ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 879 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8781 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 10:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
andyliu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by chakku View Post
No luck there unfortunately. Checking again the BIOS flashback doesn't seem to engage the USB drive as long as it usually would, it might be failing for all I know. Any other ideas or has this motherboard somehow died in its sleep?
you can try remove the heatsink and see if it will power on.
I had experienced similar issue with my 2700x.
I power off my computer overnight and it wont power on the next day randomly.
I had to loose the waterblock that I had in order to power on.
not saying it might be the same for you, but it's easy to try
andyliu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8782 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 10:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baio73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 102
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by chakku View Post
No luck there unfortunately. Checking again the BIOS flashback doesn't seem to engage the USB drive as long as it usually would, it might be failing for all I know. Any other ideas or has this motherboard somehow died in its sleep?
I can't understand if the flashback routine ends successfully or not.
With the latest BIOS the USB stick starts flashing then it stops from about 10 seconds and then restarts.
The first time I used it, I had the feeling it didn't success, but I only had to wait a bit longer..

Baio

CASE Silverstone FT02 CPU AMD Ryzen 3700X COOLER Corsair H80i v2 MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi RAM 2x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY Dell U2515H
AUDIO
Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition + Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 960PRO nVme 512Gb - Crucial MX500 2Tb INPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513
Baio73 is offline  
post #8783 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 10:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baio73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 102
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Axaion View Post
I just updated from 1.0.0.2 to 1.0.0.3ABB and the volts are the same for me.
I did lose 80 MHz across all cores though.

Lost a few points in CPU-z bench (528 Single core now, was 531-532 before)

But eh, rather have it not try and kill the chip, but all this boost madness is a major fail from AMD's side.
I also lost a bunch of MHz of max boost, but my Cinebench15 score is exactly the same…

Baio

CASE Silverstone FT02 CPU AMD Ryzen 3700X COOLER Corsair H80i v2 MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Wi-Fi RAM 2x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY Dell U2515H
AUDIO
Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition + Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 960PRO nVme 512Gb - Crucial MX500 2Tb INPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513
Baio73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8784 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 11:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
andyliu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
pull the trigger when I saw openbox 3700x at micro center for $280 to swap my bad 2700x out
everything @ stock w/ BIOS 2703 except memory.
happy with the result
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	14
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	291334  

andyliu is offline  
post #8785 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 12:13 AM
►¿¿¿
 
Axaion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,038
Rep: 49 (Unique: 42)
Quote: Originally Posted by oreonutz View Post
You can set the fans Manually in the UEFI. However, Asus, in their INFINITE WISDOM, have made it so no matter what, after your PC Reaches 75c, your fans spin at 100 Percent. I think you fix that by using thier stupid Asus AISuite tool, but I finally just broke down and Plugged my Fans into a different Fan Controller. But I THINK if you use AISuite you can set a better Fan Curve that DOESN'T automatically go to 100 Percent at 75c. Before 75c you do have full control over your fan Speed though, you can control that in the UEFI.
Yeah, i made an account on rog forums to ask them to please fix fans going 100% at 75c, and they just ignored me

One would think that would be one thing that shouldent be too hard for them to change at all

-.-
(14 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSi GTX 970 Gaming 4G
RAM
G.skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL14
Hard Drive
SX8200 Pro 1TB +30 TB Spinning Rust
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-1000TR
Cooling
Dark Rock 4 Pro
Case
Fractal R6 (Dont buy, terrible HDD trays)
Operating System
Win 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Viewsonic VX2268wm
Keyboard
SteelKeys 6G
Mouse
Pro Intellimouse
Mousepad
QcK Heavy/Artisan Zero XL FX
Audio
Craptive AE-5
▲ hide details ▲
Axaion is offline  
post #8786 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 01:53 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Quote: Originally Posted by Axaion View Post
I just updated from 1.0.0.2 to 1.0.0.3ABB and the volts are the same for me.
I did lose 80 MHz across all cores though.

Lost a few points in CPU-z bench (528 Single core now, was 531-532 before)

But eh, rather have it not try and kill the chip, but all this boost madness is a major fail from AMD's side.
Synoxia, see above, so this user/CPU sample is behaving differently and below on differing model another see as I do.

Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
I have to agree with you. My 3900x also has this behaviour on 1003 - slightly higher volts for same, or slightly less ACBMHz.

I've still only ever seen a light load boosting properly - voltage and MHz drop the moment any real work starts....
Quote: Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post
I know that when installing Lew chipset drivers on 2501 i was loosing performance compared to lunch day chipset drivers. But that is not the case with ABB bioses.
Yeah I thought stock CPU with OC RAM on UEFI 0002 performed well. As PBO+150MHz doesn't attain the same clocks as older AGESA UEFI doubt the performance will be there, will check. Must also test ratio OC as well, perhaps that will show gain of performance over older AGESA at same clocks.

Quote: Originally Posted by Enzarch View Post
Been lurking here a long time, figured I'd say hi and ask a couple Qs

Why is 'auto' PLL voltage so high? (over 2V) Is there any risk? I do seem to be able to get a bit more clock on auto than at 1.8V, seems marginal effect on temps

Anyone else use AIDA as their primary monitoring app? and notice more cpu performance degradation with it, more-so than others such as HWINFO (roughly 150pt loss in CBr20 vs -70pt)

3900x @ 4.5 / 4.5 / 4.425 / 4.45Ghz @ ~1.325V (load) (~7950pt CBr20)
B-Die @ 3600Mts 14-15-14-28 (~65.5nS)
BIOS v0002 (excited to see CCX OC coming to bios maybe)
On [Auto] PLL has remained 1.8V for me, but I also set it manually on OC profiles. Perhaps try that and check if LN2 mode switch is not set to On.

Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Source that 1002 was killing cpus at stock? I run 1002 and 3700x with -0.037 undervolt and voltages/temp doesnt look scary.
X570 aorus xtreme is reaching advertised (and more) clockspeed on 1003abb agesa... check hardwareun
boxed review, i think there's a lot to be sorted out
Ah btw folks, i wanted to point out that amd changed 2700x max boost on their website... from 4.350 to 4.3... and they also nerfed 2700x... prior to 3k bioses i was reaching 4.3 ghz in games, on 2501 bios 4225. (Pbo on)
I haven't seen a source. Odd post here or there on web that a CPU died and IIRC some at stock, so stats could just be with normal range.

Shamino has only given us an insight on reasoning for boost behaviour change, he hasn't clearly stated that AMD have given data or stated unequivocally that silicon deterioration had been observed.

To be honest yeah I like the boost on older AGESA with PBO, but if I look at it in terms of %, it's ~3.5% gain.

Now I have no source, but just my opinion.

What if this boost gimping on new AGESA is to keep product segmentation. For me if I looked at it, by gaining ~4.3-4.34GHz ACB on my R5 3600 I wouldn't buy or suggest buying a R5 3600X.

Currently a 3700X is ~£330, I have seen it as ~£300, would I buy a 3800X for ~£370-£380 if PBO OC allowed a boost gain on 3700X?
gupsterg is offline  
post #8787 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 02:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 759
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
Synoxia, see above, so this user/CPU sample is behaving differently and b
elow on differing model another see as I do.





Yeah I thought stock CPU with OC RAM on UEFI 0002 performed well. As PBO+150MHz doesn't attain the same clocks as older AGESA UEFI doubt the performance will be there, will check. Must also test ratio OC as well, perhaps that will show gain of performance over older AGESA at same clocks.



On [Auto] PLL has remained 1.8V for me, but I also set it manually on OC profiles. Perhaps try that and check if LN2 mode switch is not set to On.



I haven't seen a source. Odd post here or there on web that a CPU died and IIRC some at stock, so stats could just be with normal range.

Shamino has only given us an insight on reasoning for boost behaviour change, he hasn't clearly stated that AMD have given data or stated unequivocally that silicon deterioration had been observed.

To be honest yeah I like the boost on older AGESA with PBO, but if I look at it in terms of %, it's ~3.5% gain.

Now I have no source, but just my opinion.

What if this boost gimping on new AGESA is to keep product segmentation. For me if I looked at it, by gaining ~4.3-4.34GHz ACB on my R5 3600 I wouldn't buy or suggest buying a R5 3600X.

Currently a 3700X is ~£330, I have seen it as ~£300, would I buy a 3800X for ~£370-£380 if PBO OC allowed a boost gain on 3700X?
Agreed. They figured out that higher bins chip can't gain +200 mhz as expected (remember Robert hallock's lie about 4.7 ghz and higher?) while i've seen lower bins such as 3600x reach more than 4.4... my 3700x personally never went past 4425 but i'd never buy a 3800x as you said if i was already reaching 4.5 with PBO. The only reason would be if 3800xs were hitting 4.7ghz+. Which isnt the case.

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is online now  
post #8788 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 02:24 AM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,910
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
I am not sure if 2703 os the same as I did not even look at it. But generally the "beta" becomes the release. The latest I modded was beta 0002 with the hope for "fan fix" Starting with 2701 I could actually have spread spectrum appear in the menus. Quite shocking...unfortunately I am still stuck with figuring out the support for Matisse Ryzen 3000 series cpus. I am at my wits ends and taking a few days break and hope a solution comes to me with some time off from the situation. It usually does. And hopefully Shamino will give me some insight like Elmor used to do and get me headed in the right direction. Elmor was always a major source of inspiration of where I should look or head in issues like this for me and would get me on the right path.
I hear ya, i haven't had any fan issues anymore until recently.. I discovered lots of lag in games and my 40mm fan stopped spinning which is on the sys fan 3. I don't think they can fix the fan issues to be honest, this is why they went with novuton chips if i spelled this correct lol. Elmor had good reason to leave ROG imo, they are a mess right now. Hopefully they solve their crap out fairly quick.

Hope you can sort it out man, have a good one.

hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
post #8789 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 02:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Digitalwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 477
Rep: 44 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
I also lost a bunch of MHz of max boost, but my Cinebench15 score is exactly the same…

Baio
Same for me with my cpu.
Digitalwolf is offline  
post #8790 of 9867 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 04:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,584
Rep: 38 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Source that 1002 was killing cpus at stock? I run 1002 and 3700x with -0.037 undervolt and voltages/temp doesnt look scary.
X570 aorus xtreme is reaching advertised (and more) clockspeed on 1003abb agesa... check hardwareun
boxed review, i think there's a lot to be sorted out
Ah btw folks, i wanted to point out that amd changed 2700x max boost on their website... from 4.350 to 4.3... and they also nerfed 2700x... prior to 3k bioses i was reaching 4.3 ghz in games, on 2501 bios 4225. (Pbo on)
@Reikoji

Well take that -offset taht typical JOE will never change then

In general have a good read with al links posted in this topic
https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/co...reduced_boost/


No sure If You been around when 1800x ware dying on stock sometimes. Basically Killing themeselves and This is 7nm and voltage is more or less same level. Add voltage overshot when it jumps around cores taht you can see only on osciloscope ect. I see cores getting hit with voltage brick at stock settings on them, bioses.
If I remember correct 3 people had broken/dead cpus just in c6H topic. Not in mood of spending 1 hour on search option. For interested have a search.

Basically same as @gupsterg I'm sitting on few forums and always eye catching when someone is like. My CPu is not boosting at all anymore or is crashing had to rma and got new one sort of a deal. And With Zen2 AMD pushed thopse chips to limits like never before. Zen1 and Zen+ ware not pushed this hard. I think they just Tried to deliver the As fast or faster promise. Previous 2 gens could have been overclocked all core to Single core boost -50/100mhz... I l;ook at this 3900x bootsts to 4576 theer is no way it to run 12x4500 or 12x4450 OR EVER 12x4400 not without pumping crazy for 7nm volts. And I do love pumping volts but no way in hell i would pump 1.4 volts in to this silicone for 24/7 use not when I'm rendering and mining with cpu.


In the end its up to User if he is willing to play around with RMA if hes CPU brakes. I know that noone had any problems with getting CPU replaced by AMD when they broke just matter of waiting for shipping ect without spare cpu can take some time. And If they are Willing to replace with no questions asked solution. I think its sor of an Calculated risk deal. AKA we pushe them to absolute stable MAximum Some weaker ones will pack up. But in the end most users will have a faster out of box CPU.


At lest I'm in position of having Free express deliveries as an Postal worker. Stuff dies boom next day 9am delivery or dhl express to wherever on planet So cost's Me nothing and is fast. And usually the Free RMA postage labels take time to sort out and are not fastest service.

Last edited by lordzed83; 08-25-2019 at 04:39 AM.
lordzed83 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
ComansoRowlett
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off