ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 939 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9381 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 05:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,669
Rep: 872 (Unique: 333)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
You wouldn't happen to know why my 2700X sees a drop in performance on BIOS versions after 2606 would you? Reduced memory bandwidth in Aida tests and reduced score in Cinebench 15? It's a drop of 100+ (around 120) points in Cinebench.
Both the CPU microcode and SMU FWs are identical between e.g. 2606 & 2703, so IMO it can only be configuration differences (PPT/TDC/EDC limits or so).
The Stilt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9382 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 05:35 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
oreonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,326
Rep: 99 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
Nice , added my mix to your great share Roger .
Please don't hate me for this Question @gupsterg . I swear once I get confident in doing this myself, I will. But is there anyway you can drop a C7H non Wifi of your "Mix"?

I prefer your fan adjustments, and am more confident in my ability to make the one change I need to to it. (Unless you want to go ahead and make the Critical Fan Speed 92c While your at it, lol)

Have no problem dropping you some Sheckles for your time!

-MattTheTech

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!
Offical Ryzen 9 3950x Owner!
DodekaZen3000
(34 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200Mhz (PC4 25600) - F4-3200C14D-16GFX (x2 Kits)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850/860 Evo (x3 Raid 0 Game Drive)
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB (x2 Raid 0 Storage Drive)
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray Burner (Model BH16NS40)
Optical Drive
5.25" to One 3.5" and One 2.25" Bay (Model Syba SY-MRA55006)
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 360mm Modular Cooler
Cooling
280mm Alphacool UT60
Cooling
280mm EKWB Coolstream CE
Cooling
Optimus Foundation AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
x2 Corsair Pump/Res Combo
Cooling
EKWB Acrylic 1080ti FTW Block
Cooling
Aquaero 6xt
Case
Old Jonesbo Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Samsung NU8000 55Inch TV (Its a 4k TV But I run in it 1440p 120hz)
Monitor
LG 1080p 34 Inch Diplay
Keyboard
Corsair k70 RGB Lux Mk2
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Razer Vespula V2
Audio
Custom Built 7.1 Surround System
Audio
HT-Omega eClaro 7.1 Sound Card
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Other
Aquantia 10Gb NIC
Other
LSI 9211-8i
Other
Oculus Rift HMD
Other
10 ML120 + 6 ML140 Corsair Maglev Fans
Other
Phanteks Halo aRGB LUX x5
▲ hide details ▲
oreonutz is online now  
post #9383 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 05:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,231
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
@The Stilt are 1CCD bins (3800x,3700x etc) binned that not all cores can reach 4.4ghz? with 46.49 on my 3700x only ccx 1 circle reaches 4.4 consistently, grey star reaches 4.450 sometimes, gold star barely reaches 4.4.
This after 2 hour of light thread gaming and browsing (league of legends,chrome) only +200 mhz is enabled, no PBO, ryzen power plan (3k series chipset driver, the one with 99% min)

p.s amd says PBO is aggressive... but if i remember correctly, PBO on zen+ basically made a 2700x perma run at 4.250-4.3 ghz while gaming, even multithreaded like assassin creed... while i am playing ac odyssey the max i see is 4225, the same clock speed of 2700x post precision boost nerf (and the change on their page to max boost 4.3)

Tryndamere
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
RTX 2080 SUPER
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz 32gb 3800 16-16-16-16-40-56-336 1t GDM on
Hard Drive
HGST enterprise 7200rpm 3tb
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold 750w
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 REVI 1909 R4 64bit
Monitor
Asus XG279Q 170hz
Keyboard
RantoPad mxx Gateron Brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx small
Audio
JBL LSR 305
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Synoxia; 09-09-2019 at 06:02 PM.
Synoxia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9384 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 06:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,669
Rep: 872 (Unique: 333)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
@The Stilt are 1CCD bins (3800x,3700x etc) binned that not all cores can reach 4.4ghz? with 46.49 on my 3700x only ccx 1 circle reaches 4.4 consistently, grey star reaches 4.450 sometimes, gold star barely reaches 4.4.
This after 2 hour of light thread gaming and browsing (league of legends,chrome) only +200 mhz is enabled, no PBO, ryzen power plan (3k series chipset driver, the one with 99% min)

p.s amd says PBO is aggressive... but if i remember correctly, PBO on zen+ basically made a 2700x perma run at 4.250-4.3 ghz while gaming, even multithreaded like assassin creed... while i am playing ac odyssey the max i see is 4225, the same clock speed of 2700x post precision boost nerf (and the change on their page to max boost 4.3)
I recall AMD admitting that not all cores within a CCD necessarily can do the advertised Fmax.

I think it was related to this: https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...ysis,6253.html
The Stilt is offline  
post #9385 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 06:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,919
Rep: 28 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Both the CPU microcode and SMU FWs are identical between e.g. 2606 & 2703, so IMO it can only be configuration differences (PPT/TDC/EDC limits or so).
Sigh. Unfortunately, I know that I always set those the same. I use Performance Enhancer 3 and set PPT to 1000 TDC to 1000 and EDC to 200. Literally, I key in every setting the same for each BIOS version. RAM timings and speed all the same. But performance after 2606 takes a hit. BIOS versions 2701, 2703, 0002 and your 0002 all behave the same in terms of RAM bandwidth in Aida and CPU performance in Cinebench 15. The only thing I can think of is maybe the Performance Bias/Cache settings? After 2606 they split the CB15 settings into Gentle and Aggressive. However, I set it to Geekbench/Aida, but maybe that setting doesn't do anything anymore?

At least you helped me rule some things out so I appreciate your help.

AMD Ryzen 3900X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/3 Corsair SP120L and 3 Noctua NF-F12 3000 fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  |  G.SKILL TridentZ 3600CL15 2x8GB @ 3800MHz 14-15-14-14-30  |  EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black w/NZXT Kraken G12 Cooler  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3 PSU | Thermaltake Core P3 Case 

Last edited by nick name; 09-09-2019 at 06:52 PM.
nick name is offline  
post #9386 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 06:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,231
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
I recall AMD admitting that not all cores within a CCD necessarily can do the advertised Fmax.

I think it was related to this: https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...ysis,6253.html
Only one core on our Ryzen 5 3600X processor will hit AMD's rated boost frequency. AMD confirmed some cores in Ryzen 3000-series processors are faster than others, which is denoted in Ryzen Master. That means that not all cores on can hit the single-core turbo frequencies. Instead, there are a mix of fast and slow cores.

AMD admited there are faster cores which is ok, zen+ was like that, but they didn't admit that not all cores are able to reach boost speed atleast according to this review. I thought that just 2CCD+ cpus had speed diversity... thought 3700x would work same as 2700x where all cores could 4.35ghz (one at time of course)

https://i.redd.it/543iuprz6c911.jpg 2700x boost for reference (spread spectrum makes it boost to 4.341 instead of 4350)

Tryndamere
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
RTX 2080 SUPER
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz 32gb 3800 16-16-16-16-40-56-336 1t GDM on
Hard Drive
HGST enterprise 7200rpm 3tb
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold 750w
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 REVI 1909 R4 64bit
Monitor
Asus XG279Q 170hz
Keyboard
RantoPad mxx Gateron Brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx small
Audio
JBL LSR 305
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Synoxia; 09-09-2019 at 06:59 PM.
Synoxia is offline  
post #9387 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 06:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,669
Rep: 872 (Unique: 333)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
Sigh. Unfortunately, I know that I always set those the same. I use Performance Enhancer 3 and set PPT to 1000 TDC to 1000 and EDC to 200. Literally, I key in every setting the same for each BIOS version. RAM timings and speed all the same. But performance after 2606 takes a hit. BIOS versions 2701, 2703, 0002 and your 0002 all behave the same in terms of RAM bandwidth in Aida and CPU performance in Cinebench 15. The only thing I can think of is maybe the Performance Bias/Cache settings? After 2606 they split the CB15 settings into Gentle and Aggressive. However, I set it to Geekbench/Aida, but maybe that setting doesn't do anything anymore?

At least you helped me rule some things out so I appreciate your help.
What about if you set Performance Enhancer to "default" and Performance Bias to "none"?
Any difference?
The Stilt is offline  
post #9388 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 07:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,231
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
What about if you set Performance Enhancer to "default" and Performance Bias to "none"?
Any difference?
1002 smu vs 1003ABBA SMU, same undervolt settings (-0.03100) what is going on here?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	clockspeed.png
Views:	64
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	294430  

Click image for larger version

Name:	0013abba.png
Views:	54
Size:	215.8 KB
ID:	294434  


Tryndamere
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
RTX 2080 SUPER
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz 32gb 3800 16-16-16-16-40-56-336 1t GDM on
Hard Drive
HGST enterprise 7200rpm 3tb
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold 750w
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 REVI 1909 R4 64bit
Monitor
Asus XG279Q 170hz
Keyboard
RantoPad mxx Gateron Brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx small
Audio
JBL LSR 305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
post #9389 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 07:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,919
Rep: 28 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
What about if you set Performance Enhancer to "default" and Performance Bias to "none"?
Any difference?
Honestly I wouldn't know without re-testing all of them. I'm familiar with my Cinebench score running with a 42.8 multiplier with PE 3 forcing it to hold throughout the test, but I've never run with only PBO. Your PE levels really are the best way to run a 2700X. On 2606 and previous BIOS versions my CB 15 score at 42.8 is 1970 ~ 1980. On any BIOS after it's around 1840 ~ 1850. And in Aida the Copy bandwidth suffers the most losing up to 4000 MB/s depending on RAM speed.

What I did just test is what Performance Bias set to none on 2606 would produce and that only lowered my CB 15 score by 20 points at a 42.8 multiplier and a negligible reduction in Aida bandwidth.

AMD Ryzen 3900X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/3 Corsair SP120L and 3 Noctua NF-F12 3000 fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  |  G.SKILL TridentZ 3600CL15 2x8GB @ 3800MHz 14-15-14-14-30  |  EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black w/NZXT Kraken G12 Cooler  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3 PSU | Thermaltake Core P3 Case 

Last edited by nick name; 09-09-2019 at 07:22 PM.
nick name is offline  
post #9390 of 11914 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 07:59 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
Rep: 33 (Unique: 22)
I'm really not doing any more tonight!

But I did try one last thing before bed - can this SMU get my memory running at 3800:1900:1900?

Answer is YES! Way too tired to try get stable, but have booted to bios several times, and twice to windows password login. Totally unstable, but previously it was totally un-bootable! Now I get a post beep every time I test more settings.

SoC is 1.11825v, CDDG 1.090v CL16.... I had completely given up on 1900 FCLK. Until now! Had to turn off GearDown before it booted strangely. I'm sure enabled with right timings if I need it. I'm pretty optimistic.

I wonder if this means others can increase their FCLKs? Will get stable tomorrow with lower volts if I can.

Current Bios - 3103

Also have Ryzen 5 3500U with Vega 8 GPU | Lenovo IdeaPad C340-14API | 8GB DDR4 2666 @ 2400 (for some reason) | Samsung 981 256GB NVME
About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!
There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't. F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Main Rig (AMIGA)
(16 items)
CPU
R9 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX RX580 Black Edition
RAM
Patriot Steel 32GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200PNP
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Optical Drive
ASUS Blueray
Power Supply
RM 1000X
Cooling
Fractal Design S36 AIO
Case
Core X5
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
Corsair K70 MkII
Mouse
Microsoft Hardware Wireless USB Mouse
Other
HTC Vive Cosmos VR
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (1 members and 4 guests)
oreonutz
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off