Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread - Page 141 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1401 of 1408 (permalink) Old 06-28-2020, 09:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
arkantos91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
Yesterday I finally had some time to do a little testing of "real world" use, in my case gaming.

I'm using 3600 MHz Fast preset from DRAM calculator. VSOC at 1.1, VDDG CCD, IOD and VDDP at 1.050.

Haven't touched the cpu voltages yet.

20 minutes of PUBG and the results scared the **** out of me. In my room the temperature was 27° C. Average cpu temps were around 68° C.

However peak cpu temp was a scaring 75° C. I was using Afterburner OSD while playing so I could keep an eye on temps every now and then and more often than not the cpu was over 70° C, not to the mention the all the heat made my 2080TI run even hotter at almost 80° C.

This is totally unacceptable, considering I have a huge case with fans, optimal airflow and an high end air cooler and my friend with a 3950X (which should run even hotter than the 3900X) never reaches 70°, not even as a one second peak temperature.

My guess is that the mainboard is the main issue here. I don't know if it's the power reporting deviation thing or not, but I think the mobo is throwing way more voltage than required. What should I do? Change power plan? I'm using Ryzen Balanced now. Should I really manually set the core voltage? What other cpu voltages should I tweak?

I really doubt going for a liquid AIO cooler would improve much to be honest. I'm afraid X470 is not really capable of handling high end Ryzen 3rd gen cpus.

My Gaming Rig
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Rog Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
ROG STRIX RTX 2080TI OC
RAM
2×8 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Predator 4000 MHz B-die
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 NVMe 1 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 250 GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 TG
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Keyboard
Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Audio
Sound BlasterX G6
▲ hide details ▲
arkantos91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1402 of 1408 (permalink) Old 06-28-2020, 04:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Maracus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 137
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by arkantos91 View Post
Yesterday I finally had some time to do a little testing of "real world" use, in my case gaming.

I'm using 3600 MHz Fast preset from DRAM calculator. VSOC at 1.1, VDDG CCD, IOD and VDDP at 1.050.

Haven't touched the cpu voltages yet.

20 minutes of PUBG and the results scared the **** out of me. In my room the temperature was 27° C. Average cpu temps were around 68° C.

However peak cpu temp was a scaring 75° C. I was using Afterburner OSD while playing so I could keep an eye on temps every now and then and more often than not the cpu was over 70° C, not to the mention the all the heat made my 2080TI run even hotter at almost 80° C.

This is totally unacceptable, considering I have a huge case with fans, optimal airflow and an high end air cooler and my friend with a 3950X (which should run even hotter than the 3900X) never reaches 70°, not even as a one second peak temperature.

My guess is that the mainboard is the main issue here. I don't know if it's the power reporting deviation thing or not, but I think the mobo is throwing way more voltage than required. What should I do? Change power plan? I'm using Ryzen Balanced now. Should I really manually set the core voltage? What other cpu voltages should I tweak?

I really doubt going for a liquid AIO cooler would improve much to be honest. I'm afraid X470 is not really capable of handling high end Ryzen 3rd gen cpus.
27c ambient is obviously going to affect temps somewhat, I ran Cinebench yesterday afternoon and my ambient was roughly the same and I hit peak 76c on CPU and thats on water. If, your overly concerned that the mainboard is pushing the CPU too hard you can limit the TDP in the bios to 105w, which is what AMD specifies. I think I tried the TDP at 105w once just to test which ran cooler but you sacrifice the clocks speed which I think is AMD baseline 3.8GHZ

Edit:Whats your friends ambient temps? I know you said you have optimal airflow through your case but I would try taking the side cover off for 30mins while playing and see what difference that makes, when I ran my old case I used 2000RPM fans the ASUS Vega 56 unless I undervolted it would dump a lot of heat into the case causing my CPU temps rocket up


Last edited by Maracus; 06-28-2020 at 04:59 PM.
Maracus is offline  
post #1403 of 1408 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 05:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
arkantos91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Maracus View Post
27c ambient is obviously going to affect temps somewhat, I ran Cinebench yesterday afternoon and my ambient was roughly the same and I hit peak 76c on CPU and thats on water. If, your overly concerned that the mainboard is pushing the CPU too hard you can limit the TDP in the bios to 105w, which is what AMD specifies. I think I tried the TDP at 105w once just to test which ran cooler but you sacrifice the clocks speed which I think is AMD baseline 3.8GHZ

Edit:Whats your friends ambient temps? I know you said you have optimal airflow through your case but I would try taking the side cover off for 30mins while playing and see what difference that makes, when I ran my old case I used 2000RPM fans the ASUS Vega 56 unless I undervolted it would dump a lot of heat into the case causing my CPU temps rocket up
My friend has the same exact temps, he lives two stories down my apartment.

There must be clearly something wrong because I don't think it's possible that the cpu runs over 70° most of the time, the same temps I have when I run a Cinebench test, which is full load!

I don't think it's the Noctua ND14 not properly installed otherwise during Cinebench, under full load, temps would be even higher.

These are my settings now:
- 1.380 V ram @3600 MHz
- FCLK: 1800
- PBO: manual
- PPT Limit: 300
- TDc Limit: 230
- EDC Limit: 230
- SOC voltage: 1.100
- VDDG CCD: 1.050
- VDDG IOD: 1.050
- clDO VDDP: 1.050
- CMD2T: 1T
- Gear down mode: on (dram calculator says it should be off, but I've been told it off make the system highly unstable in games)
- Power down mode: off

At this point all I have left to do is manually set the cpu voltage. I don't want to run a fixed voltage because then it the voltage would never drop when the system is idling.

Best thing would be using a negative 1.0 offset but there is no option in the Gigabyte BIOS with that name...

My Gaming Rig
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Rog Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
ROG STRIX RTX 2080TI OC
RAM
2×8 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Predator 4000 MHz B-die
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 NVMe 1 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 250 GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 TG
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Keyboard
Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Audio
Sound BlasterX G6
▲ hide details ▲
arkantos91 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1404 of 1408 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 366
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
70C ain't that hot, these chips doesn't start protection until 95C. With that said, your VDDP and VDDG looks high, I use 0.900 and 0.950 on all my Ryzen rigs(four). And you should have offset in the bios, I have it on my ultra cheap Aorus M, I run it at minus 0.088V with a 2700X. Also you could check SOC voltage, it shouldn't be above 1.1V, between 1.025-1.075V is usually fine.

I run my 3900X with CCX OC and have a fixed voltage using droop(LLC3). And a 3700X which I currently run with minus 0.05V offset, that one doesn't exceed 70C even in CB R20 but a 3700X outputs a lot less heat than a 3900X.

The 3900X is with a Noctua NH-D15, highest temp ingame I saw was 67C with 28C in the room using a OCd 2070 Super( a lot cooler than a 2080Ti, almost 100W difference in power consumption). CB R20 though will peak at 82C with the fixed voltage(scoring 7700+), which I think is fine enough of a margin to 95C.

All these chips have been running FAH AVX client at 100% load for 10+ weeks(too hot in the room now to continue), with constant temps of 80-90C. I can't observe any degradation on any of them.

Just to give you some refrence points! Cheers!

Main rig(of five)
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
Case
NZXT H700 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 2004 Pro
Audio
Motu M2
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by xeizo; 06-30-2020 at 12:55 PM.
xeizo is online now  
post #1405 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 06:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by arkantos91 View Post
Yesterday I finally had some time to do a little testing of "real world" use, in my case gaming.

I'm using 3600 MHz Fast preset from DRAM calculator. VSOC at 1.1, VDDG CCD, IOD and VDDP at 1.050.

Haven't touched the cpu voltages yet.

20 minutes of PUBG and the results scared the **** out of me. In my room the temperature was 27° C. Average cpu temps were around 68° C.

However peak cpu temp was a scaring 75° C. I was using Afterburner OSD while playing so I could keep an eye on temps every now and then and more often than not the cpu was over 70° C, not to the mention the all the heat made my 2080TI run even hotter at almost 80° C.

This is totally unacceptable, considering I have a huge case with fans, optimal airflow and an high end air cooler and my friend with a 3950X (which should run even hotter than the 3900X) never reaches 70°, not even as a one second peak temperature.

My guess is that the mainboard is the main issue here. I don't know if it's the power reporting deviation thing or not, but I think the mobo is throwing way more voltage than required. What should I do? Change power plan? I'm using Ryzen Balanced now. Should I really manually set the core voltage? What other cpu voltages should I tweak?

I really doubt going for a liquid AIO cooler would improve much to be honest. I'm afraid X470 is not really capable of handling high end Ryzen 3rd gen cpus.
I bought the 3900x some time ago and encounterd high temps also, compaired to the 3700x. I use a Kraken x62 and even with this temps did go high, so i did undervolt the cpu. I ended up selling it and put the 3700x back in, as for my daily usage (games) there wasnt a huge improvement. I learned from this experience that my next CPU will be a 65W TDP AMD again. If i had a bigger case (i have a PHANTEKS Enthoo Evolv ATX Midi-Tower) with better airflow and if i could tolerate more noise and if i did encode much, than maybe the 3900x would be the better choice for me. But i like it cool & quiet and for my games, the 3700x is sufficient.

Last edited by Whatisthisfor; 07-02-2020 at 06:55 AM.
Whatisthisfor is offline  
post #1406 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 10:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 366
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Whatisthisfor View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by arkantos91 View Post
Yesterday I finally had some time to do a little testing of "real world" use, in my case gaming.

I'm using 3600 MHz Fast preset from DRAM calculator. VSOC at 1.1, VDDG CCD, IOD and VDDP at 1.050.

Haven't touched the cpu voltages yet.

20 minutes of PUBG and the results scared the **** out of me. In my room the temperature was 27° C. Average cpu temps were around 68° C.

However peak cpu temp was a scaring 75° C. I was using Afterburner OSD while playing so I could keep an eye on temps every now and then and more often than not the cpu was over 70° C, not to the mention the all the heat made my 2080TI run even hotter at almost 80° C.

This is totally unacceptable, considering I have a huge case with fans, optimal airflow and an high end air cooler and my friend with a 3950X (which should run even hotter than the 3900X) never reaches 70°, not even as a one second peak temperature.

My guess is that the mainboard is the main issue here. I don't know if it's the power reporting deviation thing or not, but I think the mobo is throwing way more voltage than required. What should I do? Change power plan? I'm using Ryzen Balanced now. Should I really manually set the core voltage? What other cpu voltages should I tweak?

I really doubt going for a liquid AIO cooler would improve much to be honest. I'm afraid X470 is not really capable of handling high end Ryzen 3rd gen cpus.
I bought the 3900x some time ago and encounterd high temps also, compaired to the 3700x. I use a Kraken x62 and even with this temps did go high, so i did undervolt the cpu. I ended up selling it and put the 3700x back in, as for my daily usage (games) there wasnt a huge improvement. I learned from this experience that my next CPU will be a 65W TDP AMD again. If i had a bigger case (i have a PHANTEKS Enthoo Evolv ATX Midi-Tower) with better airflow and if i could tolerate more noise and if i did encode much, than maybe the 3900x would be the better choice for me. But i like it cool & quiet and for my games, the 3700x is sufficient.
That is true. I have both, on the 3900X H150i AIO was struggling replaced it with a NH-D15 and saw some improvement and less noise. On the 3700X the H150i is pure overkill, but I use it anyway nice to have too much cooling for a change 🙂

Main rig(of five)
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
Case
NZXT H700 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 2004 Pro
Audio
Motu M2
▲ hide details ▲
xeizo is online now  
post #1407 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-04-2020, 01:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
reaver83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Waterscum, NC
Posts: 656
Rep: 23 (Unique: 16)
is it just me, or do these boards absolutely despise Hynix CJR RAM? Been seriously thinking of Dumping this 2x8 Corsair Verngence RGB Pro 3200mhz kit for a 2x8 Trident Z 3600mhz kit. Also, anyone ever had an issue were only one stick reported in CPU-Z, but it still reads 2 sticks in Dual Channel? Yes, I have tried swapping the RAM, and Yes, the RAM not reporting is in the same slot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	memory***.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	210.6 KB
ID:	358616  


CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X470 Gaming 7 Wifi
GPU
PNY GTX 980 TI
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe
Hard Drive
Seagate FireCuda SSHD
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Bitspower Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi Monoblock
Cooling
Swiftech Komodo GTX Titan X (Maxwell) Full Cover block
Cooling
EKWB EK-Kit Slim S360
Cooling
XSPC TX240 Ultrathin Radiator w/2 120MM Akasa slim 120mm PWM Fans
Case
Corsair Carbide 600C
Operating System
Windows 10 Home Edition
Monitor
Sceptre C24 Curved Gaming Monitor
Keyboard
Razer DeathStalker
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
GN Blue/Black Microfiber Cloth
Audio
Logitech Z333
Audio
Razer Krakken
▲ hide details ▲
reaver83 is offline  
post #1408 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-06-2020, 09:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
hi all,


i want to share you my strange behavior with my gaming 7 board.

Finally i got a stable 4x16GB 3600 cl16 with (F4-3200C14D-32GTZR * 2)

Two of the Modules running fine with ryzen 3700x and 2700x.
Four of the modules came the problem in with 4 * dual rank.

All tests now are done with ryzen 3700x

I used the newest Bios. F51d.
I have my switch on the board to single bios. With that settings i can't boot. So i'm hanging on code 15.
The MB restarting itself but always 15. Right after the new install of the 4 modules.

I tryed everthing .(clear cmos, try older bios's)

And the last step i wanted to try was switchen from SB to dual bios switch
After that and 3 times CC it boots . This is reproducible. Always after a clear cmos and switch to dual bios(switch on MB) i got to the bios finally yeah

i try to use 3200 with safe timings. (cl 16-16-16-36-50)

And i can do what i want it doesn't boot.
Of course i used all procODT settings from Ryzen Calc
No boots. (code 15 on MB)

Last step i tried to use 3600 cl16. And what should i say it boots O_o ?!
So the faster settings boots? this is what i can't understand. Of course i tried every procODT on the 3200.

Finaly now it runs with procODT 48.

DRAM 1.35V
SOC V 1.1V
Attached Images
     
Markus_ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off