ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 872 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8711 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 10:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Duvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 140
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Wait, maybe its only me and someone else might get better performance^^

Question: Which BIOS and Chipsetdriver are the best for us (performance wise)?

Was it Bios 2501? I think after 2501 i had problems with my 3800CL14 Settings.

Last edited by Duvar; 08-23-2019 at 11:18 AM.
Duvar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8712 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 11:48 AM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,134
Rep: 35 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
You can do the same with 0002? I don't even bother testing other bioses as 1002 gives me 4.425 single core boost with auto oc +200 on a 3700x.



So 2501 then.
I meant 2701 I am working on the 0002 mod...but once again I am afraid it will only work with Ryzen 1000/2000 cpus. I am hoping Shamino provides me some guidance. Since 2501 it once again requires hex edits to fully unlock and unhide stuff in the bios especially the CBS menu stuff.

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.
mtrai is offline  
post #8713 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 12:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,624
Rep: 41 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by Duvar View Post
Hmm with 0002 Bios i have a 1.3ns worse latency with Aida...
Performance in CB 15/20 dropped too.
It's nort bios... I bet You moved from old AGESA microcode You wont see those numbers again if You did.
lordzed83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8714 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 12:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,624
Rep: 41 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Everything i want to know is if 0002/2703 perform better/same as 2501. with ryzen 3k. Until then 2501 is a keeper even with c5 bug
Worse in benchmarks better in games Same as any ABB bios
lordzed83 is offline  
post #8715 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 12:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,624
Rep: 41 (Unique: 31)
@gupsterg installed 002 seems to run same as 2701 with fixes. Cant test much cause ******* summer came back today and im 6c up on ambient so back on 2701 i was not stable too hot for the edge of blade stabiity
lordzed83 is offline  
post #8716 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 12:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Duvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 140
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post
It's nort bios... I bet You moved from old AGESA microcode You wont see those numbers again if You did.
No didnt changed Chipset Driver. Yesterday i had 1.5ns better Latency and CB Scores, only updated the BIOS a couple hours ago.
Was on Beta Bios 2701 before.
Duvar is offline  
post #8717 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 12:28 PM
Going Red!
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Raipur, India
Posts: 129
Rep: 0
I have found stable clocks of 4400, 4400, 4250, 4225 using 1.35v vcore and llc5. Can run 10 passes of CBR20 and temp stays around 86 max. I have found loop passes of CBR20 a good test for clock stability as usually around 5th pass or so if a clock is unstable it will crash, 1st or 2nd pass if the clock is very unstable. 10 passes to see to see how much the temp increases back to back.


This is the performance i was originally expecting of the 3900x. In gaming temps stay way below 60. I know 1.35v is probably high but in gaming it will never go all-core load something like CBR20 etc. Running aida64 fpu or cpu+fpu take it over 90 but i think for me that type of load will never happen. Will stop with my tinkering of this cpu for almost a month now and be happy with it.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero x470
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio
RAM
T-Force Nighthawk Legend RBG
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
Antec High Current Game Extreme
Cooling
Corsair H115i Platinum RGB
Case
Cooler Master H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU IPS G-Sync
Keyboard
Logitech G512 Carbon Romer-G Tactile
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Audio
Logitech Z623 2.1
▲ hide details ▲
thegr8anand is offline  
post #8718 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 01:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
New bios 2703

Now asus C7H has the latest version of 2703 BIOS
Link:https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...-ASUS-2703.zip

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...-ASUS-2703.zip



ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO BIOS 2703
1.Improve system performance.
2.Update AM4 Combo PI 1.0.0.3 Patch ABB
3.Improves EZFlash performance to reduce boot time.
a.Fixes a compatibility issue with Destiny 2
b.Fixes an issue with certain Linux distros
c.Removes Gen 4 support when using Ryzen 3000 CPUs
Xuso is offline  
post #8719 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 01:37 PM
Vault Dweller
 
LethalSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Vault 13
Posts: 38
Rep: 0
No changes at all (I didnt expect any tbh). Boost is the same, PPT and TDC are dead in Ryzen Master, no PBO, no PE, and still shutdown randomly when reset. Is sad to see older boards like X370 Taichi working better than this one.

Sliger Cerberus X - Ryzen 7 3700X - Noctua NH-C14S - Asus ROG Crosshair VII - EVGA RTX 2080 XC - 2x8GB GSKill TRZ DDR4 3733Mhz - Samsung 970 EVO + 850 EVO - Corsair SF600 - Aorus FI27Q 165Hz - Sennheiser PC360
LethalSpoon is offline  
post #8720 of 10522 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 01:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,456
Rep: 18 (Unique: 9)
Has anyone ever been curious to see what the board would set your timings to if you set each one to Auto? And how that setup would perform? Well, wonder no more.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RAM Auto.png
Views:	25
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	290998  

Click image for larger version

Name:	RAM Auto cachemem.png
Views:	16
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	291000  


AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off