ASUS C7H - SSD not being picked up sometimes! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS C7H - SSD not being picked up sometimes!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
ASUS C7H - SSD not being picked up sometimes!

Hello fellow CH7 owners and possible anyone else experienced with SSD's!

Ever since upgrading to this board when it released along with a Ryzen 2700x I have had this annoying issue where the SSD would not sometimes be picked up by the board, it would completely vanish on the bios and only a restart or 2 from bios would bring it back.

Initially I put this down to system instability or early bios release etc, but having had this system for over a few months and now on the latest bios (1103) I am still getting this annoying problem. The drive in question is a Crucial MX100 256 GB, according to the crucial diagnostic software the drive is in good health!

I am very close to switching the drive out but wanted to find out if anyone else had any similar problems with booting from their ssd's to rule out the board being the problem rather then my ssd.

Thanks for any responses in advance,

regards,
R

System:
- Ryzen 2700x
- ASUS Strix 1080ti
- Asus ROG C7H
- TEAM GROUP DARK PRO " EDITION" 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 PC4-25600C14 3200MHZ
- PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1+ 1000W
Robi_uk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 03:22 PM
Riding on the edge
 
The Sandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 3,142
Rep: 351 (Unique: 247)
If system is OC'd using bclk could be the issue.
You'll find a lot of real good info here on the C7H https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...ng-thread.html if you haven't come across it yet!


Welcome to OCN!

Ryzen Build
(20 items)
Bruce
(14 items)
CPU
R7 2700x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
GSkill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 SSD
Hard Drive
Corsair GT SSD
Hard Drive
WD 2TB Black
Hard Drive
WD 4TB Red
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2
Cooling
XSPC GPU Razor WB
Cooling
XSPC RX 360
Cooling
XSPC RS 360
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850 rpm
Cooling
EK-FB Asus C6H Monoblock
Cooling
XSPC EX140
Case
Xigmatek Elysium
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VE248H x2
CPU
FX 6350
Motherboard
Asus CHV-Z
GPU
PNY GT 710
RAM
G.Skill Trident X 16GTX 1866MHz 8-9-9-24-33-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Hard Drive
WD20EFRX 64M Red x4 raid 10
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS Blk
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Power Supply
Corsair HX500
Cooling
Hyper 212 Evo R2
Case
Corsair 330R Titainium
Operating System
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
Monitor
Asus
Keyboard
Logitech MK300
▲ hide details ▲


The Sandman is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 03:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,085
Rep: 6 (Unique: 3)
If it's on one of the SATA 5 or 6 ports that might be an issue. Have you tried different SATA ports and different SATA power and data cables.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-08-2019, 11:46 AM
Geek
 
gseeley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
A Google of "crucial mx100 disappears" tells me it's probably the SSD.

Rig 1: Corsair 900D, Corsair AX760 PS, Zenith Extreme, TR 1950x, Noctua NH-U12S TR4-SP3, 128GB G.Skill F4-3200C14-16TZR, Asus Strix GTX 1080TI 11G, LSI 9361-8i (Raid), LSI 9201-16i (IT), RocketU 1344A USB 3.1, I350 Gigabit 4-port, 2 x 256GB Samsung 860 Pro SSD, 2 x 2TB WD Red, 2 x 1TB 960 Pro NVme, 275GB Crucial 275MX M.2, 240GB Intel 730 SSD, 1TB Samsung 860 SSD, 4 x 6GB WD Red, 4 x 8GB WD Red, 4 x 10TB WD Red, LG BD-RE, 15 Noctua fans, 4 Corsair fans, ESX 6.5 running 8 VMs
gseeley is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-10-2019, 01:57 PM
Black Sun Empire
 
Wuest3nFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tyrol/Alps
Posts: 600
Rep: 36 (Unique: 29)
Quote: Originally Posted by Robi_uk View Post
Hello fellow CH7 owners and possible anyone else experienced with SSD's!

Ever since upgrading to this board when it released along with a Ryzen 2700x I have had this annoying issue where the SSD would not sometimes be picked up by the board, it would completely vanish on the bios and only a restart or 2 from bios would bring it back.

Initially I put this down to system instability or early bios release etc, but having had this system for over a few months and now on the latest bios (1103) I am still getting this annoying problem. The drive in question is a Crucial MX100 256 GB, according to the crucial diagnostic software the drive is in good health!

I am very close to switching the drive out but wanted to find out if anyone else had any similar problems with booting from their ssd's to rule out the board being the problem rather then my ssd.

Thanks for any responses in advance,

regards,
R

System:
- Ryzen 2700x
- ASUS Strix 1080ti
- Asus ROG C7H
- TEAM GROUP DARK PRO " EDITION" 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 PC4-25600C14 3200MHZ
- PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1+ 1000W
hi man! i feel your pain, having the same Board but other issues. actually i have 1x 840evo 500gb with a fresh installed Linux mint. 1x 860evo 250gb dir Festung purposes ,debugging .1x crucial m4 which is now in my daughters rig on x470 TUF GAMING BOARD. 1x crucial mx500 250gb as main sys ssd and a One Tb model of the same series .
My system never lost a ssd or hdd. Not talking bout my 3tb hdd from seagate which i lost during changing the mobo from prime to a c7h. 3 boots ans all data was gone...all of it...passwordmanager ,isos, nearly 250gb were free from 3tb .it was my Main backup HDD. so i dont wanna say it was the Board that killed my backup HDD.

Can you please try the following
>clear cmos> flashing bios via USB flashback
1002 or the bios of your choice .
gupsterg told me today to Better Stick with 1002 .

Hope it helps, on my issues i think i have todo a RMA.


Gesendet von meinem SM-G950F mit Tapatalk

Watercoolingbox
https://www.overclock.net/t/1352993/...oolingbox/0_20
Fury0s4
(18 items)
CPU
2700X
Motherboard
Asus ROG Crosshair Hero VII
GPU
Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
RAM
GSkill F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
Crucial MX 500
Hard Drive
Crucial MX 500
Optical Drive
Pioneer BDR S09 XLT
Power Supply
BeQuiet Straight Power
Cooling
BeQuiet Silent Loop 240mm
Case
BeQuiet DARK BASE PRO 900 Silver rev. 2
Operating System
Win 10 1803
Monitor
AOC Agon AG241QX, 23.8"
Keyboard
Steelseries M750
Mouse
Steelseries Sensei 310
Mousepad
Steelseries DEX
Audio
Steelseries Arctis 5
Audio
Sound Blaster X-Fi titanium HD
Other
Tobii Eyetracer 4c
CPU
Ryzen 5 2400G
Motherboard
Asus TUF X470 PLUS GAMING
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport AT DIMM Kit 16GB Single Ranked BLS2K8G4D30CESTK
Hard Drive
Samsung SM843 MZ7TD240HAFV-000DA
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Power Supply
be quiet! Straight Power 11 550W ATX 2.4 (BN281)
Cooling
Ryzen 7 Wraith RGB
Case
Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Operating System
Win 10 1803 / Server 2016 Standard
Monitor
Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 LED, 23" (LS23EFPKFVEN)
▲ hide details ▲
Wuest3nFuchs is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 02:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Thanks for the reply! I have not logged into this forum for a while so did not notice this. I think my issues was most likely the SSD starting to fail/acting up. I have bought a Samsung EVO 970 M2 since and have not had this issue again. Foolishly I decided to use the Crucial drive as the paging disk on Windows and was experincing random lockups, where system would just freeze for upto a minute or 2 before responding again. I have since disabled this also now and I have had no issues for over a month now.
Robi_uk is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 03:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: C:\Countries\EU\Denmark
Posts: 1,256
Rep: 56 (Unique: 55)
Update bios as #5 suggested - had same issue with stock bios.
DoctorNick is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Yes I have also updated the BIOS, was still getting this after a few bios updates I was thinking its the SSD. I did not use the flashback method though, I just did update from within BIOS, does this matter as much?
Not a big deal anymore for me now as I have not had thos issue anymore since switching to my M2 drive.
Robi_uk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off