ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes) - Page 100 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1001 (permalink) Old 01-30-2020, 09:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
p4block's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
I fixed it.

Found the flashing port pinout on a forum thread, posted by elmor on the rog forum.

Trimmed out the first 4 kilobytes of the bios on the website and got the true rom file. Flashed it using a lot of cable clamps. On my old Z97-AR it would've been much easier, just pull out the chip as it was socketed.

Original serial number has been lost, could probably restore it with afuefi but I frankly don't care. Ethernet mac address is not stored with the chip unlike on intel platforms, so I didn't lose the mac address.

Overall a pretty simple fix if you have the proper information, which ASUS won't give you given their systemic "user is an idiot" policy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo_2020-01-30_16-08-05.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	216.0 KB
ID:	322782  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo_2020-01-30_16-53-52.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	153.5 KB
ID:	322784  


Last edited by p4block; 01-30-2020 at 02:42 PM.
p4block is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 01:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,133
Rep: 875 (Unique: 637)
Just noticed 6 of the 8 cores on my R7 2700 are boosting to 4.1GHz (highest boost at stock) at idle using BIOS 5406 and Win10 1909.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #993 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 11:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Any of you using this board + 3900x sometimes will get all fans, rbg etc on boot but the screen stays black and nothing happens? hard power off and power on again and it boots just normal. I get this like once every 20+ reboots maybe (first time in 1 month today)
zbug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #994 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 05:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ipak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 62
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Yes, it happens a lot when i hibernate or sleep my pc. Usually fine with hard shutdown.

Other things are great. 1866 fabric, 3733 cl16 ram, pbo with edc=1, rock solid stable, and pc is running 24/7 for almost month now with no problem.

Last edited by Ipak; 02-06-2020 at 05:42 PM.
Ipak is offline  
post #995 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-10-2020, 06:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ipak View Post
Yes, it happens a lot when i hibernate or sleep my pc. Usually fine with hard shutdown.

Other things are great. 1866 fabric, 3733 cl16 ram, pbo with edc=1, rock solid stable, and pc is running 24/7 for almost month now with no problem.
Yeah i only hard shutdown but once in a while, the next boot does that. Guess its a "normal" behavior then
zbug is offline  
post #996 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-17-2020, 03:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ipak View Post
Yes, it happens a lot when i hibernate or sleep my pc. Usually fine with hard shutdown.

Other things are great. 1866 fabric, 3733 cl16 ram, pbo with edc=1, rock solid stable, and pc is running 24/7 for almost month now with no problem.
hi what ram youre using?

thanks
MrTomppa12345 is offline  
post #997 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-17-2020, 05:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ipak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 62
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by MrTomppa12345 View Post
hi what ram youre using?

thanks
G.Skill Flare X Black 2 x 8 GB, XMP is 3200 cl14,
Ipak is offline  
post #998 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-17-2020, 02:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by zbug View Post
Any of you using this board + 3900x sometimes will get all fans, rbg etc on boot but the screen stays black and nothing happens? hard power off and power on again and it boots just normal. I get this like once every 20+ reboots maybe (first time in 1 month today)
I have a 3700X and I have the same problem (bios 5406). I bought a motherboard buzzer to investigate. When the problem occurs, there is no motherboard beep, only fans and power light on. After one or several resets the computer starts normaly (one beep for correct boot). I didn't have this problem with the previous bios. I opened a asus support case, their answer today : test with another hdd with a fresh system or rollback to the previous bios version... Is that even possible? When I upgraded to the 5406 version, I had a warning that said "no rollback possible".
fresh_04 is offline  
post #999 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-19-2020, 01:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,022
Rep: 47 (Unique: 34)
Isn't it about time to streamline this BIOS ? Anybody heard anything about it ?. It's practically only 5220 with 1004b. Too many doubled entries and some that even don't do anything.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5406 1004b
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #1000 of 1001 (permalink) Old 02-19-2020, 05:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Greetings friends! Is it worth buying this mainboard in 2020 (for around 190$)? I'm planning to use it with Ryzen 3600, with upgrade to 3800/3900 in mind. Is it have enough VRM for this? TY!
le4o360 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off