MSI Meg Creation, Top PCI-E Not Running 16x ? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

MSI Meg Creation, Top PCI-E Not Running 16x ?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,832
MSI Meg Creation, Top PCI-E Not Running 16x ?

Hey Chaps,

I did remember reading something on this a little while ago but cannot remember whether this is a hardware limitation or not. Anyway, I have my very top PCI-E slot (Where my GPU resides) set to 16x in the BIOS, however in my BIOS hardware monitor as well as GPU-Z in Windows shows it as running at 8x, is there a way to force it at 16x ?

Looking at the tech specs for the board I can see:

Quote:
2x PCIe 3.0 x16 slots (PCIE_1, PCIE_4)
2x PCIe 3.0 x8 slots (PCIE_3, PCIE_5)
1x PCIE 2.0 x1 Slot
Source: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/MEG-.../Specification

Now as I am using Slot 1, I would expect a full 16x speed so far as what the specifications are telling me as well.

The only other items I have running that would use PCI-E lanes are 2x M.2 Nvme drives but I doubt they are the problem.

Please see attached images of my BIOS relating to the PCI-E Slots.

Any ideas would be great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	425.4 KB
ID:	247226  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	553.5 KB
ID:	247228  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	17
Size:	361.1 KB
ID:	247232  



Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form




Last edited by ENTERPRISE; 01-17-2019 at 11:36 AM.
ENTERPRISE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 11:45 AM
Retired Staff
 
JedixJarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 9,348
Rep: 304 (Unique: 243)
Are you running a 2990WX?


JedixJarf is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,832
That I am. Would I be right in thinking its down to the core config ?


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 12:31 PM
Retired Staff
 
JedixJarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 9,348
Rep: 304 (Unique: 243)
Try to run the single card on PCI_E4 per the documentation?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	23
Size:	95.3 KB
ID:	247246  



JedixJarf is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,832
Thanks, not sure how I missed that, you are right. However ! As I am going multiple GPU I guess this is all be a moot point as each card will run 8x anyway.


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 02:20 PM
Not so new anymore...
 
VaultDweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: New Jersey, USA from Montréal, CA
Posts: 23
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ENTERPRISE View Post
Thanks, not sure how I missed that, you are right. However ! As I am going multiple GPU I guess this is all be a moot point as each card will run 8x anyway.

I think I have the same setup as you: MSI MEG Creation, 2990WX, 2x 2080Tis. I card in slot 1 and 1 in slot 4. Below are screenshot from HWInfo for each. Both are running at 16x unless I'm reading this wrong.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPU_0.PNG
Views:	14
Size:	106.1 KB
ID:	247272  

Click image for larger version

Name:	GPU_1.PNG
Views:	18
Size:	106.1 KB
ID:	247274  


CPU
Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX
Motherboard
MSI MEG X399 CREATION
GPU
2x GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
RAM
Corsair CMR128GX4MZ2933C1
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 970 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA T1600
Case
Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
3x ACER Predator XB1
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Dark Core RGB
Other
Obutto R3Volution Cockpit
▲ hide details ▲
VaultDweller is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,832
Quote: Originally Posted by VaultDweller View Post
I think I have the same setup as you: MSI MEG Creation, 2990WX, 2x 2080Tis. I card in slot 1 and 1 in slot 4. Below are screenshot from HWInfo for each. Both are running at 16x unless I'm reading this wrong.
Interesting, I wish I had taken note of my lane speed prior to upgrading the BIOS. I am on a BETA 1.31 BIOS, which could possibly be the cause. I will have to speak with others on the 1.31 to see if they have a similar issue. Out of interest could you please look at GPU-Z and see what that says about the PCI-E speed ?

Cheers.
E


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 08:23 AM
Not so new anymore...
 
VaultDweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: New Jersey, USA from Montréal, CA
Posts: 23
Rep: 0
Sure. Here you go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPU-1.PNG
Views:	15
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	247492  

Click image for larger version

Name:	GPU-2.PNG
Views:	15
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	247494  


CPU
Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX
Motherboard
MSI MEG X399 CREATION
GPU
2x GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
RAM
Corsair CMR128GX4MZ2933C1
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 970 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA T1600
Case
Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
3x ACER Predator XB1
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Dark Core RGB
Other
Obutto R3Volution Cockpit
▲ hide details ▲
VaultDweller is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 08:38 AM
Hardware Gearhead
 
ikem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: IA
Posts: 2,084
Rep: 124 (Unique: 104)
Quote: Originally Posted by VaultDweller View Post
Sure. Here you go.
looks like it is 16x, but only at 1.1 speeds. Enterprise's is 8x 3.0

Very interesting.

.
TJ-10
(12 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Apex
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 3600 2x8gb
Hard Drive
Intel 120gb SSD (OS)
Hard Drive
10tb worth of HDDs
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro RGB
Case
Silverstone TJ10-BW
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB
Mouse
Corsair Scimitar PRO RGB
▲ hide details ▲


ikem is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-18-2019, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,832
Quote: Originally Posted by VaultDweller View Post
Sure. Here you go.
Thanks, very interesting.

Quote: Originally Posted by ikem View Post
looks like it is 16x, but only at 1.1 speeds. Enterprise's is 8x 3.0

Very interesting.
Actually, that is normal, if you are not running a 3D intensive task, the board actually Clocks down the mode to 1.1, as soon as you start anything intensive it does up to 3.0


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off