ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 651 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6501 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 08:04 AM
AMD overclocker/developer
 
1usmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ukraine / Germany
Posts: 1,583
Rep: 292 (Unique: 136)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
I have BCP v5.02.0031, I don't see AMD CBS so must follow your guide to enable?



*** edit ***

Right got the PMU menu from ZEA FW. Aiming to mod this into C7H UEFI. Doesn't look like simple copy and paste, must edit some hex to make "form" relevant to C7H CBS.
share please BCP v5.02.0031
1usmus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6502 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 08:17 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 465
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
I have BCP v5.02.0031, I don't see AMD CBS so must follow your guide to enable?

Right got the PMU menu from ZEA FW. Aiming to mod this into C7H UEFI. Doesn't look like simple copy and paste, must edit some hex to make "form" relevant to C7H CBS.

Yeah not that easy. There are separate CBS files for Zen+ APU, CPU and Zen2 CPU. Tell me if you have some luck.
Reous is online now  
post #6503 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 08:21 AM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,072
Rep: 34 (Unique: 20)
@1usmus sorry I would of shared it much earlier I thought you had it already. Here you go. AMIBCP 5.02.0031 Sorry removed it as it not allowed. Sent PM

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.
mtrai is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6504 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 08:28 AM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,072
Rep: 34 (Unique: 20)
@gupsterg on Asus most things in CBS menu have to be changed via 1usmus and others guides. And most will never show...however there is a way to access them in the bios even though you do not have a menu. You have to change all the things under show to user in both master list of settings and then under each setting. Then you can search and change those settings.

However I am having major issues with the 2304 bios. Anytime I make any changes it just will not install no matter the method. Unlike the previous bios which would be 2kb smaller, this one become 4 kb smaller. I am at a loss on installing it. Without being able to flash it I cannot search the settings I unhide.

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.
mtrai is online now  
post #6505 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 02:34 PM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by Reous View Post
Yeah not that easy. There are separate CBS files for Zen+ APU, CPU and Zen2 CPU. Tell me if you have some luck.
This UEFI has PMU menu but is not showing. I will check if options work which show. If you have time please check were I am going wrong.

Do you think I need to update CbsBase? for example in a X570 UEFI each base has it's own setup.

Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
@gupsterg on Asus most things in CBS menu have to be changed via 1usmus and others guides. And most will never show...however there is a way to access them in the bios even though you do not have a menu. You have to change all the things under show to user in both master list of settings and then under each setting. Then you can search and change those settings.

However I am having major issues with the 2304 bios. Anytime I make any changes it just will not install no matter the method. Unlike the previous bios which would be 2kb smaller, this one become 4 kb smaller. I am at a loss on installing it. Without being able to flash it I cannot search the settings I unhide.
I believe it is 4kb lighter as it is 2 UEFIs in one. I will rerun testing how I got correct file size and share ASAP, I do believe UEFITool correct size on save.


*** edit ***

I have the menu

Click image for larger version

Name:	190616233137.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	122.9 KB
ID:	274768

@mtrai

I rerun process here is ZIP organise via time. The C7HWIFI.CAP had:-

1. PMU Training Menu in AMD CBS > UMC Common Options > DDR4 Common Options > Phy Configuration

2. mCode 800820D and all current updates to disk/video/network

3. AGESA Version string changed to reflect mods (0.0.7.2+DVNP)

*** edit ***

Whole of AMD CBS is not functional , settings appear, can change and save, but do not apply . Looks like copying in the CBS menu from ZEA is not answer....

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-16-2019 at 04:08 PM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #6506 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 03:05 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 465
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
At least you got the menu


I think you have to change some code in the cbs file(s) to accept the Zen+ CPU. Now you can see the settings but they only working with Zen2. Maybe you can find something.
Reous is online now  
post #6507 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 03:20 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by Reous View Post
At least you got the menu
.

If I edit CbsSetupDxe using HxD to say have menu I end up with corrupt file.

Below is stock 2304 DDR4 Common Options

Spoiler!


I inject in:-

Code:
0F 0F E6 00 E6 00 4C 00 00 00 FF FF 00 3F 70
This should create an extra entry.

Then I inject in PMU Menu hex .

Spoiler!


I change:-

01 86 3E 70 EB 00 to 01 86 3D 70 E4 00

02 87 E4 00 00 00 00 to 02 87 E4 00 00 00 00

This should make menu entry 4, I then bump relevant hex of Common RAS / Security entries to make them lower down (ie E5 / E6 plus FormId).

I inject in same order as ZEA CbsSetupDxe so then when I copy in the text labels located lower down they'd be in same order.

I then change size due to added code, right at top of file. I do believe I need to make more edits to make the injections relevant (not found the hex yet) and or am using wrong tools/process, as then IFR will not parse this modded sct.

Spoiler!


So the mod will fail IMO.

As just adding CbsSetupDxe from ZEA to 2304 had changed menus I thought if I replace CbsBaseDxe menu may become functional. Board does not complete post, ends up in Q-Code cycle....

CbsSetupDxe is just a menu front end.

It must hook into another module, for example CbsBaseDxe.

This is bigger task than I envisaged, without the experience and or SW tools not gonna work ...

Last edited by gupsterg; 06-17-2019 at 03:27 AM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #6508 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 03:41 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,634
Rep: 31 (Unique: 22)
When will ASUS deliver any of the available AGESA bioses to us? Like AGESA 1001 1002 1003?

We still don't even have 1001. I'm quite surprised though I do see CH6 and others have had some bother with 1001 bioses. Of course none of us knows what's really going on!

Ryzen 9 3900X | Current Bios - 0002+(The Stilt modded ver) | Crosshair VII Hero | 16GB Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL14 | ADATA SX8200NP 480GB | Fractal Design S36 AIO

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
crakej is offline  
post #6509 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 04:07 AM
..HWLuxx..
 
Reous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 465
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
@gupsterg
Maybe this deserves a new own thread? How to teaching Bios modding by myself?


@crakej
A member from HWLuxx asked the support and they said they will pull out new bios around Zen2 launch with Agesa ComboAM4 1002.
Reous is online now  
post #6510 of 9563 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 05:03 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by Reous View Post
@gupsterg
Maybe this deserves a new own thread? How to teaching Bios modding by myself?
As I had thought editing existing data is easy.

Adding/removing requires other SW tools/experience I don't have. I found the information on Win-RAID Forum, link.

Quote:
It can be modified as shown, easily, for what is already there, but even removing a line via hex that is shown in text does far more than that and I think it will break the entire file, it's compiled in an assembler so adding or removing a line will break everything after that and probably before as well.
Modifying an already present value is easy.
I have PM'd a person he states he did write tool to do this, link. Will see if I get a response.
gupsterg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 9 (3 members and 6 guests)
insomnia48 , mtrai , wonderiuy
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off