ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes) - Page 37 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 05:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,133
Rep: 170 (Unique: 106)
I can confirm that the latest PBO in the latest BIOS is broken.

With the prior BIOS, turning on PBO would max all the amp ratings for the highest performance possible from PBO.

With the current BIOS, all the PBO settings (read via Ryzen Master) are at default levels.

YOU NEED TO USE MASTER RYZEN with the current BIOS to get PBO to work.

I'm emailing Asus about this. What's the point of a BIOS option if you need software for it to function?

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 06:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,948
Rep: 46 (Unique: 33)
Is that XFR fighting PBO ? I tried over RM but locks me up to 3950MHz max.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5220 1003ABBA
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #363 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,133
Rep: 170 (Unique: 106)
XFR works just fine... boosting cores to 4.3+ GHz in light loads. PBO simply raises the TDP and current limits, so you get better clocks when more of the CPU is stressed.

Specifically, the BIOS PBO switch is just maxing out the TDP (to 1000 watts), but it's leaving the two current limiters to default values. You need to use Ryzen Master to get those to the maximum. The prior BIOS just maxed all those out. No Ryzen Master needed.

Also, Ryzen Master PBO settings won't survive when the computer wakes up from sleep.

Total BS. I might try modding the BIOS or just downgrading.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #364 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 570
Rep: 14 (Unique: 12)
Also my custom [email protected] profile not working any more- no boot, it was rock solid for last month+, based on Ryzen mem calculator, this new bios is pure **** :-(.
Hwgeek is offline  
post #365 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,133
Rep: 170 (Unique: 106)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hwgeek View Post
Also my custom [email protected] profile not working any more- no boot, it was rock solid for last month+, based on Ryzen mem calculator, this new bios is pure **** :-(.
Turn off the PSU for 30 seconds (pull the power plug or the use the switch by the plug) and let the RAM retrain. I haven't had any issue with the latest BIOS so far except for the PBO.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
post #366 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,948
Rep: 46 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hwgeek View Post
Also my custom [email protected] profile not working any more- no boot, it was rock solid for last month+, based on Ryzen mem calculator, this new bios is pure **** :-(.
I too have some instability with RAM at 3600MHz while it was rock solid before. Already had some GSODs on account of memory, much better at 3400M Hz.
Isn't XFR also tasked with regulating voltage and power according to temps ?

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5220 1003ABBA
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #367 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 09:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Handrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Valencia-España
Posts: 96
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I had no RAM related issues with that new bios. I still use 3600MHz CL14 without any problems ..
Handrox is offline  
post #368 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 09:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 39
Rep: 0
If this bios still has PE Lvl 2, can it still max PBO (by setting scalar 10X, and other power and current values maxed out on that preset) or that option is now useless?
I'm just asking because, IIRC in the strix, the last two 4204 and 4207 only left PE options as way to control PBO, while the PBO sub-menu disappeared (last seen on 4024 I'm still on).

STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750
AlleyViper is offline  
post #369 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 09:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Handrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Valencia-España
Posts: 96
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlleyViper View Post
If this bios still has PE Lvl 2, can it still max PBO (by setting scalar 10X, and other power and current values maxed out on that preset) or that option is now useless?
I'm just asking because, IIRC in the strix, the last two 4204 and 4207 only left PE options as way to control PBO, while the PBO sub-menu disappeared (last seen on 4024 I'm still on).
PBO is not working in this bios 4406
Handrox is offline  
post #370 of 847 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,948
Rep: 46 (Unique: 33)
Just tried going back a version or two but no go, probably because new AGESA.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5220 1003ABBA
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off