Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread - Page 108 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1071 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 03:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
arkantos91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 66
Rep: 0
Thanks for your help guys.

A little update: tried both sticks in my friend's computer. This guy has a B450 Asus board: the good stick worked as inteded, the bad stick didn't even make the computer post at startup!

Then I had the chance to try my ram in another friend's computer, this time a Gigabyte X470 board (like mine, even if not the same exact model) and the behavior was very similar to the one I have on my computer. The PC starts and gets to Windows with the faulty 8 GB stick but doing a memtest86 causes the pc to reboot.

The only thing that still does not convince me is the fact the sometimes it takes a little bit longer for the memtest to fail... sometimes it fails very quickly, other times it takes a minute or so. The answer I gave to myself it's that probably there is some "sector" of the ram that is damaged, and when that is accessed, the freeze occurs.

I have to go through the RMA process now and really don't know how much time it will take.... so in the meantime I bought some 4000 MHz Kingston (HX440C19PB3K2_16). I know they won't ever go to that speed but they're B-die so they should be a little better at least.

These are Kingston too, let's hope for the best-

My Gaming Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen+ R7 2700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WiFi
GPU
ROG STRIX RTX 2080TI OC
RAM
2×8 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Predator 4000 MHz B-die
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 250 Gb
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 TG
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Keyboard
Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Mouse
BenQ ZOWIE FK2
▲ hide details ▲
arkantos91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1072 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-20-2019, 12:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
arkantos91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 66
Rep: 0
Got my 4000 MHz yesterday and had a little bit of time to try them.

Unlike with my old ones, which were also Kingston, 3600 MHz but M-die, (blue screen in idling Windows even at 3200 MHz!) I was able to use my PC with first XMP profile (which is already 3600 MHz!).

I guess B-die does make a huge difference! PUBG proved to be an issue, having it crashed a few times, but it's well known it's very sensitive to fast memory.

Tried lowering them to 3400 with Ryzen Dram Calculator timings and even PUBG run fine.

Now I'm going to try again 3600 with Ryzen Dram Calculator timings instead of the built in XMP profile (since it's Intel certified I think)... I bet they can work even at 3600!

My Gaming Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen+ R7 2700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WiFi
GPU
ROG STRIX RTX 2080TI OC
RAM
2×8 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Predator 4000 MHz B-die
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 250 Gb
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 TG
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Keyboard
Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Mouse
BenQ ZOWIE FK2
▲ hide details ▲
arkantos91 is offline  
post #1073 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 02:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 387
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
After boot and into windows, does anyone elses Debug LED show d3? Or does it stay on AA? Mine kind of flashes for some reason.

THUMPer1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1074 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 02:42 PM
Graphic Card Addiction
 
Hequaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,662
Rep: 175 (Unique: 122)
Quote: Originally Posted by THUMPer1 View Post
After boot and into windows, does anyone elses Debug LED show d3? Or does it stay on AA? Mine kind of flashes for some reason.
Mine shows 30 atm....

Offical Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!

=[Official] Ryzen-5-Owners-Club 2600X=

MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
Panzerkampfwagen
(21 items)
CPU
Ryzen Zen 2 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3466C16D-16GTZR([email protected] 1.38v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVMe 250gb(OS)
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP500 M.2 NVMe 120GB(Benchmark Programs)
Hard Drive
PNY XLR8 Gaming CS2211 SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1tb (External)Back Up
Hard Drive
Seagate Firecuda 2tb(Steam/Games) ST2000DX002-2DV164
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1tb (Games)
Hard Drive
TeamGroup Delta RGB 1tb 5v Header
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36 Blackout Edition
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon's 120mm[3][2 Intake][1 Exhaust]
Case
Cougar Panzer S
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer KG271 Cbmidpx 27" Main Monitor 144mhz
Monitor
Acer S271HL 27" Secondary Monitor
Keyboard
Gigabyte Mechanical Cherry Blue Keyboard (GK-FORCE K83 BLUE)
Mouse
Kensington Pro Fit
Other
ENHANCE Pro Gaming Mouse Bungee Cable Holder 4 Port USB Hub with 7 LED Modes
▲ hide details ▲


Hequaqua is offline  
post #1075 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 05:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 387
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hequaqua View Post
Mine shows 30 atm....
That's weird. I changed a few other things in BIOS, namely I set PCIE to 3.0 now it says AA in windows. My old MSI Z77 board did a cool thing, after boot the LED showed CPU temp. Clever feature.

THUMPer1 is offline  
post #1076 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 05:38 PM
Graphic Card Addiction
 
Hequaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,662
Rep: 175 (Unique: 122)
Quote: Originally Posted by THUMPer1 View Post
That's weird. I changed a few other things in BIOS, namely I set PCIE to 3.0 now it says AA in windows. My old MSI Z77 board did a cool thing, after boot the LED showed CPU temp. Clever feature.
I ran some ram tests...went back to my old timings...now it shows A0....lol

Offical Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!

=[Official] Ryzen-5-Owners-Club 2600X=

MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
Panzerkampfwagen
(21 items)
CPU
Ryzen Zen 2 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3466C16D-16GTZR([email protected] 1.38v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVMe 250gb(OS)
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP500 M.2 NVMe 120GB(Benchmark Programs)
Hard Drive
PNY XLR8 Gaming CS2211 SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1tb (External)Back Up
Hard Drive
Seagate Firecuda 2tb(Steam/Games) ST2000DX002-2DV164
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1tb (Games)
Hard Drive
TeamGroup Delta RGB 1tb 5v Header
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36 Blackout Edition
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon's 120mm[3][2 Intake][1 Exhaust]
Case
Cougar Panzer S
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer KG271 Cbmidpx 27" Main Monitor 144mhz
Monitor
Acer S271HL 27" Secondary Monitor
Keyboard
Gigabyte Mechanical Cherry Blue Keyboard (GK-FORCE K83 BLUE)
Mouse
Kensington Pro Fit
Other
ENHANCE Pro Gaming Mouse Bungee Cable Holder 4 Port USB Hub with 7 LED Modes
▲ hide details ▲


Hequaqua is offline  
post #1077 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 06:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 387
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hequaqua View Post
I ran some ram tests...went back to my old timings...now it shows A0....lol
I wonder if it's bugged. Mine went back to flashing d3 and d2 after some gaming.

THUMPer1 is offline  
post #1078 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 08:01 PM
Graphic Card Addiction
 
Hequaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,662
Rep: 175 (Unique: 122)
Quote: Originally Posted by THUMPer1 View Post
I wonder if it's bugged. Mine went back to flashing d3 and d2 after some gaming.
I never really paid it much attention unless I can't boot....lol

Offical Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!

=[Official] Ryzen-5-Owners-Club 2600X=

MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
Panzerkampfwagen
(21 items)
CPU
Ryzen Zen 2 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3466C16D-16GTZR([email protected] 1.38v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVMe 250gb(OS)
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP500 M.2 NVMe 120GB(Benchmark Programs)
Hard Drive
PNY XLR8 Gaming CS2211 SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1tb (External)Back Up
Hard Drive
Seagate Firecuda 2tb(Steam/Games) ST2000DX002-2DV164
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1tb (Games)
Hard Drive
TeamGroup Delta RGB 1tb 5v Header
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36 Blackout Edition
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon's 120mm[3][2 Intake][1 Exhaust]
Case
Cougar Panzer S
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer KG271 Cbmidpx 27" Main Monitor 144mhz
Monitor
Acer S271HL 27" Secondary Monitor
Keyboard
Gigabyte Mechanical Cherry Blue Keyboard (GK-FORCE K83 BLUE)
Mouse
Kensington Pro Fit
Other
ENHANCE Pro Gaming Mouse Bungee Cable Holder 4 Port USB Hub with 7 LED Modes
▲ hide details ▲


Hequaqua is offline  
post #1079 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 06:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 387
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hequaqua View Post
I never really paid it much attention unless I can't boot....lol
I posted on the GB forums, someone replied it flashes d3 when I have ryzen master open, which is true. It starts goofing up when ryzen master is up. Mystery solved!

THUMPer1 is offline  
post #1080 of 1173 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 06:29 AM
Graphic Card Addiction
 
Hequaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,662
Rep: 175 (Unique: 122)
Quote: Originally Posted by THUMPer1 View Post
I posted on the GB forums, someone replied it flashes d3 when I have ryzen master open, which is true. It starts goofing up when ryzen master is up. Mystery solved!
Cool...I'll have to look as well.

Mine is not the same......

When booting I see AA while Windows is loading. Once I'm in Windows it shows A0. If I open RM it's F8(it will show F8 even if I don't apply anything via RM until I restart). If I apply any settings via RM(that doesn't require a restart) it show as OC.

What bios version are you on?

Offical Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!

=[Official] Ryzen-5-Owners-Club 2600X=

MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
Panzerkampfwagen
(21 items)
CPU
Ryzen Zen 2 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3466C16D-16GTZR([email protected] 1.38v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVMe 250gb(OS)
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP500 M.2 NVMe 120GB(Benchmark Programs)
Hard Drive
PNY XLR8 Gaming CS2211 SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1tb (External)Back Up
Hard Drive
Seagate Firecuda 2tb(Steam/Games) ST2000DX002-2DV164
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1tb (Games)
Hard Drive
TeamGroup Delta RGB 1tb 5v Header
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36 Blackout Edition
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon's 120mm[3][2 Intake][1 Exhaust]
Case
Cougar Panzer S
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer KG271 Cbmidpx 27" Main Monitor 144mhz
Monitor
Acer S271HL 27" Secondary Monitor
Keyboard
Gigabyte Mechanical Cherry Blue Keyboard (GK-FORCE K83 BLUE)
Mouse
Kensington Pro Fit
Other
ENHANCE Pro Gaming Mouse Bungee Cable Holder 4 Port USB Hub with 7 LED Modes
▲ hide details ▲


Hequaqua is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off