(Official MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC motherboard - Page 16 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Official MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC motherboard

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 09:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CoolZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 68
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Using this board for quite some time now, with a Ryzen 7 2700X; pretty happy with it, except the memory compatibility issues. I do have currently installed a Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200 (4x8GB kit) on it and I could only get full stability while running at 2933MHz. If I get any higher, the two USBs driven by the CPU keep disconnecting randomly, which is very annoying. Tried to adjust the SoC voltage, used Ryzen Memory Calculator, used Memory Try It!, entered manual timings, same issue with the USBs (except at 2933).

Later, I have tried to replace the Trident Z RGB kit with a brand new DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB from Corsair (C16, 1.35V, 3666MHz, 4x8GB); tried everything again, but even if I have got full stability in Memtest by using Ryzen Memory Calculator, the two USBs also keep disconnecting randomly, which is very, very annoying. On some other forums, people are experiencing USB disconnects even on the 1st generation Ryzen and they link it to memory instability.

Anyone else has had issues with the USB ports disconnecting? These are the two ones above the WiFi ports.

Thanks!
CoolZone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 11:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PrivotSponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
I have the kingston hyper x 3600 cl 17 32 GB kit (4x 8 gb)
They run at 3333 Mhz. If i use only two modules, i can hit 3600 mhz cl 16 and even 3733 mhz cl 16 (not fully stable).

With usb, i don't have issues (i use all usb ports).
Do you have these problems also with 2600 mhz?
Perhaps you can try to use only 16 gb ram.

I will sell two of the modules.

Edit: Have you changed bclk?
If i set something above 100 Mhz, i get problems with my HDDSs. A few of them won't show up in BIOS.

Last edited by PrivotSponge; 03-06-2019 at 02:21 AM.
PrivotSponge is offline  
post #153 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 10:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CoolZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 68
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by PrivotSponge View Post
I have the kingston hyper x 3600 cl 17 32 GB kit (4x 8 gb)
They run at 3333 Mhz. If i use only two modules, i can hit 3600 mhz cl 16 and even 3733 mhz cl 16 (not fully stable).

With usb, i don't have issues (i use all usb ports).
Do you have these problems also with 2600 mhz?
Perhaps you can try to use only 16 gb ram.

I will sell two of the modules.

Edit: Have you changed bclk?
If i set something above 100 Mhz, i get problems with my HDDSs. A few of them won't show up in BIOS.
At 2666MHz the kit works fine....16GB RAM is no-go for me since I do need more RAM to do my projects. Also running the latest BIOS; tried both RAM kits on my Z370/9700K Intel system and all kits run fine at XMP, without the need of any extra adjustments.
CoolZone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 03:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alefim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Blumenau - SC, Brazil
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by CoolZone View Post
At 2666MHz the kit works fine....16GB RAM is no-go for me since I do need more RAM to do my projects. Also running the latest BIOS; tried both RAM kits on my Z370/9700K Intel system and all kits run fine at XMP, without the need of any extra adjustments.

The most correct is to buy a set of 16gb each, in the site of the motherboard has some compatable models.

I bought the model F4-3600C16D-16GTZR and it works at 3600 CL 14 at 1.47v without problems.
alefim is offline  
post #155 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 03:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
New beta bios is out some MSI mobo you might have and risk at your own.

New AGESA code now Combo-AM4 0.0.7.2 for future new CPU.

Just flashed mine and pix below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bios.JPG
Views:	17
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	258070  

Attached Images
   
dgoc18 is offline  
post #156 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-09-2019, 03:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 460
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by CoolZone View Post

Anyone else has had issues with the USB ports disconnecting? These are the two ones above the WiFi ports.

Thanks!
Not the same motherboard but I experienced issues on some of the USB ports on my gigabyte motherboard when I was trying to run above 3600Mhz memory OC (3666, 3733mhz, 3800mhz) It was mostly my Logitech gampad that would stop responding until I changed the port used.
I use a Ryzen 7 1700.
Though there were always something not optimal running those speeds on that mobo/cpu. So I changed the motherboard but this one is utter crap on RAM.

NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)
Nighthog is offline  
post #157 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
os2wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 2,324
Rep: 61 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by CoolZone View Post
Using this board for quite some time now, with a Ryzen 7 2700X; pretty happy with it, except the memory compatibility issues. I do have currently installed a Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200 (4x8GB kit) on it and I could only get full stability while running at 2933MHz. If I get any higher, the two USBs driven by the CPU keep disconnecting randomly, which is very annoying. Tried to adjust the SoC voltage, used Ryzen Memory Calculator, used Memory Try It!, entered manual timings, same issue with the USBs (except at 2933).

Later, I have tried to replace the Trident Z RGB kit with a brand new DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB from Corsair (C16, 1.35V, 3666MHz, 4x8GB); tried everything again, but even if I have got full stability in Memtest by using Ryzen Memory Calculator, the two USBs also keep disconnecting randomly, which is very, very annoying. On some other forums, people are experiencing USB disconnects even on the 1st generation Ryzen and they link it to memory instability.

Anyone else has had issues with the USB ports disconnecting? These are the two ones above the WiFi ports.

Thanks!
I hope you realize occupying all 4 dimm slots is a sure way to limit your memory throughput. It would have been better to get two 16GB dimms rather than four 8gb dimms. You defeated your self by the memory configuration you chose. I would say it is a self-inflicted wound. If you had bothered to read the multitude of data on memory compatibility on Zen + or Ryzen 2 motherboards you would have never bought the 4 dimms to get 32 MB.

Technology is NOT a liberator . Whom technology serves is a class question.
Technology wielded by the capitalist class benefits only the exploiters.
Technology wielded by the working class will serve ALL Humanity.
Ryzen 2700X at 4.2 GHZ, MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC motherboard, AlphaCool Eisbaer 360 cpu AIO cooler
16 GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 4266mhz CL-19-19-19-39 1.40v Samsung 960 EVO m.2 NVMe 512 GB
MSI Gaming X GEForce GTX 1080 Ti
os2wiz is offline  
post #158 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 05:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
os2wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 2,324
Rep: 61 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by CoolZone View Post
Using this board for quite some time now, with a Ryzen 7 2700X; pretty happy with it, except the memory compatibility issues. I do have currently installed a Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200 (4x8GB kit) on it and I could only get full stability while running at 2933MHz. If I get any higher, the two USBs driven by the CPU keep disconnecting randomly, which is very annoying. Tried to adjust the SoC voltage, used Ryzen Memory Calculator, used Memory Try It!, entered manual timings, same issue with the USBs (except at 2933).

Later, I have tried to replace the Trident Z RGB kit with a brand new DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB from Corsair (C16, 1.35V, 3666MHz, 4x8GB); tried everything again, but even if I have got full stability in Memtest by using Ryzen Memory Calculator, the two USBs also keep disconnecting randomly, which is very, very annoying. On some other forums, people are experiencing USB disconnects even on the 1st generation Ryzen and they link it to memory instability.

Anyone else has had issues with the USB ports disconnecting? These are the two ones above the WiFi ports.

Thanks!
Quote: Originally Posted by alefim View Post
The most correct is to buy a set of 16gb each, in the site of the motherboard has some compatable models.

I bought the model F4-3600C16D-16GTZR and it works at 3600 CL 14 at 1.47v without problems.
1.47 volts is excessive and will definitely degrade the life expectancy and performance of your memory over time.

Technology is NOT a liberator . Whom technology serves is a class question.
Technology wielded by the capitalist class benefits only the exploiters.
Technology wielded by the working class will serve ALL Humanity.
Ryzen 2700X at 4.2 GHZ, MSI X470 Gaming M7 AC motherboard, AlphaCool Eisbaer 360 cpu AIO cooler
16 GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 4266mhz CL-19-19-19-39 1.40v Samsung 960 EVO m.2 NVMe 512 GB
MSI Gaming X GEForce GTX 1080 Ti
os2wiz is offline  
post #159 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 05:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 303
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by dgoc18 View Post
New beta bios is out some MSI mobo you might have and risk at your own.

New AGESA code now Combo-AM4 0.0.7.2 for future new CPU.

Just flashed mine and pix below.
PBO works? on Asus boards it broke PBO and only Ryzen master can raise the power limits to make it work.
Hwgeek is offline  
post #160 of 167 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 08:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Water
Posts: 1,057
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hwgeek View Post
PBO works? on Asus boards it broke PBO and only Ryzen master can raise the power limits to make it work.
My PBO is borked on bios 7B77v18 newest on MSI site for this board. Worst part is I cannot downgrade the bios, even tried FLashback+ , msi support said I should
send in my board.
Name Change is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off