ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread - Page 957 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VII overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9561 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 07:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,410
Rep: 16 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
No.
ZP PMU FW has been the same since AGESA 1.0.0.6 (PinnaclePi) bios, build 1103.
Sigh. Intellectually, I knew that. But the bit of me that buys lotto tickets still had his fingers crossed.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9562 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 08:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
boatmurder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Y2BNE1 View Post
C7H WIFI 2703 bios with 3800X and 64GB of RAM
my recent experience https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...l#post28125516
tl/dr turn of DOCP (reset to defaults to be sure), manually set timings through AMD overclocking menu instead of extreme tweaker, manually set DRAM and FCLK frequency and DRAM voltage.

i still get good boosting behavior. Single threaded tasks like cinebench 1T or Dwarf Fortress worldgen will switch between cores and hit 4.45GHz on all of them. Cinebench MT runs at 4.275GHz, prime95 dynamically changes from around 4.325 to 4.125 depending on the specific test. (it's fun to watch voltages go down and current go up / vice versa). *
I'm planning to write a simple graph to track frequency over time, atm i'm just tracking frequency by watching a report of _current_ frequency from "watch -n 0.5 cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq" terminal output, lol. Geekbench report says there ought to be a few 4.475 moments in there at least.

* these are all stock without pbo, increased frequency limit or anything else.
your mileage will vary here. I've got an average or slightly below average 3800X for clocks according to the silicon lottery stats.

Last edited by boatmurder; 09-15-2019 at 09:10 PM.
boatmurder is offline  
post #9563 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 09:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Y2BNE1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
The PMU FW (IMC) has changed recently.
Probably could do a hybrid build, but I have to try few things first since the new PMU uses decryption keys whereas the old one didn't.
Would this mean that newer bios (2703) has PMU Firmware that does not work well with my ram? FYI, if i simply remove 2 sticks (down to 32GB) everything works without any issues.

Quote: Originally Posted by boatmurder View Post
my recent experience https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...l#post28125516
tl/dr turn of DOCP (reset to defaults to be sure), manually set timings through AMD overclocking menu instead of extreme tweaker, manually set DRAM and FCLK frequency and DRAM voltage.

i still get good boosting behavior. Single threaded tasks like cinebench 1T or Dwarf Fortress worldgen will switch between cores and hit 4.45GHz on all of them. Cinebench MT runs at 4.275GHz, prime95 dynamically changes from around 4.325 to 4.125 depending on the specific test. (it's fun to watch voltages go down and current go up / vice versa). *
I'm planning to write a simple graph to track frequency over time, atm i'm just tracking frequency by watching a report of _current_ frequency from "watch -n 0.5 cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq" terminal output, lol. Geekbench report says there ought to be a few 4.475 moments in there at least.


* your mileage will vary here. I've got an average or slightly below average 3800X for clocks according to the silicon lottery stats.
Just tried that, and does not seem to help in my case with my random freezes/qcodes. I don't actually have problem booting OS, but overall 2703 or 0002-FI has much more random freezes and crashes when compared to 2501 BIOS.

For me, to reliably show issues:

1. Boot OS and then restart, BIOS would usually get stuck on 1F code, and to get back to normal I just need to reset the box.
2. Start prime95 Large FFTs and windows usually crashes within few minutes (video just disappears, but it appears that whatever operation was started continues to run)

None of these are issues when I use 2501 bios.
Y2BNE1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9564 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 09:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 149
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I've had no crashes with 0002M-FIE, but boost is worse, it looks like 50MHz lower overall on every core compared to 0002+. Or 2501 which has the same SMU.

But benchmark scores are overall the same or sometimes better, single core looks to have improved some.

The bios is hard locked at 145W power and 98A current no matter what settings, only way to improve scores is to lower temps. Or turn to manual OC of course.

The 5220 Beta for the Prime-boards which is a full ABBA-bios boosts way better than this SMU-modded bios, so there is hope for the next official bios.

AMD Ryzen R9 3900X | Corsair H150i Pro | Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero (bios 2801 "ABBA") | MSI GTX1080Ti @AIO Water(Arctic Cooling)
32GB(2x16) G.SKill Trident Z RGB @3800(16-16-16-30-42-1T DR B-Die) 1:1:1 | Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB | Corsair RM850x | NZXT H700

Last edited by xeizo; 09-16-2019 at 09:52 AM.
xeizo is offline  
post #9565 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 12:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 55 (Unique: 23)
Quote: Originally Posted by speedgoat View Post
you guys, you think you might have pushed the boost a wee bit too much maybe ?

all good so far, on The Stilt's modded bios with 3800X, im not sure im seeing much lower temps but somehow i can run 3800C15 more reliably

Thank you!
Ryzen 5ghz confirmed !

Don't forget to ground yourself

https://valid.x86.fr/9ly8hi
Reikoji is offline  
post #9566 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 12:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
I've had no crashes with 0002M-FIE, but boost is worse, it looks like 50MHz lower overall on every core compared to 0002+. Or 2501 which has the same SMU.

But benchmark scores are overall the same or sometimes better, single core looks to have improved some.

The bios is hard locked at 145W power and 98A current no matter what settings, only way to improve scores is to lower temps. Or turn to manual OC of course.

The 5220 Beta for the Prime-boards which is a full ABBA-bios boosts way better than this SMU-modded bios, so there is hope for the next official bios.
I have crashes on this bios and 2703 too on ram and fclk set to 3800MHz, it can run for long in prime, cinbench and karhu ram test for 3 hours, but as soon I will test cinebench in single core mode it crashes. The same situation is in bios with manual OC to 4.2GHz allcore regardless of voltage which freezes in bios, but can run in prime. The other things are those cold boots. I didn't test it on 2501 yet, but compared to my new 3900X, 2700X was rock solid in both manual OC and PBO with rams set to 3600CL14(I have 2x16GB micron edies) and I never had to use clear cmos button, sometimes even to boot.

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Crosshair VII Hero, bios: 0002M-FIE | 2x16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200CL16 Micron E-die @ 3733MHz 16-19-14-9-36-56 trfc 550 | Samsung 970 Pro | Noctua D15 | Corsair RM750X
Pietro is offline  
post #9567 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 12:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 55 (Unique: 23)
Were Precision boost overdrive wattage and current limits manually adjustable the same way before Zen 2 launched for Zen +?

Don't forget to ground yourself

https://valid.x86.fr/9ly8hi
Reikoji is offline  
post #9568 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 01:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 149
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Reikoji View Post
Were Precision boost overdrive wattage and current limits manually adjustable the same way before Zen 2 launched for Zen +?
No, there are a lot less settings if you pop in a Zen+

AMD Ryzen R9 3900X | Corsair H150i Pro | Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero (bios 2801 "ABBA") | MSI GTX1080Ti @AIO Water(Arctic Cooling)
32GB(2x16) G.SKill Trident Z RGB @3800(16-16-16-30-42-1T DR B-Die) 1:1:1 | Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB | Corsair RM850x | NZXT H700
xeizo is offline  
post #9569 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 02:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AmxdPt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 101
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Is there any news about the new 1.0.0.3 ABBA for the Crosshair 7 hero? Not even a beta?
AmxdPt is offline  
post #9570 of 9838 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 03:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pietro View Post
I have crashes on this bios and 2703 too on ram and fclk set to 3800MHz, it can run for long in prime, cinbench and karhu ram test for 3 hours, but as soon I will test cinebench in single core mode it crashes. The same situation is in bios with manual OC to 4.2GHz allcore regardless of voltage which freezes in bios, but can run in prime. The other things are those cold boots. I didn't test it on 2501 yet, but compared to my new 3900X, 2700X was rock solid in both manual OC and PBO with rams set to 3600CL14(I have 2x16GB micron edies) and I never had to use clear cmos button, sometimes even to boot.
Tested 2501 the same behaviour. I'm really not happy that I can't do 1900MHz on FCLK with 3900X which supposed to be higher binned chip and when it is everything fine in stress test unless one single thread is loaded a bit heavier on stock. Ram is stable since I was testing it

For those that have 2x16GB or 4x8GB what are your settings to get FCLK to work on 1900MHz?
SOC 1.10625V tried higher up to 1.125V, but no change, LLC 5.
CLDO VDDG 1.050V so max Stilt wrote tested 1.075V still froze in bios.
CLDO VDDP 1.050V
Any sugestions hot to get it work again on 1900 inifnity?

RAM is stable on both 3733MHz and 3800MHz in 1:1:1, tested 5000% in karhu software, almost the same timings and I can't lower on 3733MHz than what I have on 3800MHz.

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Crosshair VII Hero, bios: 0002M-FIE | 2x16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200CL16 Micron E-die @ 3733MHz 16-19-14-9-36-56 trfc 550 | Samsung 970 Pro | Noctua D15 | Corsair RM750X
Pietro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
Dhalgren65 , zaubara
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off