Did Biostar's X470GT8 just make one of the best X470 boards VRM wise? - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Did Biostar's X470GT8 just make one of the best X470 boards VRM wise?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 62 (permalink) Old 02-19-2019, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Solarity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 674
Rep: 14 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by miklkit View Post
The whole subject of what is the "best" should really be avoided. It's too easy to get into endless debates that go nowhere. A better question would be "What is best for you?"


Is this Biostar board the best for cpu overclocking? No. While the vrms are pretty good, the heat sink is pretty bad so they will run hot without lots of air flow. If you are into the highest cpu numbers, then this board is not for you.



Is this board good for gaming? Yes! That is what I do and I have never seen gpu temperatures so low before. Is it the best for gaming? Dunno and don't want to go there anyway.



It's strength: Cool running gpu. Great bang for the buck. Two bios chips with a switch. This is the first board I've owned that has this and I wil never own another without this feature.



It's weakness: The quirky old school bios. Win 98 anyone? It works but doesn't come with training wheels.
That brings up one point to discuss, can you go further into the details about UEFI/BIOS? How is OC'ing on this board? It looks like Newegg no longer stocks it, I wonder if they will come out with a x570. I was just impressed by the VRM and the cost of the board, when I created this thread. I put off this purchase, then started looking at Ryzen again. I already have a 9900K, though I do like to play with Hardware.
Solarity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 62 (permalink) Old 02-19-2019, 07:48 PM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,629
Rep: 303 (Unique: 174)
Hmm, where to start?


The bios has a very old school look to it. It looks just like it did 15 years ago. No flash or style. It has no presets either. No turbo or stealth modes. If you want to change something you have to find it and change it yourself. Everything is there but might be buried and hard to find.



With Ryzen the memory is everything and the cpu is secondary. Everything is there to OC the ram including the sub timings. It might not have as many sub timing settings as other baords but there are certainly lots of them.

For the cpu it has P state OCing where you set the clocks you want and it takes care of the rest. Plus it has blck OCing as well. OCing the cpu is really easy.



I recently found out in another thread that the vrms used are the same as those in a top end ASUS ROG board. Good stuff.


One thing that I see as a plus but others might see as a minus is that the case fans are not tied to cpu temps but are instead tied to gpu temps. This means that when stress testing the cpu cooling fans are howling but the case fans are idling, but when gaming the case fans are revving and pouring lots of cool air into the gpu. Great for gaming which the board is advertised for.


I've about decided to buy a 3xxx cpu next fall and will probably buy an x570 board too. The problem is what other boards have 2 bios chips as well as the case fans tied to the gpu? I might end up with a Biostar GT9.

#YouMightThinkItsOk
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #43 of 62 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 11:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 460
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
I made a order for this motherboard yesterday, if things go well I will be receiving it next week.

The Biostar X470GT8.

I will be seeing for myself if the memory OC features suck as people have been claiming all over the net thus far.
It has 4phases for SoC @60Amps each for &¤% sake! Overkill as... you know.

Got a little bored with my old board.

NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)
Nighthog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 62 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 09:10 AM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,629
Rep: 303 (Unique: 174)
Let us know how you do. I got 4 sticks of E-die 3200 cl16 ram. It will run at 3200 but is not stable, which is pretty much what I expected from 4 sticks. It is stable at 2933 and using blck I got it to 3030 cl14.

#YouMightThinkItsOk
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #45 of 62 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 04:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 460
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
So far it seems to be a nightmare.

Got the board after work on Monday and went ahead and pulled apart my WC and installed it a new. Took time to get that WC working and it's still has issues, water pump is not pushing any water what so ever basically. Will have to strip it down and see what's wrong.

The Board Biostar X470GT8 works to boot and use but as others have said it's not a easy board to use with settings placed all over the BIOS. I'm finding all kinds of "errata fixes" that can be enabled/disabled everywhere.

I'm not finding some critical Memory related settings to adjust. For example AddrCmdSetup/CsOdtSetup/CkeSetup neither do I find the CLKDrv settings (they report 120Ohm)
CLSO_VDDP is missing
RTC doesn't report the set ProcODT so no idea what AUTO is set at etc.

And the board has bad Memory voltage setting and XMP doesn't set my memory to their rated speed. (3466) they try 3200mhz.
Either way I got actually sick from wrestling this together yesterday so will have some time today to tinker to try things on the memory if I don't get feeling to ill.

I've only yet gotten 3200 and 3333 to boot thus far. There seems to be issues and I think it's related to the settings I can't find.

NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)
Nighthog is offline  
post #46 of 62 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 11:24 AM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,629
Rep: 303 (Unique: 174)
Ouch! It sounds like they "simplified" the bios. It's been so long since I messed with mine that I don't recognize most of the terms you used, but I know the GT7 does let you set procodt. That one I remember. I tried the memory tool and found that a few settings could not be set as they were not there. And the GT8 has even less settings? I may have to bail on my plan to buy a GT9 for a 3xxx cpu.

#YouMightThinkItsOk
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #47 of 62 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 01:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 460
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
CLSO_VDDP is for "memory holes" and CLKDrv are quite significant at times to get correct I find it odd not to find them at all and tools report 120Ohm which is something that shouldn't be used.
Most don't change the AddrCmD/CsOdt/Cke from stock but I found some better stability on my Gigabyte to tinker with them a little.

I wanted to try CLSO_VDDP as the board outright refused to set 3466 and above speeds. Thought maybe it was a memory hole issue. But can't test it now.
I tried some different SoC voltage adjustments and some other things but they had no effect whatsoever on the specific problem.

I really did get sick shortly after posting so been asleep most of the day so tinkering will be have to postponed for some other day.

NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)
Nighthog is offline  
post #48 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 06:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 460
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
After a week of testing with current BIOS it's not possible to run high voltage or higher memory speeds as it currently stands than 3200Mhz on RAM.

There are some kind of issue related to the way memory voltage is set as the higher voltage you try to use the harder the board has in trying to do a clean POST without resetting the BIOS. Basically impossible with anything reaching 1.35V or above. Change a setting or reboot and all gets reset with ever more difficulty reaching max voltage 1.500V (I which this was at least 1.600V MAX)
And the missing RAM options might help but still just speculation. I've requested a updated BIOS with these features and 1.0.0.6, but it seems kinda hopeless.

I'm not impressed as it stands. The BIOS is filled with what seems ECC, encryption and server related settings if that is your preferences. Though I reckon most of these settings will need to be set to "disabled" if you want to OC as it stands compared to the other board vendors. Though none hurt directly leaving AUTO everything but it's a hassle setting everything the way you want if you get a BIOS reset over and over again which is easy when trying things with the RAM perimeters.

Sure the CPU OC is EASY on this board. the VRM doesn't sweat delivering 1.550-1.600V to the CPU in the 4.05-4.10Ghz range barely reaching 60C doing a bench. And that is with max 500khertz Vcore frequency and max 450khertz VsoC frequency. You have more trouble getting your CPU not to reach MAX temperatures even with custom water cooling before they sweat a bit at all.

VRM ++ grade. (4+2 with doublers for effective 8+4 phase and 60Amps each)
RAM features --- grade (they don't work at all but the most basic options)
Sound +- (no preference, ALC 1220 is ok)

others:
Fan headers are only PWM, no voltage option for 3pin(they run max speed).
The extra power/reset/cmos-clear buttons are a ++ feature on the board itself.
dual-bios with the switch is good. Though I've not managed to brick the BIOS yet on this board as I did several times on my Gigabyte.
LN2 switch is nice but probably not to useful for most usages. Sets clock to 550Mhz and 1.250Volts. You can use it on the fly with computer running.
10k capacitors is ok + feature, compared to the standard 5k everywhere. Though does it matter in the end?
The RAM slots are kinda a hassle to get the memory inserted into, they are only 1 side latched. Took a while for me to figure out how to get them into place properly, it's easy to do it wrong here.
- feature there

I'm at a loss here currently. Not being able to run higher memory speeds gimps performance significantly compared to my dinky AB350-Gaming 3. the better VRM doesn't help getting more CPU speed to take the hit and compensate for the lack of RAM speed. I could reach 4.0Ghz on the gigabyte and run it on desktop and regular use, with this board sure I now can stress test if I want and never have to worry about overheating the VRM but I'm reaching the limits of my CPU silicon to handle the voltages required to reach higher clocks.
I'm already at 1.600Volts for 4.1Ghz and hitting max temperature and degradation "facts". Release day silicon FTW...

Will have to wait and see if a new BIOS fixes anything on the RAM department.

I tried my Kingston 3466Mhz 19-23-23 1.200 kits and my Corsair 2666 16-18-18 kit in the board and it had more trouble with my dual-rank 2x8Gb corsair kit than the single-rank 2or4x8Gb Kingston.
I could get the Kingston to boot at times with 3333Mhz but testing showed errors and a reboot reset everything every time. 2x8Gb Kingston once booted 3466Mhz but was instant blue screen and I could never get it for another try.
Corsair I didn't try too much as XMP returned errors and I could not get it error free with the usual quick tricks like procODT and RTT values. It always wanted to overvolt this kit to 1.350V when it's rated 1.200volts and worked as such on the other board. Probably would have needed to tinker with the memory timings to some degree but I was utterly sick of trying any more. It was always a little tricky kit as I recall even on the Gigabyte.
Could not get it to 3200Mhz as I had OC:ed it to on the Gigabyte. Probably the ram voltage thing as it needed to be 1.470-1.500V to run as such.

Take the above as you want.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0049.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	2.40 MB
ID:	256788  


NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)
Nighthog is offline  
post #49 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-02-2019, 07:50 AM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,629
Rep: 303 (Unique: 174)
Thank you for the detailed effort you put into this board. You did a lot more than I have the knowledge to do.



The whole ram issue really degrades its value and they didn't have to do it. I've been running my G Skill ram at 1.4+v for 19 months now and there are more settings than I know how to use. I'm sure someone with more knowledge could get it to run at higher clocks. As you have noted, cpu clocks are secondary to ram OCing and they gimped that. Dunno why. I heard a rumor that their bios development department consists of one guy in Korea.



Other:


PWM fans only are not an issue for me but might be for others. I do like the detailed fan control software and that the case fans are tied to the system temps instead of the cpu temps as this makes OCing the gpu better on air. I will be looking for this in my next board.



I have bricked the bios a few times and the dual bios is something I will also be looking for in my next board.


The ram slots are the same design as my ASUS boards use so I was already used to that system.


I do hope Biostar puts some effort into their bios in the future.

#YouMightThinkItsOk
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #50 of 62 (permalink) Old 03-03-2019, 12:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 460
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
The fan control is kinda basic, it's better on gigabyte boards. I didn't see any alternative to choose which temperature reading the fan speeds are controlled by on this board. You could freely choose this on Gigabyte boards to any of the temperature sensors available and had 3pin voltage and 4pin pwm control for each port. It's a step down for Biostar to the competition. They are more advanced feature full.

I like the older style dual latch ram slots. Easier to get a better fit and see them go in position. These one sided latches I often didn't get the ram down well enough. They were half down often when I thought they were in place. You have to use more force for them to get into position and even then they don't feel as secure. Just my first time with these kind of slots.

EDIT:
After further testing there seriously is something wrong with memory voltage setting on how it's handled. As long as I let it be AUTO and not mess with it I can change memory timings however I want without issues as long as I don't go to tight for the current voltage. (auto gives ~1.200V for this kit I use)

The moment I change the voltage with tested stable settings it refuses to post/boot and resets the BIOS. Basically every time I try with higher voltages that is, smaller changes might pass but it's not working as intended I can concur. Voltage should not cause POST issues and bios resets with stable settings however I wish to try it. Probably a BIOS bug.

NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)

Last edited by Nighthog; 03-03-2019 at 04:02 AM.
Nighthog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off