bring benefit at other settings for my kit, but I do those tests last.

You're dead right about OCing being able to make things worse... One thing I found was that if your memory OC is not quite right your machine will take some time to boot. When I zero in on good settings, it's often the thing I notice first - the machine booting at a decent, normal speed, as it should. Another thing to know is that sometimes loosening (not tightening as you may think) a timing, can increase performance. This is because bad OCs can slow down your hardware as it's not running optimally.

I do try to repeat test at least 3 times - when I have a stable OC I will repeat them again. This way you can average the performance increase/decrease. Not perfect, but works for me.

I have lots of time on my hands lol!! Keeps me occupied while off work and waiting for surgery, but i've always loved this kind of thing right from the BBC micro days!

Ryzen 1700x Current Bios - 2203 Ram currently CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 Hynix M-Die while my 4266s are being RMAed

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Amiga10
(18 items)
CPU
R7 1700X @ 4.13GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
RAM
G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200NP NVME
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
Optical Drive
ASUS BW=16D1HT Blueray
Power Supply
Corsair RM 1000
Cooling
Fractal Design S36
Cooling
Gskill FTB-3500C5-DR Memory Fan Turbulence III 3500RPM
Cooling
2 x Riing 140mm
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Riing
Operating System
Windows 10 Creators Ed
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
No brand cheap gaming!
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Wireless Mouse 4000
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5382 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 09:19 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,076
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by numlock66 View Post
Thanks - not really needing RGB, but the cooler looks good enough to outweigh that! Thanks for the recommendation, it is 1st on my list

Anyone else got suggestions for upgrade to my MasterLiquid 240? Plenty of space in my CoreX5 case for almost any size cooler. Can't really afford more than 150GBP currently....

Ryzen 1700x Current Bios - 2203 Ram currently CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 Hynix M-Die while my 4266s are being RMAed

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Amiga10
(18 items)
CPU
R7 1700X @ 4.13GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
RAM
G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200NP NVME
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
Optical Drive
ASUS BW=16D1HT Blueray
Power Supply
Corsair RM 1000
Cooling
Fractal Design S36
Cooling
Gskill FTB-3500C5-DR Memory Fan Turbulence III 3500RPM
Cooling
2 x Riing 140mm
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Riing
Operating System
Windows 10 Creators Ed
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
No brand cheap gaming!
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Wireless Mouse 4000
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
post #5383 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 09:23 AM
Mmmm donuts.....
 
VicsPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 528
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Thanks - not really needing RGB, but the cooler looks good enough to outweigh that! Thanks for the recommendation, it is 1st on my list

Anyone else got suggestions for upgrade to my MasterLiquid 240? Plenty of space in my CoreX5 case for almost any size cooler. Can't really afford more than 150GBP currently....
I've got the same case with a 360 on the bottom and a 240 at the front, i use the top as intake fans so that ambient air blows right over the ram and gpu (to cool wtv isn't cooled by water), and it's been lovely, no issues at all.

My 1700x build
(6 items)
CPU
1700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Vega 64
RAM
Corsair 16gb 3200mhz CL16
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Core X5
▲ hide details ▲
VicsPC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5384 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 10:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 928
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Thanks - not really needing RGB, but the cooler looks good enough to outweigh that! Thanks for the recommendation, it is 1st on my list

Anyone else got suggestions for upgrade to my MasterLiquid 240? Plenty of space in my CoreX5 case for almost any size cooler. Can't really afford more than 150GBP currently....
That MasterLiquid was one I looked at because it wasn't the standard Asetek pump and cold plate. I think it and the new Corsair Platinum line uses the same pump and that new Corsair AIO got some strong reviews.

I ended up going with a Fractal Design S36 Celsius because it was dirt cheap and doesn't use any kind of software.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #5385 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 03:31 PM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 795
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
TIL and thought I would share here and in the memory thread. AIDA should somehow make this bit more know somehow. But if you right click the start benchmark a hidden menu pops up. Credit to https://www.reddit.com/r/overclockin..._bench_button/

However I then tried right clicking in the results area and got an additional menu that allows you to change the bench mark order and weather it displays in MB/s or GB/s and there are 3 additional tests. I am not sure what all this really means for testing just yet...but there are changes from one test to another especially in latency.

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.
mtrai is offline  
post #5386 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 03:35 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,076
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by VicsPC View Post
I've got the same case with a 360 on the bottom and a 240 at the front, i use the top as intake fans so that ambient air blows right over the ram and gpu (to cool wtv isn't cooled by water), and it's been lovely, no issues at all.
Do you have it blowing out or in? Sounds like quite a good way to do it. Currently my 240 is blowing out the top, back front and side blowing in. The way you have it means I could have fans blowing down from the top onto everything

@nick name added Fractal s36 to my list - I like that there's no RGB! - and the price is great! Does the plate mount easily on our boards or does a plate need fitting?

Ryzen 1700x Current Bios - 2203 Ram currently CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 Hynix M-Die while my 4266s are being RMAed

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Amiga10
(18 items)
CPU
R7 1700X @ 4.13GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
RAM
G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200NP NVME
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
Optical Drive
ASUS BW=16D1HT Blueray
Power Supply
Corsair RM 1000
Cooling
Fractal Design S36
Cooling
Gskill FTB-3500C5-DR Memory Fan Turbulence III 3500RPM
Cooling
2 x Riing 140mm
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Riing
Operating System
Windows 10 Creators Ed
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
No brand cheap gaming!
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Wireless Mouse 4000
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
post #5387 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 03:44 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,076
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
TIL and thought I would share here and in the memory thread. AIDA should somehow make this bit more know somehow. But if you right click the start benchmark a hidden menu pops up. Credit to https://www.reddit.com/r/overclockin..._bench_button/

However I then tried right clicking in the results area and got an additional menu that allows you to change the bench mark order and weather it displays in MB/s or GB/s and there are 3 additional tests. I am not sure what all this really means for testing just yet...but there are changes from one test to another especially in latency.
Thanks for the hint! You can also right click the save button to choose PNG or XML

Ryzen 1700x Current Bios - 2203 Ram currently CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 Hynix M-Die while my 4266s are being RMAed

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Amiga10
(18 items)
CPU
R7 1700X @ 4.13GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
RAM
G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200NP NVME
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
Optical Drive
ASUS BW=16D1HT Blueray
Power Supply
Corsair RM 1000
Cooling
Fractal Design S36
Cooling
Gskill FTB-3500C5-DR Memory Fan Turbulence III 3500RPM
Cooling
2 x Riing 140mm
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Riing
Operating System
Windows 10 Creators Ed
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
No brand cheap gaming!
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Wireless Mouse 4000
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
post #5388 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 04:20 PM
Mmmm donuts.....
 
VicsPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 528
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Do you have it blowing out or in? Sounds like quite a good way to do it. Currently my 240 is blowing out the top, back front and side blowing in. The way you have it means I could have fans blowing down from the top onto everything

@nick name added Fractal s36 to my list - I like that there's no RGB! - and the price is great! Does the plate mount easily on our boards or does a plate need fitting?
I have the top 3 blowing in (3x140mm fans) then have a rad pushing out at the bottom in push/pull and one at the front pushing out in push/pull. My water delta is around 9-10°C and in a room that has no airflow im happy with that, it's cooler in the summer with the AC on. Keeps the ram and gpu cool even though its watercooled.

My 1700x build
(6 items)
CPU
1700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Vega 64
RAM
Corsair 16gb 3200mhz CL16
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Core X5
▲ hide details ▲
VicsPC is offline  
post #5389 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 04:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 928
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Do you have it blowing out or in? Sounds like quite a good way to do it. Currently my 240 is blowing out the top, back front and side blowing in. The way you have it means I could have fans blowing down from the top onto everything

@nick name added Fractal s36 to my list - I like that there's no RGB! - and the price is great! Does the plate mount easily on our boards or does a plate need fitting?
I replaced a 4th gen Asetek cooler with Fractal Design 5th gen Asetek cooler so my memory from the first installation is dated, but I believe it was super easy. I don't remember struggling with it at all.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #5390 of 6012 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 04:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 928
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
TIL and thought I would share here and in the memory thread. AIDA should somehow make this bit more know somehow. But if you right click the start benchmark a hidden menu pops up. Credit to https://www.reddit.com/r/overclockin..._bench_button/

However I then tried right clicking in the results area and got an additional menu that allows you to change the bench mark order and weather it displays in MB/s or GB/s and there are 3 additional tests. I am not sure what all this really means for testing just yet...but there are changes from one test to another especially in latency.
You, sir. You are the best.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off