ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 650 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6491 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-15-2019, 10:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 62
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by AngryLobster View Post
Yeah I uninstalled the AMD Sata drivers a long time ago and am using the default Microsoft ones you have pictured.

I have only the Nvidia driver installed, no Physx, no audio. I have every audio component disabled all together. HPET off, everything in MSI mode, C states off, Performance mode for both CPU/GPU, you name it.

I just swapped to a GTX 1060 that I borrowed and the issue is still there so definitely not my 2080 Ti. This means the only component that I have not swapped are the SSD and CPU.

Gonna swap SSD on Monday and pray.
Sorry to hear you are still having issues... just out of curiosity did you recently upgrade to Windows 10 1903? There have been a number of complaints regarding the latest Windows release and latency, Microsoft is apparently looking into the issue.

Also, somewhere earlier in the thread there was mention of issues with Intel LAN drivers... for anyone seeing high latency there, go to Device Manager -> Intel 211 -> Advanced and set Interrupt Modulation to either Low or disable it entirely and see if that helps resolve the issue.

ryouiki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6492 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 01:53 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
unfortunately, the injection of the new microcode is only a half of the solution ... with each update of the microcode, there is an update of other modules / drivers. Therefore, it is impossible to call the bios full-fledged after an independent update. At the moment I do not have data where other important pieces of code are located ...
Cheers for the insight .

mCode for 2700X

UEFI 0601 8008206
UEFI 0702 8008206
UEFI 0804 8008206
UEFI 1002 8008206

UEFI 1101 800820B
UEFI 1103 800820B
UEFI 1201 800820B

UEFI 2008 800820B
UEFI 2103 800820B
UEFI 2203 800820B
UEFI 2304 800820B

mCode B has been used with AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.6 as well is AM4 ComboPI 0.0.7.0 to AM4 ComboPI 0.0.7.2a.

So far I have found PMU FW there are only 2 versions.

First found between AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.0a to 1.0.0.2c, second found between AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.4c to Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3.

I did compare your method of PMU injection with The Stilt's for his custom C6H UEFIs (must check his ZE UEFI), seems the same method.

SMU FW

43.18.0 was in UEFI 0601 AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.2
43.20.0 was in UEFI 1002 AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.2c
43.20.0 was in UEFI 1103 AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.6
43.21.0 was in UEFI 2008 AGESA Combo-AM4 0.0.7.0
43.21.0 was in UEFI 2304 AGESA Combo-AM4 0.0.7.2a

SMU FW version string I could see in UEFI in quick search I did.

I do believe modules can be updated as needed. From ASUS support page:-

Quote:
Version 0601 2018/05/11 8.09 MBytes

ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO (WI-FI) BIOS 0601
1. Update SMU Firmware to version 43.18.0
2. Update RAID driver to version 9.2.0.41.
3. Update Asus Grid notification behavior
Also it seems some vendors do not update all option roms. Left is C7H UEFI 2304 AGESA 0.0.7.2, middle is Prime X470 Pro UEFI 4804 AGESA 1.0.0.1, right is GigaByte X470 AGESA 1.0.0.2.

Click image for larger version

Name:	3 way compare.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	707.4 KB
ID:	274696

Seems UBU can update these as well.

Name:  Module updates.jpg
Views: 118
Size:  35.8 KB

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-16-2019 at 02:02 AM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #6493 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 02:11 AM
AMD overclocker/developer
 
1usmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ukraine / Germany
Posts: 1,584
Rep: 292 (Unique: 136)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
Cheers for the insight .

mCode for 2700X

UEFI 0601 8008206
UEFI 0702 8008206
UEFI 0804 8008206
UEFI 1002 8008206

UEFI 1101 800820B
UEFI 1103 800820B
UEFI 1201 800820B

UEFI 2008 800820B
UEFI 2103 800820B
UEFI 2203 800820B
UEFI 2304 800820B

mCode B has been used with AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.6 as well is AM4 ComboPI 0.0.7.0 to AM4 ComboPI 0.0.7.2a.

So far I have found PMU FW there are only 2 versions.

First found between AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.0a to 1.0.0.2c, second found between AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.4c to Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3.

I did compare your method of PMU injection with The Stilt's for his custom C6H UEFIs (must check his ZE UEFI), seems the same method.

SMU FW

43.18.0 was in UEFI 0601 AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.2
43.20.0 was in UEFI 1002 AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.2c
43.20.0 was in UEFI 1103 AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.6
43.21.0 was in UEFI 2008 AGESA Combo-AM4 0.0.7.0
43.21.0 was in UEFI 2304 AGESA Combo-AM4 0.0.7.2a

SMU FW version string I could see in UEFI in quick search I did.

I do believe modules can be updated as needed. From ASUS support page:-



Also it seems some vendors do not update all option roms. Left is C7H UEFI 2304 AGESA 0.0.7.2, middle is Prime X470 Pro UEFI 4804 AGESA 1.0.0.1, right is GigaByte X470 AGESA 1.0.0.2.

Attachment 274696

Seems UBU can update these as well.

Attachment 274698
true, the methods are identical and all important parts of the code are contained in the padding section
1usmus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6494 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 04:34 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
true, the methods are identical and all important parts of the code are contained in the padding section
.

Not full list but was to see some things.

Spoiler!


Notes:

i) From UEFI 0702 ASUS WMI, but has issues, also 0804, from 1002 fixed. Q-Code: 70 denotes ASUS EC flash occurring.

ii) PMU FW (aka IMC) 2 files, first found between AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.0a to 1.0.0.2c, second found between AGESA PinnaclePI-AM4 1.0.0.4c to Combo-AM4 1.0.0.3.

iii) SMU FW can be shared between AGESA, for example PinnaclePi-AM4 1.0.0.2c/1.0.0.6 both used SMU 43.20.0.

iv) Applying PMU v1 to UEFI 2304 (aka PMU v2 UEFI) resulted in board Q-Code: 0d Q-LED: DRAM on POST.

Successful mods so far to UEFI 2304:-

i) mCode update, tested 800820C and 800820D.

ii) Disk controller EFI/OROM update.

Spoiler!


iii) AGESA version string change

Failed mods so far:-

i) PMU FW swap.

iii) UEFI version string change.

sTR4 has this menu to adjust IMC training:-

Click image for larger version

Name:	PMU Menu.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	127.3 KB
ID:	274704

Have you seen any mobo on AM4 with this menu or been able to mod access to it?

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-16-2019 at 04:47 AM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #6495 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:44 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 467
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
I only have seen the "PMU Training" settings in Agesa ComboAM4 1001 or higher and only in the Zen2 files. Is this screen from you? Are these settings working with Zen+?
Reous is offline  
post #6496 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:52 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by Reous View Post
I only have seen the "PMU Training" settings in Agesa ComboAM4 1001 or higher and only in the Zen2 files. Is this screen from you? Are these settings working with Zen+?
Thank you .

Screenshot is from my Zenith Extreme Alpha UEFI 0405 with Threadripper 1950X.

Threadripper has had this option on generation 1xxx since launch, even Zenith Extreme had option.

It must be possible to mod this to AM4 1xxx/2xxx in my opinion.
gupsterg is offline  
post #6497 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kmellz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 55
Rep: 0
Yeah updated (all) the modules and microcode a while ago with UBU (main thread has a good guide/info https://www.win-raid.com/t154f16-Too...-quot-UBU.html ) on 2304, everything working fine. Didn't try modding anything more though, just updating since many vendors seems to never update these parts of the bios sadly.

CPU 3800x @ 4.4Ghz | Arctic LF 240 | 4x Silentwings 3 Mobo Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi RAM 16gb T-Force 8PACK @ 3800 mhz 16-18-16-28-1T GPU Asus 1080 Ti Strix OC @ 2.04Ghz/12.2Ghz Case Meshify C | x4 Silentwings 3 PSU Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750W HDD Samsung 970 EVO 500GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | Seagate Barracuda PRO 8TB
kmellz is offline  
post #6498 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 05:54 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by kmellz View Post
Yeah updated (all) the modules and microcode a while ago with UBU (main thread has a good guide/info https://www.win-raid.com/t154f16-Too...-quot-UBU.html ) on 2304, everything working fine. Didn't try modding anything more though, just updating since many vendors seems to never update these parts of the bios sadly.
Thank you .

I have also done network update using UBU with success .
gupsterg is offline  
post #6499 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 06:10 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 467
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
It must be possible to mod this to AM4 1xxx/2xxx in my opinion.

Yeah, i'm sure it is possible in some way but i don't know how. My last try ended up with an bricked bios.
Reous is offline  
post #6500 of 9623 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 06:42 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by Reous View Post
Yeah, i'm sure it is possible in some way but i don't know how. My last try ended up with an bricked bios.
I have BCP v5.02.0031, I don't see AMD CBS so must follow your guide to enable?

Spoiler!


*** edit ***

Right got the PMU menu from ZEA FW. Aiming to mod this into C7H UEFI. Doesn't look like simple copy and paste, must edit some hex to make "form" relevant to C7H CBS.

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-16-2019 at 07:28 AM.
gupsterg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 8 (2 members and 6 guests)
Baio73 , nick name
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off