ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes) - Page 60 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #591 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 09:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kevinryzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by upgraditus View Post
Initial testing of 3700X boots fine with docp (3000cl15) but has strange inability to boot or enter bios when attempting to reach above 3200 when using timings that were previously good for 3466... hopefully it's the bios that is holding it back and I don't have a lemon cpu
I have the Ryzen 3600x and on bios 5007... I had to set my soc voltage to 1.1 to get it to post at 3200..it would boot loop of i just set xmp and try to boot.
It must not be setting the soc to 1.1 by default. It did with my 2600x with 5007...You can try that.. Worked for me

Ryzen 3600x stock x470 Prime pro 32gb 4x8 gskill F4-3200C14D-16GTZRx2 14 14 14 14 34 @3200 ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2060

Last edited by kevinryzen; 07-11-2019 at 09:40 PM.
kevinryzen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #592 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 04:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ipak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 63
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Looks like we getting PCi-E 4.0 support, at least m.2 will be full speed, GPU only 4.0x8

https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/ry...50-boards.html
Ipak is offline  
post #593 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 05:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,167
Rep: 52 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ipak View Post
Looks like we getting PCi-E 4.0 support, at least m.2 will be full speed, GPU only 4.0x8

https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/ry...50-boards.html
Yup, seen that but not very excited, don't plan anything new, only if my Samsung 960 evo dies.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5601 1006
R7 3700x. Arctic Liquid Freezer II 240
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #594 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 06:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
upgraditus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 201
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by kevinryzen View Post
I have the Ryzen 3600x and on bios 5007... I had to set my soc voltage to 1.1 to get it to post at 3200..it would boot loop of i just set xmp and try to boot.
It must not be setting the soc to 1.1 by default. It did with my 2600x with 5007...You can try that.. Worked for me
That might have been it, not sure since it wasn't letting me in to check! It's still on auto however and running at 1.1v currently. Since then all I've done is change switching freuqency of both vrms from auto (300) to 400 (since there's no harm in doing so) and set fclck to 1800 and it's let me boot higher than 3200! Back at same settings from gen+, seeing 8-10ns higher latency as expected.

= Ryzen 7 3700X 4.3GHz @ 1.3v / Thermalright TS140 BW / Prime X470-Pro / 16GB Crucial BSLT 3733 MT/s cl16 / 1080Ti Amp Extreme 2GHz @ 0.987v / Aerocool Project7 P650 / Fractal Define XL =
upgraditus is offline  
post #595 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 09:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
texas_nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 293
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
I wouldn't depend on such info, best to ask seller. If earlier experience with 2nd gen Ryzen and x370 MB is any indication, for a while will have to depend on info from seller and possibly sticker on the box. Asus may have updated BIOS but it will take some time for resellers to get them, reprint boxes etc.
Thanks for the input. No local stores around me so I would be ordering online. That said, I'm probably a few weeks out from ordering and I'm still debating X470 vs x570. I actually want to get a new desk first before I start building a new pc! Hopefully by the time I'm ready, BIOS issues that are popping up on some boards will be fixed.

An 8 yr build?
(8 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Elite
GPU
EVGA 1080ti ftw3
RAM
G.Skill 3600 CL16, 16gb (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510, 480gb
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket, 1tb
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 650w
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
▲ hide details ▲
texas_nightowl is offline  
post #596 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 04:00 PM
Goodbye
 
Penicilyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10,269
Rep: 981 (Unique: 763)
Hi guys,

Finally switched back to AMD and I'm running this board with the 3900X. I'm running the system completely at stock but it seems to be running really warm with the stock cooler. The voltage seems really high as well. is this normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Master.png
Views:	58
Size:	145.1 KB
ID:	280026  

Attached Images
 


Penicilyn is offline  
post #597 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 04:09 PM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,830
Rep: 33 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ipak View Post
Looks like we getting PCi-E 4.0 support, at least m.2 will be full speed, GPU only 4.0x8

https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/ry...50-boards.html
GPU at 4.0 x8 is the same as pcie 3.0x16, so it's not really a problem as current 3.0 GPUs can't even saturate pcie 3.0 yet. It would have to be a 4.0 compatible card though.

Current Bios - 3103

Also have Ryzen 5 3500U with Vega 8 GPU | Lenovo IdeaPad C340-14API | 8GB DDR4 2666 @ 2400 (for some reason) | Samsung 981 256GB NVME
About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!
There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't. F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
Main Rig (AMIGA)
(16 items)
CPU
R9 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
XFX RX580 Black Edition
RAM
Patriot Steel 32GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200PNP
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II
Optical Drive
ASUS Blueray
Power Supply
RM 1000X
Cooling
Fractal Design S36 AIO
Case
Core X5
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Monitor
Acer CB241HQK
Keyboard
Corsair K70 MkII
Mouse
Microsoft Hardware Wireless USB Mouse
Other
HTC Vive Cosmos VR
▲ hide details ▲
crakej is offline  
post #598 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 11:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,167
Rep: 52 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by Penicilyn View Post
Hi guys,

Finally switched back to AMD and I'm running this board with the 3900X. I'm running the system completely at stock but it seems to be running really warm with the stock cooler. The voltage seems really high as well. is this normal?
Yes voltage seems to be high for 3rd gen, it's on auto I presume ? According to everything I saw up to now it shouldn't go over 1.375v under full load, typically 1.325.
BIOS always sets it too high.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5601 1006
R7 3700x. Arctic Liquid Freezer II 240
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #599 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 12:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,048
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Quote: Originally Posted by Penicilyn View Post
Hi guys,

Finally switched back to AMD and I'm running this board with the 3900X. I'm running the system completely at stock but it seems to be running really warm with the stock cooler. The voltage seems really high as well. is this normal?
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
Yes voltage seems to be high for 3rd gen, it's on auto I presume ? According to everything I saw up to now it shouldn't go over 1.375v under full load, typically 1.325.
BIOS always sets it too high.
Is there a way to undervolt the cpu vcore in BIOS without affecting instability and maximum boost?

Also, are you using Ryzen Master?

Congrats @Penicylin!

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #600 of 1197 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 12:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 2,167
Rep: 52 (Unique: 37)
Yes, either by setting voltage manually or by offset.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5601 1006
R7 3700x. Arctic Liquid Freezer II 240
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off