Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread - Page 117 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1161 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 392
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by SystemTech View Post
From my experience, the RAM speeds won't change your performance a HUGE amount. However, if you are like most of us, assuming that your on OCN you are, you are wanting to get everything running close to, or at its optimal level of performance.

Therefore you do want to get a decent set of RAM.
My theory is this. DDR4 will still be around for a while, at least another 3 years. I may upgrade before then, I may not. Who knows.
I do know though, that if I do upgrade, I don't want to have to touch my RAM.

Also seeing where AMD is going, if I do upgrade it will be AMD. Based on that assessment, ram timings at decent speeds are more important than flat out speed.

So I went with a fairly high end set of Samsung B-Die, and i could not be happier. I got a 3200 C14 set, and am currently run at 3733 C16 and have not tried tightening timings yet, so I could improve that a bit more.
B-Die is just really really great RAM chips. End of story. Everything else is trying to get there, but just cannot.

So i vote getting a set of B-Die RAM
So I have a 3200 B-Die kit now. And I cant get it to 3600 stable. So I'm tired of tinkering with it. I have it at 3400, with 3200 "fast timings" and it's stable. So this is really just a way for me to blow money, and try to get 3600 stable. hah

THUMPer1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1162 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:08 AM
Mining the DB
 
SystemTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 2,312
Rep: 118 (Unique: 102)
Quote: Originally Posted by THUMPer1 View Post
So I have a 3200 B-Die kit now. And I cant get it to 3600 stable. So I'm tired of tinkering with it. I have it at 3400, with 3200 "fast timings" and it's stable. So this is really just a way for me to blow money, and try to get 3600 stable. hah
What set do you currently have?

I started by relaxing my timings to c16, then tried 3400 and quickly jumped to 3600in 66mhz increments and had absolutely no hassles. I then switched to 33mhz increments.
My timings are 16-16-16-34 1T and at stock voltage

Intertwined Desk
(13 items)
The virtualizer
(11 items)
Surfacing
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 Auros Gaming 7 Wifi
GPU
AMD RX VEGA 64
RAM
2 x 8GB GSKILL Trident Z Royal 3733 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Hard Drive
Crucial BX100 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650W
Cooling
Custom Watercooled Desk
Case
My Desk
Monitor
Acer XR341ck @85hz
Keyboard
Logitech G410
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Roccat Taito 3mm
CPU
E5-2670 8c/16t
CPU
E5-2670 8c/16t
Motherboard
Dell PowerEdge R720
RAM
DDR3 ECC 8 x 8GB
Hard Drive
4 x Crucial MX500 256GB RAID 10
Hard Drive
1 x Crucial MX500 1TB
Hard Drive
4 x Seagate 5TB Barracuda(ST5000LM000) RAID 6 (15TB)
Power Supply
Dell PowerEdge 750W
Power Supply
Dell PowerEdge 750W
Case
Dell PowerEdge R720
Operating System
Windows Server 2016 Hyper-V
CPU
i7 6850U 4c/8t
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1060
RAM
16GB DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 512GB SSD
Power Supply
105W Power Brick
Case
Microsoft Surface Book 2 15"
Monitor
Microsoft Surface 15"
▲ hide details ▲


SystemTech is offline  
post #1163 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 12:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tsamolotoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: VoID
Posts: 29
Rep: 0
Performance-wise it's best to have FCLK as close to 1900 as possible, timings are not as important as the fabric clock. In any case, basically any b-die or micron e-die kits should be able to get to 3733/3800 with decent timings. Well, apart from trashbin variety of b-die (patriot C17 3600 that I still have somewhere in the drawer, for example) that isn't much better (if even) than the green OEM b-die sticks.

S3Trio 64V+/S3 Trio3D 2x/Radeon VE 32 Mb/Sapphire R9600/Powercolor 9800 128 bit/Radeon X800/M56/Toxic [email protected] -> R9 290+Arctic ExtIV @ 1130 / 1250 -> Vega56 Nitro+ 1680/1080
Ghetto PC
(24 items)
Ryzen Beast
(13 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard
P8Z77-V LK
GPU
Reference Sapphire Radeon R9 290
RAM
Samsung QH0-CK0
RAM
Samsung QH0-CK0
RAM
Samsung DH0-CK0
RAM
Samsung
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD2002FAEX
Hard Drive
Western Digital Green WD10EAVS
Hard Drive
SSD Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Transcend SSD370
Optical Drive
LiteOn IHAS 112B @ iHAS 522B
Power Supply
Fortron/Source Everest 80Plus 650W
Cooling
Zalman Performa 10x
Cooling
220mm Thermaltake case fan
Cooling
NoiseBlocker NB-eLoop B12-3
Cooling
NoiseBlocker NB-BlackSilentFan XL1
Cooling
Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV + bastardised reference backplate
Case
Thermaltake Element S
Monitor
Dell U2312HM
Keyboard
A4Tech Bloody B540
Mouse
A4Tech Bloody V7
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
Other
Lamptron FC5V2 Fan Controller
CPU
Ryzen 2700
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Vega56 Limited Edition
RAM
Patriot Viper4 C17 Series 3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 970EVO
Optical Drive
Lite-On iHAS112 @ 512
Power Supply
Thermaltake RGB Pro
Cooling
FractalDesign Celsius S36
Case
Cooler Master SL600m
Monitor
Dell U2312HM
Keyboard
A4Tech Bloody B360
Mouse
A4Tech Bloody V7
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
tsamolotoff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1164 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 02:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tsamolotoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: VoID
Posts: 29
Rep: 0
And it seems negative offset does not cause clock stretching anymore - Full auto (offset -0.1V) + bclk 101.4
Attached Images
 

S3Trio 64V+/S3 Trio3D 2x/Radeon VE 32 Mb/Sapphire R9600/Powercolor 9800 128 bit/Radeon X800/M56/Toxic [email protected] -> R9 290+Arctic ExtIV @ 1130 / 1250 -> Vega56 Nitro+ 1680/1080
Ghetto PC
(24 items)
Ryzen Beast
(13 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard
P8Z77-V LK
GPU
Reference Sapphire Radeon R9 290
RAM
Samsung QH0-CK0
RAM
Samsung QH0-CK0
RAM
Samsung DH0-CK0
RAM
Samsung
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD2002FAEX
Hard Drive
Western Digital Green WD10EAVS
Hard Drive
SSD Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Transcend SSD370
Optical Drive
LiteOn IHAS 112B @ iHAS 522B
Power Supply
Fortron/Source Everest 80Plus 650W
Cooling
Zalman Performa 10x
Cooling
220mm Thermaltake case fan
Cooling
NoiseBlocker NB-eLoop B12-3
Cooling
NoiseBlocker NB-BlackSilentFan XL1
Cooling
Arctic Accelero Xtreme IV + bastardised reference backplate
Case
Thermaltake Element S
Monitor
Dell U2312HM
Keyboard
A4Tech Bloody B540
Mouse
A4Tech Bloody V7
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
Other
Lamptron FC5V2 Fan Controller
CPU
Ryzen 2700
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Vega56 Limited Edition
RAM
Patriot Viper4 C17 Series 3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 970EVO
Optical Drive
Lite-On iHAS112 @ 512
Power Supply
Thermaltake RGB Pro
Cooling
FractalDesign Celsius S36
Case
Cooler Master SL600m
Monitor
Dell U2312HM
Keyboard
A4Tech Bloody B360
Mouse
A4Tech Bloody V7
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
tsamolotoff is offline  
post #1165 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 08:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by GBT-MatthewH View Post
Just an FYI we should have ABBA out by end of month, probably sooner

purchased 3700X right after I saw this comment. waiting for ABBA!
cicero s is offline  
post #1166 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 03:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sob0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Hi,

Where I can find PPT TDC and EDC on this board? Is cTDP something similar?
I also notice that PBO scalar disappeared. Is there any way to adjust voltage when PBO is enable?
Cause my board ignore completely the offset I set, can't drop voltage under 1.37V on load.
(I'm on F42b but I'm coming from a CH7, don't know the bios very well)

Thank you (:
sob0 is offline  
post #1167 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 07:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
AFAIK PBO scalar is only available on zen2, on zen(+) you can only enable PBO. At least this is the case on F41 bios. Dont know why is that, maybe @GBT-MatthewH can shed some light on it.
pajdek is offline  
post #1168 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
F42b now appears on https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...upport-dl-bios but it's not yet available on the server.


Quote: Originally Posted by pajdek View Post
AFAIK PBO scalar is only available on zen2, on zen(+) you can only enable PBO. At least this is the case on F41 bios. Dont know why is that, maybe @GBT-MatthewH can shed some light on it.
Early BIOSes like F4 had scalar available for Zen+ CPUs.
mati865 is offline  
post #1169 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 08:11 AM
Graphic Card Addiction
 
Hequaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,671
Rep: 176 (Unique: 122)
I reran F42b bios with the same memory speed and timings as before(3466).

I have decided to get rid of the Synthetics/Gaming portion because I keep another spreadsheet for GPU testing that includes many more synthetics and games. I update that sheet with each new gpu driver release. That sheet is posted below, for those that are interested.

RTX 2070 Drivers 436.30-425.31

I also have moved the HWiNFO results to the bottom of the page. This will allow me to add more bios' when they become available, and be able to keep the main part of the spreadsheet visible without having to scroll horizontally(I'm a bit OCD and it kills me to have to scroll much....lol)

3700X Bios Testing F40/F41/F41a/F41c/F42a/F42b(3466)

Offical Ryzen 7 3700X Owner!

=[Official] Ryzen-5-Owners-Club 2600X=

MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
Panzerkampfwagen
(21 items)
CPU
Ryzen Zen 2 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3466C16D-16GTZR([email protected] 1.38v)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVMe 250gb(OS)
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP500 M.2 NVMe 120GB(Benchmark Programs)
Hard Drive
PNY XLR8 Gaming CS2211 SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1tb (External)Back Up
Hard Drive
Seagate Firecuda 2tb(Steam/Games) ST2000DX002-2DV164
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1tb (Games)
Hard Drive
TeamGroup Delta RGB 1tb 5v Header
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36 Blackout Edition
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon's 120mm[3][2 Intake][1 Exhaust]
Case
Cougar Panzer S
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer KG271 Cbmidpx 27" Main Monitor 144mhz
Monitor
Acer S271HL 27" Secondary Monitor
Keyboard
Gigabyte Mechanical Cherry Blue Keyboard (GK-FORCE K83 BLUE)
Mouse
Kensington Pro Fit
Other
ENHANCE Pro Gaming Mouse Bungee Cable Holder 4 Port USB Hub with 7 LED Modes
▲ hide details ▲


Hequaqua is offline  
post #1170 of 1201 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 09:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mati865 View Post
Early BIOSes like F4 had scalar available for Zen+ CPUs.

Yeah, it was removed since F6 if i remember right.
pajdek is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off