ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 644 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6431 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 05:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AngryLobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 531
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by narukun View Post
Im having terrible latency here too, using latencymon 20k+ on ntoskrnl.exe and 2k+ nvlddmkm.sys, using windows 1903
I have basically tried 50 different things. None of it has worked and am confident it's the board itself.

I just bought a Gaming 7 Wifi to swap my CPU/GPU/SSD to and will report back if it solves the issue.

I wouldn't care but I use a external DAC/AMP and the crackling/pops make my entire sound setup worthless (TH900 + JBL530's).
AngryLobster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6432 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 08:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,091
Rep: 6 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by AngryLobster View Post
I have basically tried 50 different things. None of it has worked and am confident it's the board itself.

I just bought a Gaming 7 Wifi to swap my CPU/GPU/SSD to and will report back if it solves the issue.

I wouldn't care but I use a external DAC/AMP and the crackling/pops make my entire sound setup worthless (TH900 + JBL530's).
I understand your frustration. Hope you get it sorted.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #6433 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 02:33 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,820
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
My old G.Skills needed GearDown to get 3200 or more - don't think these Patriots need it at all.

What are your thoughts on interleaving? I've never seen any benefit before, but haven't tried it in ages.
I did not get this, sorry. Do you mean the automatic interleaving from using 4x8GB?

I compared Prime X470 Pro UEFI 4804 aka AEGSA ComboAM4 1.0.0.1 with UEFI 2304 for PMU code as per 1usmus guide for mod.

I'm finding second/fourth search lengths are 45BC not 45CC and I'm finding PMU sections did not get updated, ie they are identical.

Click image for larger version

Name:	PMU Compare.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	436.6 KB
ID:	274056

@mtrai

What are your findings chap?

Quote: Originally Posted by Krisztias View Post
Disappointing latency's... I hoped/thougt that we will have latency's in the 50's with Matisse, not in the mid 60's with 3733MHz...

Quote: Originally Posted by ComansoRowlett View Post
To be fair there is plenty of chance to lower tighten the timings from what they have listed, lots of tweaking to be done I'm sure! Plus there is also the new balancing act of the 2:1 FCLK, the CL they used wasn't exactly ideal in the slide shown. The kit I have is able to do roughly 4400MHz CL14 at the very least so it's certainly going to get interesting experimenting with this.

Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
With the higher CAS latency and what I'm assuming to be motherboard set sub-timings I'm not too worried about those numbers.

Quote: Originally Posted by Krisztias View Post
I hope you guys are right
@Krisztias in this thread we've seen tad below 60ns with decent stability on 2000 series. After seeing the AMD slides gives me confidence we are looking at >3533MHz with ease on 3000 series and should be able to improve on latency shown.

Yesterday on TPU there was ASUS X570 price leak story, members were discussing PCB layers in comments. Seems as if only the highest tier or odd lower one may get 8 and norm is 6, which the C7H is as well. Perhaps we will get sound RAM OC when coupled with 3000 series on C7H as well.
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6434 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 03:25 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,216
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
I did not get this, sorry. Do you mean the automatic interleaving from using 4x8GB?

I compared Prime X470 Pro UEFI 4804 aka AEGSA ComboAM4 1.0.0.1 with UEFI 2304 for PMU code as per 1usmus guide for mod.

I'm finding second/fourth search lengths are 45BC not 45CC and I'm finding PMU sections did not get updated, ie they are identical.

US X570 price leak story, members were discussing PCB layers in comments. Seems as if only the highest tier or odd lower one may get 8 and norm is 6, which the C7H is as well. Perhaps we will get sound RAM OC when coupled with 3000 series on C7H as well.
Lol - Sorry - I know sometimes I'm not clear - I meant the bios settings in Advanced>CBS. Setting interleaving to channel, die, none etc.... and can any of these settings, including Interleave Hashing, make any difference to stability....

I also think we'll get better ram OCing with Mattisse on CH7.

Edit: so no PMU update for us! Maybe we'll get one on AGESA 1002? I see some boards have this version already...
Attached Images
 

Ryzen 1700x Current Bios - 2304

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Amiga10
(18 items)
CPU
R7 1700X @ 4.13GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
RAM
Patriot Viper Steel 4400 CL19
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200NP NVME
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Hard Drive
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632
Optical Drive
ASUS BW=16D1HT Blueray
Power Supply
Corsair RM 1000
Cooling
Fractal Design S36
Cooling
Gskill FTB-3500C5-DR Memory Fan Turbulence III 3500RPM
Cooling
2 x Riing 140mm
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Riing
Operating System
Windows 10 Creators Ed
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
No brand cheap gaming!
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Wireless Mouse 4000
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by crakej; 06-12-2019 at 03:28 AM.
crakej is offline  
post #6435 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 05:12 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,820
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Ahh right.

Advanced > AMD CBS > DF Common Options > Memory Interleaving

Options are Auto / Socket / Die / Channel / None

You'll see in the note it states option changes only have affect if memory population is meeting requirement of option.

When I last checked with 2x8GB single rank/sided I could not see any performance benefit. Not tried with 4x8GB yet and don't have dual rank kit. I also think I won't see a difference regardless of RAM used due to CPU/#RAM channels.

On Threadripper it's exact same menu and settings. [Auto] or [DIE] for Distributed (UMA) and [Channel] for Local (NUMA). When I used 2x8GB on ZE any change to the options made no difference, only when I went 4x8GB did it make a difference, as then RAM was not unified and if I understand it correctly each die could use the RAM closest to it, not span the IF. Below is AIDA64 run on TR, left is NUMA, right is UMA.

Spoiler!


Quote:
Memory interleaving is a technique that CPUs use to increase the memory bandwidth available for an application. Without interleaving, consecutive memory blocks, often cache lines, are read from the same memory bank. So software that reads consecutive memory will need to wait for a memory transfer to complete before starting the next memory access. With memory interleaving enabled, consecutive memory blocks are in different banks and so can all contribute to the overall memory bandwidth a program can achieve
Above quote from here.

I doubt if this option change has stability effects TBH. As above shows it's more of a technique to improve organisation/usage of RAM resource.

*** edit ***

As PMU didn't seem to differ between Prime X470 AGESA 1.0.0.1 UEFI I changed version ID in my modded UEFI.

Spoiler!

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-12-2019 at 05:30 AM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #6436 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 06:06 AM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 858
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
@gupsterg

Quote:
What are you finding
Well the big take away with the new 32 MB bios is not matter what I could not flash it if I modified it in anyway. Most modules are the exact same there are just more of them...as well as a huge amount of padding.

As to the interleveling. I have had mixed results just using 2 sticks. It is really meant for 4 sticks of ram. Like I said though mixed results.

Only tried it on my C7H Wifi new bios.

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.
mtrai is offline  
post #6437 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 06:25 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,820
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
@mtrai

If I take C7H 2203 and search for AGESA string 0.0.7.2 I see one instance, 2304 has 2; it's like it's 2 UEFIs in one file .

So have you compared an AGESA 1.0.0.1 UEFI PMU to C7H 2304 and noted they are identical?

So far only done 2 real mods on 2304. First was update it using UBU v1.74.0.3, this flashed via flashback without issue. Second I took that flash file changed AGESA version string and it would not flash. I then took official 2304, edited AGESA version string, updated it via UBU and then it flashed via flashback.

Strangely when I compared the second modded UEFI and third I could find no difference in compare done by HxD. I will be double checking this if I muddle the files up from each method for comparison .
gupsterg is offline  
post #6438 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 07:01 AM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 858
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
@mtrai

If I take C7H 2203 and search for AGESA string 0.0.7.2 I see one instance, 2304 has 2; it's like it's 2 UEFIs in one file .

So have you compared an AGESA 1.0.0.1 UEFI PMU to C7H 2304 and noted they are identical?

So far only done 2 real mods on 2304. First was update it using UBU v1.74.0.3, this flashed via flashback without issue. Second I took that flash file changed AGESA version string and it would not flash. I then took official 2304, edited AGESA version string, updated it via UBU and then it flashed via flashback.

Strangely when I compared the second modded UEFI and third I could find no difference in compare done by HxD. I will be double checking this if I muddle the files up from each method for comparison .
I did not think to use flashback. LOL

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.
mtrai is offline  
post #6439 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 08:25 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,820
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
I did not think to use flashback. LOL
Ahh, ok.

Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Edit: so no PMU update for us! Maybe we'll get one on AGESA 1002? I see some boards have this version already...
Compared a Gigabyte UEFI PMU from AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.2, this has same PMU FW as ASUS Prime X470 Pro AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.1 UEFI, which again is same as C7H UEFI 2304 Combo-AM4 0.0.7.2a. I haven't found a version string for PMU, dunno if one is disclosed in UEFI.

1usmus shared 2 zips in his post, out of it come say folders named as:-

AGESA 1.0.0.0a - 1.0.0.2c PMU

AGESA 1.0.0.4c - 0.0.7.2 PMU

If I've understood it correctly/based off my compares, the folder name is denoting AGESA version range for PMU FW with in it.

Basically we had same PMU FW between PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.01 to 1.0.0.2c, then new one in PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.4c, which is being used with up to even Combo-AM4 1.0.0.2.

The Stilt's post regarding PMU FW change was when we gained PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.6, which again fits in with compares/1usmus folder naming, as C7H did not get the in between AGESA.

Will get same data to together on CPU/SMU FW if I can...
gupsterg is offline  
post #6440 of 6592 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 08:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,091
Rep: 6 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
-snip-

The Stilt's post regarding PMU FW change was when we gained PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.6, which again fits in with compares/1usmus folder naming, as C7H did not get the in between AGESA.

Will get same data to together on CPU/SMU FW if I can...
If ASUS is being selective on which AGESA to use as they did before then I trust that they aren't updating just to update, but updating when it is useful.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off