ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 947 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9461 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:18 AM
Overclocker
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,939
Rep: 155 (Unique: 92)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
I agree..and this is not just an AMD thing I had to do this on my intel boards as well but was rather quiet about it.
Only on Asus boards or also on other brands?

hurricane
(13 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 2600x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair hero 7
GPU
MSI GTX 970 gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 pro, 256 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master V850
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbaer 360
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248Q
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G900
Audio
logitech Z-2300
▲ hide details ▲
hurricane28 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9462 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 07:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 409
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Duvar View Post
If you look at my results you will see a significant drop in Vcore:

First picture during SC Test with old BIOS (2703)

Second picture with TheStilts new SMU 0002 mod:
Yes, quite lower, I used -0.1V offset before and now -0.04V and vcore is lower anyway.

Main rig(of five)
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
Case
NZXT H700 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 2004 Pro
Audio
Motu M2
▲ hide details ▲
xeizo is offline  
post #9463 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 07:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,233
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
Dude your are the reason people stop doing things like this.

We have given the reasons why it does not work. if you feel we all are wrong...then f'ing learn to do it yourself. Enough said I will not spend anymore time explaining it to your or others. I am DONE.
I can feel whatever way i want, again? Stop spreading your own frustration over me, you speak like i've been begging you 24/7 to do it which is simply not true.


Quote:
Tye key point is the setting when you disable it in the bios..then IT WOULD NOT APPEAR IN THE DEVICE MANAGER but yet it does and then using programs to test the timer being used showed us it was the timer being used. But then using the method I suggested show how to changed the timer used.
If it doesn't show in device manager it should be disabled. bcdedit /false should be used along bios toggle.


Quote: Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
Ok, now running the ABBA-SMU bios by gupsterg. Memory seems a little better, but boost is "worse". No reaching 4600MHz anymore. Did a baseline in Geekbench between both SMU:s(46.34 vs 46.49) same settings, it's really within the margin of error. Both are Auto OC so no manual sauce involved:

https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu...eline=14533245

Did you run cinebench MT while testing this? You have to use cinebench single core

Tryndamere
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
RTX 2080 SUPER
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz 32gb 3800 16-16-16-16-40-56-336 1t GDM on
Hard Drive
HGST enterprise 7200rpm 3tb
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold 750w
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 REVI 1909 R4 64bit
Monitor
Asus XG279Q 170hz
Keyboard
RantoPad mxx Gateron Brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx small
Audio
JBL LSR 305
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Synoxia; 09-11-2019 at 07:46 AM.
Synoxia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9464 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 07:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,670
Rep: 872 (Unique: 333)
Here's a tool which can both check HPET status and toggle it.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ag6oE4SOsCmDhWlr...RPWq0?e=EW5Vx7

"HPET Status" displays the current status, same as before.
"HPET" disables HPET and its memory decoding (at FED00000h).

Admin rights required, as usual.
I can make a quiet version too, that disables HPET directly without the window staying on the screen.
You could add it to the startup folder, so that its executed every time the system starts up.

Personally I see no need for disabling HPET, but anyway.

C7H is equipped with an external Pll, so the spread shouldn't be present anyhow.
There might be some autorules thou, which decide if the internal Pll or external Pll gets used.
Does the SB Spread Spectrum option in Extreme Tweaker not work?
The Stilt is offline  
post #9465 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 07:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 409
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Did you run cinebench MT while testing this? You have to use cinebench single core
It was a quick test, CB20 single core takes forever...
You can see single core in both cpuz and Geekbench in my screenshot.

However, if you read my next post after that too you should have seen scores improved when switching on PBO contrary to Auto OC in that screen.

6150 single core in Geekbench is really good.

Also, I like multicore benchmarks more as they stress the whole system and it's a twelve core not a single core P4 so multi is very relevant

Main rig(of five)
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
Case
NZXT H700 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 2004 Pro
Audio
Motu M2
▲ hide details ▲
xeizo is offline  
post #9466 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,233
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Here's a tool which can both check HPET status and toggle it.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ag6oE4SOsCmDhWlr...RPWq0?e=EW5Vx7

"HPET Status" displays the current status, same as before.
"HPET" disables HPET and its memory decoding (at FED00000h).

Admin rights required, as usual.
I can make a quiet version too, that disables HPET directly without the window staying on the screen.
You could add it to the startup folder, so that its executed every time the system starts up.

Personally I see no need for disabling HPET, but anyway.

C7H is equipped with an external Pll, so the spread shouldn't be present anyhow.
There might be some autorules thou, which decide if the internal Pll or external Pll gets used.
Does the SB Spread Spectrum option in Extreme Tweaker not work?
Thank you very much. Unfortunately though, as soon i reboot the system hpet becomes enabled again for some reason. Also ryzen master which should be using HPET works, and timer is still skewed at 0,4992

Tryndamere
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
RTX 2080 SUPER
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz 32gb 3800 16-16-16-16-40-56-336 1t GDM on
Hard Drive
HGST enterprise 7200rpm 3tb
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold 750w
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 REVI 1909 R4 64bit
Monitor
Asus XG279Q 170hz
Keyboard
RantoPad mxx Gateron Brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx small
Audio
JBL LSR 305
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Synoxia; 09-11-2019 at 08:10 AM.
Synoxia is offline  
post #9467 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,670
Rep: 872 (Unique: 333)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Thank you very much. Unfortunately though, as soon i reboot the system hpet becomes enabled again for some reason...
Naturally.
There is no way to make the change permanent, as AGESA will reinit it at reset.
Chaning it permanently would require access to the bios source, which obviously isn't possible to me.
The Stilt is offline  
post #9468 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,233
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Naturally.
There is no way to make the change permanent, as AGESA will reinit it at reset.
Chaning it permanently would require access to the bios source, which obviously isn't possible to me.

I see. Thank you anyway for you efforts. So unfortunate ASUS does this to their customers...

Tryndamere
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
RTX 2080 SUPER
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz 32gb 3800 16-16-16-16-40-56-336 1t GDM on
Hard Drive
HGST enterprise 7200rpm 3tb
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold 750w
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 REVI 1909 R4 64bit
Monitor
Asus XG279Q 170hz
Keyboard
RantoPad mxx Gateron Brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx small
Audio
JBL LSR 305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
post #9469 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,021
Rep: 30 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
I see. Thank you anyway for you efforts. So unfortunate ASUS does this to their customers...
Does what?

AMD Ryzen 3900X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/3 Corsair SP120L and 3 Noctua NF-F12 3000 fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  |  G.SKILL TridentZ 3600CL15 2x8GB @ 3800MHz 14-15-14-14-30  |  EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black w/NZXT Kraken G12 Cooler  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3 PSU | Thermaltake Core P3 Case 
nick name is online now  
post #9470 of 12021 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,670
Rep: 872 (Unique: 333)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
I see. Thank you anyway for you efforts. So unfortunate ASUS does this to their customers...
In my opinion it has nothing to do with ASUS.
By default HPET and Spread Spectrum (for internal Pll) are enabled in AGESA and AMD has implemented their control through a debug menu, which isn't intended to the end-users.
The debug menu also appears to a remainder of old reference code, since it is clear that it isn't working.

Since these options (HPET and SSC) are supposed to be enabled at all times (at default), implementing control for them would require custom code from ASUS side.
Sure, they can be disabled at bios build time, but obviously you cannot disable these features in public bios builds.

Are there any AM4 motherboards from any ODM, which would provide a functional HPET control?
The Stilt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off