ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 951 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9501 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 04:06 PM
AMD Enthusiast
 
CCoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 74
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
there are two options in the bios. Under Chipset then South Bridge---->SB Debug Configuration-----> SB MISC DEBUG The two options are HPET in SB and MsiDIS in HPET

I am currently modding Gursterp bios to open up more options this is the C7H Wifi if you have that board I can send it to you in bit when I finally finish it up.

@oreonutz I should have some cookies for you tomorrow sometime.
Interested in this mod as well, thanks again for your hard work! It's very appreciated!
CCoR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9502 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 04:15 PM
Stuck in the past
 
mtrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,118
Rep: 35 (Unique: 21)
C7H WIFI 002+ bios based on Gursterg 1.0.0.3 ABBA SMU FW change. /EDIT updated link to provide actual flashable modded bios. I did something with it AMIBCP and did not noticed when I resaved it it has stripped the secure capsule signing out of the save. Fixed now. Sorry that I did not catch it mis-behaving and doing that.

Donwload: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ur...HNZeNh86pWT6bB

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif


Sabertooth 990 FX R 2.0 FX 8120 BL ED. B2 Rev Can over clocked to 5.0( Normally run at 4.4 Ghz )
2 x 8 Gb Corsair Vengence 1600 Ram EVGA Supernova 1050 GS Gold PSU Logitech G502 Proteus Gaming Mouse
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290X x2 CM Storm Trooper Case
SteelSeries Apex Gaming Keyboard SteelSeries Stealth Merc Keyboard (1 broke key)
Several Sata HDs CM Seidron 120 AIO Closed Liquid Cooler
Disabled so not a ton of money.

Last edited by mtrai; 09-13-2019 at 06:06 AM.
mtrai is offline  
post #9503 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 04:20 PM
AMD Enthusiast
 
CCoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 74
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
C7H WIFI 002+ bios based on Gursterg 1.0.0.3 ABBA SMU FW change.

Donwload: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ur...HNZeNh86pWT6bB
You the man!
Rebooting. .
CCoR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9504 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 04:31 PM
AMD Enthusiast
 
CCoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 74
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by CCoR View Post
You the man!
Rebooting. .
Hmm USB flashback wont take

NOTE: Just flashed stilts new ABBA and that worked fine. Dont think its the USB drive/formatting.

Last edited by CCoR; 09-12-2019 at 04:48 PM.
CCoR is offline  
post #9505 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
boatmurder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ajlueke View Post
I had a similar issue, if I set the RAM clock on the main UEFI page, auto scaling of infinity fabric and northbridge did not work. If I set the RAM speed on the main page, and also set it in the AMD Overclocking menu, then Infinity Fabric and northbridge scale normally up to 3600 MHz. I had to set it in both places for the auto scaling. Everything else can be set in "Extreme Tweaker" (timings). All FCLK settings can be left on auto unless you are planning on going over 3600 MHz.

I currently have my Corsair Dominator kit (4X8GB) at 3600 CL16, 1.35V and it scales correctly on the fabric (1800MHz) and northbridge (1800MHz in CPUz)
My board seems to be special kind of troll.
Getting clocks to sync the way you described did not work, but you and xeizo with his DOCP comment on another reply still inspired me to poke around for different solutions.
And i've found one.

DOCP off (AI Overclock Tuner set to "default")
Set memory frequency and fclk in the Extreme Tweaker tab.
Set memory frequency as well as timings (hexadecimal!) in Advanced Tab - strictly speaking i am not certain setting the memory freq here again matters. Works for now, anyway.

pictured CL14 3400 did not boot successfully, but 3466 CL16 (15 with geardown rounding it up i assume) has passed preliminary testing and i'm below 70ns latency for the first time on zen2


The DDR-Timing settings provided in the extreme tweaker menu MUST NOT BE TOUCHED for my board if i want to run more than 3200MHz with 1:1, or it will go back to getting stuck on random post codes and begging for Reset CMOS.
Curiously, running less than 3200MHz with FCLK-setting and timings in extreme tweaker does work as expected. This 2703 ABB Bios is all kinds of messed up.

Last edited by boatmurder; 09-13-2019 at 01:59 AM.
boatmurder is offline  
post #9506 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 38
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by crakej View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by edu616 View Post
How do you test for infinity fabric latency? Right now I have stable 3,734 speeds with FCLK at 1,867, MCLK at 1,867 and UCLK==MCLK. I was able to change this last one using F9 as I wasn’️t able to find it otherwise (UCLK however I do not now if it actually applied as when I saved it did not state that it changed). I have it with CL 16 timings but I do have Samsung B-Die so I should be able to get better timings. I just need to know how to check the latency to make sure that the UCLK settings was actually applied and I’️m running 1:1. Thanks!
You just need to set FCLK on the extreme tweaker page - leave the other ones you found....

Also, instead of using DOCP, leave that setting on auto, and enter your memory settings manually, from the extreme tweaker menu as well.
Thanks for the reply, with the setting I mentioned I’m getting 65.7ns in AIDA64 test so not bad.
edu616 is offline  
post #9507 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 11:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thedotlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
*ignore - found them after logging in*
thedotlair is offline  
post #9508 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 02:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,016
Rep: 55 (Unique: 23)
This is with Core performance boost and and Performance enhancement (Level3(OC)) also enabled. EDIT: Core performance boost actually not necessary, its all Performance enhancer.

I am pleased with ABBA.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019.09.13-03.53.png
Views:	63
Size:	949.2 KB
ID:	295262  


Don't forget to ground yourself

https://valid.x86.fr/9ly8hi

Last edited by Reikoji; 09-13-2019 at 02:52 AM.
Reikoji is offline  
post #9509 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 03:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AvengedRobix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 196
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by mtrai View Post
C7H WIFI 002+ bios based on Gursterg 1.0.0.3 ABBA SMU FW change.



Donwload: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ur...HNZeNh86pWT6bB
Don't work and not flashable

Inviato dal mio ONEPLUS A6013 utilizzando Tapatalk

My Best:
Fire Strike: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/19149242 - 33201
Fire Strike Extreme : https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17170615 - 19951
Fire Strike Ultra : https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17170668 - 10455
TimeSpy : https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6975925 - 17287
TimeSpy Extreme : https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6976008 - 7978
AvengedRobix is offline  
post #9510 of 9844 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 05:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ajlueke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by boatmurder View Post
My board seems to be special kind of troll.
Getting clocks to sync the way you described did not work, but you and xeizo with his DOCP comment on another reply still inspired me to poke around for different solutions.
And i've found one.

DOCP off (AI Overclock Tuner set to "default")
Set memory frequency and fclk in the Extreme Tweaker tab.
Set memory frequency as well as timings (hexadecimal!) in Advanced Tab - strictly speaking i am not certain setting the memory freq here again matters. Works for now, anyway.

pictured CL14 3400 did not boot successfully, but 3466 CL16 (15 with geardown rounding it up i assume) has passed preliminary testing and i'm below 70ns latency for the first time on zen2


The DDR-Timing settings provided in the extreme tweaker menu MUST NOT BE TOUCHED for my board if i want to run more than 3200MHz with 1:1, or it will go back to getting stuck on random post codes and begging for Reset CMOS.
Curiously, running less than 3200MHz with FCLK-setting and timings in extreme tweaker does work as expected. This 2703 ABB Bios is all kinds of messed up.
Hmm, setting the timings in extreme tweaker always works fine for me. I should add that I also set ProcODT to 40 ohms in extreme tweaker, and set the DRAM boot voltage to 1.35V in the Digi menu.
ajlueke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (0 members and 7 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off