ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes) - Page 110 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1091 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-21-2020, 01:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,975
Rep: 892 (Unique: 643)
Quote: Originally Posted by npapanik View Post
Last crash was yesterday at 13:23. Since then it is running without problems. No monitor tools are running. I am still not convinced of its stability.
Still a mystery. Shutdowns are normally caused by insufficient power (PSU) or heat. Never really had any issue with both Ai Suit and HWINFO. Not sure what those ini files do never seen them.

Check your temps again randomly, esp the gpu hotspot temp. Normally it would just throttle not cause shutdown, though.

Alternatively, you can use HW Monitor just for random checks.

EDIT: Just checked. HW Monitor does not sense GPU temp. GPUZ does. It could be GPU driver related, too.

If your PSU has OTP, then it might be being triggered.

Apologies for the multi edit. But if it is the PSU overheating, then it might help to strap an additional fan on the outlet side to help cool it down.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 05-21-2020 at 02:12 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1092 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-21-2020, 04:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 51 (Unique: 36)
Last instability I had was when when I tried to correct voltages with too much of negative voltage offset, had to settle for -0.0325 and since than it's rock stable.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5406 1004b
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #1093 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-21-2020, 09:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
npapanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Still a mystery. Shutdowns are normally caused by insufficient power (PSU) or heat. Never really had any issue with both Ai Suit and HWINFO. Not sure what those ini files do never seen them.

Check your temps again randomly, esp the gpu hotspot temp. Normally it would just throttle not cause shutdown, though.

Alternatively, you can use HW Monitor just for random checks.

EDIT: Just checked. HW Monitor does not sense GPU temp. GPUZ does. It could be GPU driver related, too.

If your PSU has OTP, then it might be being triggered.

Apologies for the multi edit. But if it is the PSU overheating, then it might help to strap an additional fan on the outlet side to help cool it down.
The thing now is that the ambient temp has dropped to normal levels (24C) so if it was an overheating issue I cannot verify right now...

There is serious problem with ASUS's sensors implementation on the X470:
https://www.hwinfo.com/forum/threads...21/#post-22483

CPU: AMD Ryzen 3600 w. Noctua NH-D15S Motherboard: Asus PRIME X470-PRO RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) 3200 C16
VGA: Asus ROG Strix RX VEGA56 OC HD: Corsair Force Series MP510 960GB Case: be quiet! Dark Base 700 w. Silent Wings 3, 140mm PWM (x4)
PSU: Coolermaster Silent Pro M850 Monitor: Dell SE2717H
Keyboard: Razer BlackWidow Ultimate Mouse: Razer Electra V2 USB Headphones: Razer DeathAdder Elite
npapanik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1094 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 03:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,975
Rep: 892 (Unique: 643)
Quote: Originally Posted by npapanik View Post
The thing now is that the ambient temp has dropped to normal levels (24C) so if it was an overheating issue I cannot verify right now...

There is serious problem with ASUS's sensors implementation on the X470:
https://www.hwinfo.com/forum/threads...21/#post-22483
The last time i saw a voltage reading of the chipset was last August 2019. It was always under 50c, so i figured it is no big deal if the sensor is gone.

Anyway, i know others are having issue with fans, which happen to be one of the features this motherboard excels at. My fans are all set in auto except the one for the AIO, which is set to pwm. The cpu fan is set to smoothing with a time of 15sec. At idle or just browsing they are perfectly silent. Gaming, the ac is louder, so still can't hear them. One chasis fan is not showing up, though. Using 6 of the 7 headers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	browsing temp.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	650.1 KB
ID:	348676  


By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #1095 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 12:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 51 (Unique: 36)
I don't have no problems with fans, each header (all are PWM) is set to manual curve except for AiO_Pump which is not adjustable but it needs to go full speed all the time for this cooler. The cpu fan is set to smoothing with a time of 5sec. because of small capacity of coolant in this AiO otherwise temps jumps too high (75c) under sudden loads and than gradually fall down.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5406 1004b
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #1096 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 02:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,975
Rep: 892 (Unique: 643)
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
I don't have no problems with fans, each header (all are PWM) is set to manual curve except for AiO_Pump which is not adjustable but it needs to go full speed all the time for this cooler. The cpu fan is set to smoothing with a time of 5sec. because of small capacity of coolant in this AiO otherwise temps jumps too high (75c) under sudden loads and than gradually fall down.
I assume it works to your liking. I know other brands have similar feature just not sure it will work just as good or worst. May have to check my MSI A320.

Something else to consider when picking a new 500 series board. The Prime X570 Pro for sure is just as good.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #1097 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 05:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 51 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
I assume it works to your liking. I know other brands have similar feature just not sure it will work just as good or worst. May have to check my MSI A320.

Something else to consider when picking a new 500 series board. The Prime X570 Pro for sure is just as good.
Yes, I would definitively buy this with x570, all were at top of middle class MBs. Except most probably I'll just get 3900/3950x when they get cheaper.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5406 1004b
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #1098 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 376
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
My X470 Prime is very stable, I have been folding Covid-19 for eight weeks 24/7 now. Using a 3700X and a GTX1070. It just works.

https://folding.extremeoverclocking....p?s=&u=1128449

(I wasn't tagged by the script until 19th of April, but I started in March)

My play-PC is another one with 3900X

Main rig(of five)
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
Case
NZXT H700 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 2004 Pro
Audio
Motu M2
▲ hide details ▲
xeizo is online now  
post #1099 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-31-2020, 07:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,293
Rep: 177 (Unique: 113)
Mmm... just noticed that turning on CPU virtualization makes the bus speed vary. Bus spread spectrum?

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
post #1100 of 1135 (permalink) Old 05-31-2020, 11:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
desoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Is it worth to update BIOS version 5406 being on CPU 2700X? Right now I stopped on 5220.
desoto is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off