Asrock X470 Taichi OC and info questions - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asrock X470 Taichi OC and info questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 84 (permalink) Old 09-08-2018, 02:30 PM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,036
Rep: 574 (Unique: 454)
Quote: Originally Posted by lukart View Post
That's a pretty good board for such a "low" end CPU, do you plan on upgrating later on?
Yes, and I plan to push them all to the limit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180912_121638.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	360.4 KB
ID:	217656  


https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Redwoodz; 09-12-2018 at 03:26 PM. Reason: added comment and pics
Redwoodz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 84 (permalink) Old 10-08-2018, 08:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
detrophy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I’ve got a nasty problem with changed PState VIDs, as the processor wont use lower VIDs than p0.
p0 is 4.2GHz @ 1.35V (a8 . 8 . 20)
p1 is 3.2GHz @ 0.99375V (80 . 8 . 59)
p2 is 2.2GHz @ 0.8125V (84 . c . 76) (have to tweak this)

Motherboard is Taichi x470 Ultimate at latest BIOS (non Beta).
The funny thing: it has worked one time, until i restarted the pc.

Is this a bios bug?
detrophy is offline  
post #23 of 84 (permalink) Old 10-13-2018, 01:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
King Lycan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orange County, Califroina.
Posts: 599
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I love my ASrock board


https://valid.x86.fr/fldbyc

Z'Gok
(15 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
RX VEGA 64 LC
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X @ 3200
Hard Drive
Samung 860 Evo
Hard Drive
FireCuda Gaming SSHD
Hard Drive
Seagate Desktop HDD ST4000DM000
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro
Case
Corsair 750D
Monitor
Pixio PX277h
Keyboard
Razer Cynosa Chroma
Mouse
Logitech G203 Prodigy
Mousepad
Corsair MM300
Audio
M-Audio Studiophile BX5a
▲ hide details ▲
King Lycan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 84 (permalink) Old 10-31-2018, 05:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Hi everyone,


sorry for joining so late into the club. Recently I built my DREAMED PC that I have awaited for 6 years. But I have quite a situation with this motherboard. I have it paired with 2700X and G.Skill Trident Z 3200C14-16GB, and my motherboard is giving me some pretty strange DRAM Voltage readings. At set 1.36V I can see at BIOS or HWiNFO about 1.4V, when I set to 1.37 I see about 1.424V. Even when I clear CMOS, I have set 1.2V but I can see 1.232V. I don't OC CPU. Should it be so different from what I set in BIOS? Is it something normal, or should I RMA it?

VR Rig
(14 items)
CPU
AMD 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Ti Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX Pro 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
stock CPU cooler
Case
Fractal Design R6 BlackOut
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
Keyboard
X-Bows Ergonomic Mechanical RGB Keyboard
Mouse
tracer vertical mouse
Audio
Jamo S60 5.1 w/ Yamaha HTR 6030
▲ hide details ▲
Diablix6 is offline  
post #25 of 84 (permalink) Old 10-31-2018, 07:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Diablix6 View Post
Hi everyone,


sorry for joining so late into the club. Recently I built my DREAMED PC that I have awaited for 6 years. But I have quite a situation with this motherboard. I have it paired with 2700X and G.Skill Trident Z 3200C14-16GB, and my motherboard is giving me some pretty strange DRAM Voltage readings. At set 1.36V I can see at BIOS or HWiNFO about 1.4V, when I set to 1.37 I see about 1.424V. Even when I clear CMOS, I have set 1.2V but I can see 1.232V. I don't OC CPU. Should it be so different from what I set in BIOS? Is it something normal, or should I RMA it?

My X470 Taichi does the same thing, at 1.35v in BIOS it will show 1.4v under Ram Voltage. I believe Asrock added an offset to ram voltage or the reading is wrong from the Sensor
kylon is offline  
post #26 of 84 (permalink) Old 10-31-2018, 09:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by kylon View Post
My X470 Taichi does the same thing, at 1.35v in BIOS it will show 1.4v under Ram Voltage. I believe Asrock added an offset to ram voltage or the reading is wrong from the Sensor
Hi kilon, thank you for your response.


Yeah, I suppose that they set some offset to RAM, becouse when DRAM Calculator recommended me DRAM Voltage around 1.41V to 1.43V, then my system worked best when I set DRAM Voltage about 1.38V, and it translated at 1.424V. But when I tried to set voltage at reccomended value 1.41V to 1.43V that translated at 1.45V and more, then HCI memtest gave me much more memory errors.


But question is whether they calculate that offset even at VTT_DDR Voltage. Because it should be one half of DRAM Voltage, but when DRAM Voltage is increased by offset, than is VTT_DDR also increased? I didn't find any program that would let me read VTT_DDRR voltage.

VR Rig
(14 items)
CPU
AMD 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Ti Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX Pro 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
stock CPU cooler
Case
Fractal Design R6 BlackOut
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
Keyboard
X-Bows Ergonomic Mechanical RGB Keyboard
Mouse
tracer vertical mouse
Audio
Jamo S60 5.1 w/ Yamaha HTR 6030
▲ hide details ▲
Diablix6 is offline  
post #27 of 84 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 04:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Diablix6 View Post
Hi kilon, thank you for your response.


Yeah, I suppose that they set some offset to RAM, becouse when DRAM Calculator recommended me DRAM Voltage around 1.41V to 1.43V, then my system worked best when I set DRAM Voltage about 1.38V, and it translated at 1.424V. But when I tried to set voltage at reccomended value 1.41V to 1.43V that translated at 1.45V and more, then HCI memtest gave me much more memory errors.


But question is whether they calculate that offset even at VTT_DDR Voltage. Because it should be one half of DRAM Voltage, but when DRAM Voltage is increased by offset, than is VTT_DDR also increased? I didn't find any program that would let me read VTT_DDRR voltage.

I have asked myself the exact same thing, and dont have an answer.
What i have tested is that if i put BIOS RAM Voltage to 1.45 it will show up as 1.504.
Increasing the VTT_DRR from 0.730 to 0.750 seemed to increase Stability which would indicate that they dont increase the VTT_DRR.
I dont think there is a way to read out VTT_DRR Voltage, so we dont have a way of knowing.
kylon is offline  
post #28 of 84 (permalink) Old 11-03-2018, 12:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
I too have noticed the DDR Voltage issue. I set the voltage as per the calculator at 1.365, but HwInfo reports over 1.4.

Is there an option to decrease the offset? I don't know why they would do this. I simply lowered the value in Bios to get as close to the calculators recommendation when reading from HwInfo.

I have also noticed this issue with the SOC Voltage reading.
MrPenguin is offline  
post #29 of 84 (permalink) Old 11-06-2018, 10:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wandererqq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Recently I build a new pc with the following parts: Ryzen , asrock Taichi X470(using 1.52 bios beta version) , G.Skill Flare X 16GB 3200 14CLt, msi rtx 2080 gaming x trio, PSU seasonic 850w platinum, case nzxt h500i and for cpu cooling kraken x62. I have OC my memory with Ryzen dram calculator to 3466mhz with safe settings and on my cpu I can't pass 4.15ghz on all cores even if use the stock xmp settings on memory. The temp I'm seeing on idle is 35-40c and around 60-65c on load on my cpu (I don't know if those temps are normal either). I have seen many videos on YouTube ppl getting easily 4.2 - 4.3ghz without even using an AIO. Can anyone give an insight since it's my first time using an AMD cpu and asrock mobo maybe I'm doing something wrong.
Wandererqq is offline  
post #30 of 84 (permalink) Old 11-09-2018, 12:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Wandererqq View Post
Recently I build a new pc with the following parts: Ryzen , asrock Taichi X470(using 1.52 bios beta version) , G.Skill Flare X 16GB 3200 14CLt, msi rtx 2080 gaming x trio, PSU seasonic 850w platinum, case nzxt h500i and for cpu cooling kraken x62. I have OC my memory with Ryzen dram calculator to 3466mhz with safe settings and on my cpu I can't pass 4.15ghz on all cores even if use the stock xmp settings on memory. The temp I'm seeing on idle is 35-40c and around 60-65c on load on my cpu (I don't know if those temps are normal either). I have seen many videos on YouTube ppl getting easily 4.2 - 4.3ghz without even using an AIO. Can anyone give an insight since it's my first time using an AMD cpu and asrock mobo maybe I'm doing something wrong.

I am no expert in this matter, but I hope I can help. What CPU model do you use? Did you increase CPU voltage accordingly? Did you increase CPU LLC? In my case I use just stock cooler Wrath Max, but my 2700x with XFR2 and with Enabled Overdrive in BIOS works pretty well on its own.


Try to disable C states, Cool'n Quiet, C3 State, etc... as it may not be stable with manual OC.
That's everything right know that I can think of. I hope it helps .

VR Rig
(14 items)
CPU
AMD 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2080 Ti Sea Hawk X
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX Pro 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
stock CPU cooler
Case
Fractal Design R6 BlackOut
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
Keyboard
X-Bows Ergonomic Mechanical RGB Keyboard
Mouse
tracer vertical mouse
Audio
Jamo S60 5.1 w/ Yamaha HTR 6030
▲ hide details ▲
Diablix6 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off