ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes) - Page 79 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS PRIME X470-PRO (Issues and Successes)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 08:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,511
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Quote: Originally Posted by criminala View Post
Don't check the bclk on main page of cpu-z . enable virtualisation , then check your memory speed on the memory tab of cpu-z . it will report lower than it should be .
disable virtualisation and it'll be what you set in bios .

Checking in aida64 , go to tools - cache and memory benchmark . and fsb will be reporting at 97.7 .

if you run that aida64 memory benchmark, it will not score much lower compared to full speed memory though . 3200 vs 3133 is very close to each other of course .
Something wrong with your motherboard. Virtualization set at Auto and Disabled shows same bclk - 99.8. I'm not brave enuf to set it to enable. Currently, Virt is set at disabled. Optimized Default sets it to Auto.

Can't you just set it to Disabled?

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 11:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
piistii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
my bclk - 99.8. too and i cant set in 100 this is motherboard issue ?
piistii is offline  
post #783 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 12:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 21
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Something wrong with your motherboard. Virtualization set at Auto and Disabled shows same bclk - 99.8. I'm not brave enuf to set it to enable. Currently, Virt is set at disabled. Optimized Default sets it to Auto.

Can't you just set it to Disabled?
I can easily set it to disabled . However , that would mean my windows sandbox will not be functional anymore .


Just updated to the 5216 bios and the issue persists .

Regarding bios 5216 :
-improves quite a bit on memory latency
-lost chipset temperature reading
-lost custom header temperature reading (windows)
-lost CPU_OPT fan speed reading (windows)

As a tip when you flash : when you enter the bios for the first time and reload your profile , go into advanced - USB and set the third option to enabled . For some reason it had set it to disabled for me , so i did not have any working usb devices . Took me half an hour and several cmos resets to figure it out

Corsair Carbide 400R -!- PC Power&Cooling Silencer MK III 750W Semi-Passive PSU -!- Asus X470 Prime Pro -!- AMD Ryzen 2700X -!- 2x16gb Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz -!- 1Tb Crucial P1 PCIE 1.3 NVME SSD -!- MSI Vega 56 Air Boost 8GB HBM2 Samsung -!- Asus PCE-AC68 802.11ac Wifi -!- Bluetooth USB 4.2 -!- Windows 10 pro x64 -!- Samsung S27A850D 27" + Samsung 2443BW 24" -!- Sennheiser HD590 -!- Logitech G815 Linear -!- Remote Panel Monitoring -!- Razer Deathadder 3500dpi -!- Eaton Ellipse MAX 1500 UPS

Last edited by criminala; 09-10-2019 at 01:01 PM.
criminala is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #784 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 12:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,511
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Quote: Originally Posted by criminala View Post
I can easily set it to disabled . However , that would mean my windows sandbox will not be functional anymore .


Just updated to the 5216 bios and the issue persists .

Regarding bios 5216 :
-improves quite a bit on memory latency
-lost chipset temperature reading
-lost custom header temperature reading (windows)
-lost CPU_OPT fan speed reading (windows)

As a tip when you flash : when you enter the bios for the first time and reload your profile , go into advanced - USB and set the third option to enabled . For some reason it had set it to disabled for me , so i did not have any working usb devices . Took me half an hour and several cmos resets to figure it out
Thanks for the tip. Last night, tho, i set my oc profile and forgot the usb setting. Same thing happened and decided to take care of it this morning. Even setting optimized default won't work cos the default is disabled. lol. ASUS needs to fix this crap. Will be informing them shortly.

Anyways, the fix was to use another KB and Mouse. For some reason my existing ones don't get detected. Now, i set both my normal and oc profile with the USB enabled.

EDIT: Also, the latest BIOS does not change any behavior on my 3600. None that i notice.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #785 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-14-2019, 01:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,511
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
I can't wait so went ahead updated to BETA ABBA with ZERO issues.

Found here posted by @Reous provided by Wheity. Thank you!

https://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...4-1198563.html

Notes:
1. Make sure to set Optimized default first before flashing.
2. Make new profiles for your oc or other settings in BIOS. Do Not use your old profiles.


All Stock with RAM at 3333 MHz XMP.

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/39399221?

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 09-14-2019 at 02:59 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #786 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-14-2019, 11:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,894
Rep: 45 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
I can't wait so went ahead updated to BETA ABBA with ZERO issues.

Found here posted by @Reous provided by Wheity. Thank you!

https://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...4-1198563.html

Notes:
1. Make sure to set Optimized default first before flashing.
2. Make new profiles for your oc or other settings in BIOS. Do Not use your old profiles.


All Stock with RAM at 3333 MHz XMP.

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/39399221?
0 issues but it doesn't seem to help with boost either. Are there any other changes in BIOS itself ?

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5216
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #787 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 12:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,511
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
0 issues but it doesn't seem to help with boost either. Are there any other changes in BIOS itself ?
You are using ABBA but you are not seeing the advertised boost? I do see it in two cores.

After using it a few days, been noticing how my fans are cycling up and down now. The min vcore for the 3600 using Win Bal (min proc state at 25%) is 0.9v. Used to be much lower like 0.4v. And now jumping to 1.45v sometimes higher.

The added voltage allows the cpu to reach max boost on two cores.

The sound of the fans ramping up is annoying, tho. So, i change the plan to Power Saver with min processor state to 90%. The minimum voltage stays at 0.9v but the max voltage is a bit lower. Fans are no longer cycling. Downside, cpu boosts lower. I never had issue with boost in the first place with ABB.

Not sure if the final version of ABBA will be any different.

EDIT:

Went back to Balance Power with min proc state of 5%. Power Saver only lets the cores boost to 2600MHz in gaming. lol

Have to figure out the Fan plugged to the AIO cos its making the most noise during gaming. Will play around some more to get the advertised boost playing with Windows power plan while achieving a quiet pc. Right now, tho, with this plan the ramping cycle is minimized at idle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GAMING TEMP.JPG
Views:	22
Size:	199.7 KB
ID:	295578  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 09-15-2019 at 03:08 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #788 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 04:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,894
Rep: 45 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
You are using ABBA but you are not seeing the advertised boost? I do see it in two cores.

After using it a few days, been noticing how my fans are cycling up and down now. The min vcore for the 3600 using Win Bal (min proc state at 25%) is 0.9v. Used to be much lower like 0.4v. And now jumping to 1.45v sometimes higher.

The added voltage allows the cpu to reach max boost on two cores.

The sound of the fans ramping up is annoying, tho. So, i change the plan to Power Saver with min processor state to 90%. The minimum voltage stays at 0.9v but the max voltage is a bit lower. Fans are no longer cycling. Downside, cpu boosts lower. I never had issue with boost in the first place with ABB.

Not sure if the final version of ABBA will be any different.

EDIT:

Went back to Balance Power with min proc state of 5%. Power Saver only lets the cores boost to 2600MHz in gaming. lol

Have to figure out the Fan plugged to the AIO cos its making the most noise during gaming. Will play around some more to get the advertised boost playing with Windows power plan while achieving a quiet pc. Right now, tho, with this plan the ramping cycle is minimized at idle.
No, I'm using 5216 BIOS with 1003ABB only. Trying to find out if that beta BIOS has any other changes except for AGESA code. Best boost I had was with 5007 BIOS. worst with 5216. Most and steady boost is up to 4.25GHz on most cores, 5007 was pushing 1 - 2 cores to 4,37.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5216
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
post #789 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 05:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,511
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Quote: Originally Posted by MishelLngelo View Post
No, I'm using 5216 BIOS with 1003ABB only. Trying to find out if that beta BIOS has any other changes except for AGESA code. Best boost I had was with 5007 BIOS. worst with 5216. Most and steady boost is up to 4.25GHz on most cores, 5007 was pushing 1 - 2 cores to 4,37.
Oh, this Beta ABBA will make it boost alright. But, your temps will be higher cos of the voltage being higher. Also, your current oc profiles, if you have any, might need tweaking.

I have to apply a negative 0.03 offset on the vcore and keep the 4200GHz boost and voltage from jumping so high.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #790 of 794 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 11:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MishelLngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,894
Rep: 45 (Unique: 32)
After experiencing high voltages when they are not really needed (1.5v+ at idle) but falling to 1.3v or less under a load which made CPU idle at high 40s and max over 70c at load (which kills the boost), I settled to manual 1.3v + LLC5 and 140% power. Now it boosts all cores to 4.25GHz but newer touches 4.3GHz.
1.3v with LLC at auto, kept 1.3v at idle (35c) but dropped to 1.28 at load, with LLC5 it stays at 1.3v all the time with up to 65c. My take on that is that algorithm controlling boost frequency, temperature and voltages is all wrong, all fighting each other.
BIOS itself needs a good workover, PBO is for instance duplicated, at two places at same time, I spent hours trying to find difference but it's on a level of statistical error. TDP setting doesn't do anything.
Only thing that is in plus is memory, it's very stable at 3600MHZ Cl16 but latency has dropped somewhat which brought memory score down a bit. Tried some RAM OC but it gets unstable (giving BSODs) at 3666MHz with any kind of load. Right now I just set DOCP at 3000 and memory to 3600MHz, FLCK 1800, 1.35v.

Asus Prime x470 Pro BIOS 5216
R7 3700x. CM Nepton 140XL
2 x Kingston HyperX KHX3600C17D4/8GX
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
MishelLngelo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off