Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI overclocking & discussion thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-03-2018, 08:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
robiatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa Ana, California USA
Posts: 48
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Luckily I had the switch in single bios mode due past Gigabyte bios issues.

Thanks for the Tip on the Keyboard, but I got mine through Microcenter.

RYZEN 2700X @ Stock | 32GB of eVGA @ 3200 16-18-18-34-1t | AUROS X470 G7 Wifi | x2 Samsung 256 GB EVO 960 nvme | Toshiba 4 TB drive for data |GTX 1080ti | eVGA 850 G2 PSU | Thermaltake View 71Water Cooling partsPhanteks CPU block | 1 XSPC AX420 Rad Push/Pull | 1 XSPC EX 280 Push/Pull | 7' Primoflex tubing | Swiftech Maelstrom D5 200ml pump/res combo | Phanteks 1080ti Waterblock | 11 Corsair ML140 fans
robiatti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-04-2018, 04:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 170
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Buildzoid's hardware analysis & high praise for this board on gamers nexus youtube channel:
He says its a great ugrade hardware wise comparing to the Gigabyte X370 K7/K5 models and would be very balanced. Video two weeks old. Good thing is i learned from this video how to use the dual BIOS just in case ;-)

Last edited by Whatisthisfor; 05-04-2018 at 04:08 AM.
Whatisthisfor is offline  
post #13 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-06-2018, 08:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Does this OC tips applies to the Gigabyte X470 AORUS Gaming 5 WIFI too?
refa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-07-2018, 07:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
robiatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa Ana, California USA
Posts: 48
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by robiatti View Post
I am running bios F4E and the only issue I have come across is the bios one day failed to post no matter what I tried.
I ended up booting from the back up F2 and reflashed the primary with F4e again and all is well.

I'm surprised the ram I am using actually works correctly with XMP, its a 32gb set from evga ddr4 3200 C16.

This kit has not worked correctly in the past on my CHVI only would work at 2666.
Update,

Looks like the bios F4E corrupted again. It seems to happen when the PC has been asleep for a long period of time. 24+ hours.

RYZEN 2700X @ Stock | 32GB of eVGA @ 3200 16-18-18-34-1t | AUROS X470 G7 Wifi | x2 Samsung 256 GB EVO 960 nvme | Toshiba 4 TB drive for data |GTX 1080ti | eVGA 850 G2 PSU | Thermaltake View 71Water Cooling partsPhanteks CPU block | 1 XSPC AX420 Rad Push/Pull | 1 XSPC EX 280 Push/Pull | 7' Primoflex tubing | Swiftech Maelstrom D5 200ml pump/res combo | Phanteks 1080ti Waterblock | 11 Corsair ML140 fans
robiatti is offline  
post #15 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-07-2018, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,177
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
Could it be your F4E BIOs is corrupted by your flash drive and you're flashing a corrupt BIOS? I'm not quite sure what would cause that other than a corrupt BIOS or memory settings that can boot but aren't fully stable (i.e. they won't cold-boot sometimes).

Also can you find out your power settings? I think there's some options for eRP or whatnot you can try to alter.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #16 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-07-2018, 11:43 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Shik0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
I can't seem to get a decent OC on my F4-3600C16D-16GTZR kit, only stable-ish oc is with XMP profile on and reducing the speed to 2933mhz, 1.45v, 1,2v SOC. I have tried every revision of bios and a bunch of different timing and sub timing combinations, nothing seems to work besides base 2133mhz. My stability "test methodology" is to turn on a test stream to Youtube and play PUBG of Fortnite until the PC just shuts down with board and RAM leds glowing so I have to power cycle the PSU otherwise it doesn't want to turn back on. If anyone has any ideas what I can try, please shoot!

Ryzen 2700X [email protected] | Gigabyte X470 Gaming 7 WIFI | BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 | Inno3D GTX1080TI X3 | G.Skill TridentZ 3600C16 16GB | Seasonic Focus Plus 650 Platinum | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | Kingston V300 60GB | Seasonic SSHD 2TB | Fractal Design Meshify C DTG

Last edited by Shik0; 05-07-2018 at 12:04 PM.
Shik0 is offline  
post #17 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-07-2018, 11:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
robiatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa Ana, California USA
Posts: 48
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
Could it be your F4E BIOs is corrupted by your flash drive and you're flashing a corrupt BIOS? I'm not quite sure what would cause that other than a corrupt BIOS or memory settings that can boot but aren't fully stable (i.e. they won't cold-boot sometimes).

Also can you find out your power settings? I think there's some options for eRP or whatnot you can try to alter.
I will look further into it when I get home, I have not had to cold boot issue though. Only waking from sleep. I will try f;ashing from a different flash drive as well.

Thanks for the advice AlphaC!

RYZEN 2700X @ Stock | 32GB of eVGA @ 3200 16-18-18-34-1t | AUROS X470 G7 Wifi | x2 Samsung 256 GB EVO 960 nvme | Toshiba 4 TB drive for data |GTX 1080ti | eVGA 850 G2 PSU | Thermaltake View 71Water Cooling partsPhanteks CPU block | 1 XSPC AX420 Rad Push/Pull | 1 XSPC EX 280 Push/Pull | 7' Primoflex tubing | Swiftech Maelstrom D5 200ml pump/res combo | Phanteks 1080ti Waterblock | 11 Corsair ML140 fans
robiatti is offline  
post #18 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-07-2018, 12:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ramad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 883
Rep: 112 (Unique: 62)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shik0 View Post
I can't seem to get a decent OC on my F4-3600C16D-16GTZR kit, only stable-ish oc is with XMP profile on and reducing the speed to 2933mhz, 1.45v, 1,2v SOC. I have tried every revision of bios and a bunch of different timing and sub timing combinations, nothing seems to work besides base 2133mhz. My stability "test methodology" is to turn on a test stream to Youtube and play PUBG of Fortnite until the PC just shuts down with board and RAM leds glowing so I have to power cycle the PSU otherwise it doesn't want to turn back on. If anyone has any ideas what I can try, please shoot!
I don't have this motherboard but I can only advice, based on my experience with the C6H and the K7, to try and tune RTT settings. The right values will lead to a stable RAM and lower PROCODT, means lower voltages for the RAM and the CPU. Try setting those values to:

RZQ/3
RZQ/3
RZQ/1

Or:

RZQ/4
Disabled
Disabled

Those are the values for RTTNOM, RTTWR and RTTPARK. See if one of those combinations will get your RAM booting at 3200MT/s, then see about lowering PROCODT till the system can't boot, my guess is around 42 Ohm - 53.3 Ohm depending the quality of your CPU cores/IMC.

Last edited by Ramad; 05-07-2018 at 12:13 PM.
Ramad is offline  
post #19 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-07-2018, 12:46 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Shik0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ramad View Post
I don't have this motherboard but I can only advice, based on my experience with the C6H and the K7, to try and tune RTT settings. The right values will lead to a stable RAM and lower PROCODT, means lower voltages for the RAM and the CPU. Try setting those values to:

RZQ/3
RZQ/3
RZQ/1

Or:

RZQ/4
Disabled
Disabled

Those are the values for RTTNOM, RTTWR and RTTPARK. See if one of those combinations will get your RAM booting at 3200MT/s, then see about lowering PROCODT till the system can't boot, my guess is around 42 Ohm - 53.3 Ohm depending the quality of your CPU cores/IMC.
The lowest ODT I can go is 43.3Ohm, but unfortunately those settings didn't work for me, the game crashed few minutes in on both combinations.

Ryzen 2700X [email protected] | Gigabyte X470 Gaming 7 WIFI | BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 | Inno3D GTX1080TI X3 | G.Skill TridentZ 3600C16 16GB | Seasonic Focus Plus 650 Platinum | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | Kingston V300 60GB | Seasonic SSHD 2TB | Fractal Design Meshify C DTG
Shik0 is offline  
post #20 of 1210 (permalink) Old 05-07-2018, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,177
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
The Stilt noted that anything over 1.1 VSOC introduces instability on Ryzen 2700X. I would avoid over 1.1V for SOC ; for Hynix RAM 1.45V is also excessive : it shouldn't need more than 1.4V or so.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off