2700x Crosshair VII Hero Overclocking - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

2700x Crosshair VII Hero Overclocking

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
theocurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
2700x Crosshair VII Hero Overclocking

Hi everyone, just made the move from my FX8350 to a R2700x, finally, and wow...
PC specs:
ASUS Crosshair VII hero [1201BIOS]
Ryzen 2700x Custom WC
16GB Hyperx Predator @[email protected] 18 18 39 85
EVGA GTX 980ti Kraken g12 WC

I have been doing some tweeking, watching videos, and reading forums, and am finally @3.7ghz that boosts to 4.2ghz, i think...
when i am not gaming it seems to idle at 4.14ghz, i think.. so not the 3.7 it says in task manager
See i would like the same as with my FX that on idle it was low core and voltage, and on demand power. Still scratching my head.
Also i knew the HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit wouldnt work at the stated 4000mhz but can't go any higher then 3600.
Any tips are welcome as i am new to ryzen.

MY PC
(9 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti BLACK EDITION
RAM
HYPERX PREDATOR - HX440C19PB3AK2
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3
Cooling
CUSTOM WATERCOOLING
Case
COOLER MASTER STACKER 935+915F+915R
Operating System
Windows 10 1809
▲ hide details ▲
theocurtis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 04:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,452
Rep: 18 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by theocurtis View Post
Hi everyone, just made the move from my FX8350 to a R2700x, finally, and wow...
PC specs:
ASUS Crosshair VII hero [1201BIOS]
Ryzen 2700x Custom WC
16GB Hyperx Predator @[email protected] 18 18 39 85
EVGA GTX 980ti Kraken g12 WC

I have been doing some tweeking, watching videos, and reading forums, and am finally @3.7ghz that boosts to 4.2ghz, i think...
when i am not gaming it seems to idle at 4.14ghz, i think.. so not the 3.7 it says in task manager
See i would like the same as with my FX that on idle it was low core and voltage, and on demand power. Still scratching my head.
Also i knew the HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit wouldnt work at the stated 4000mhz but can't go any higher then 3600.
Any tips are welcome as i am new to ryzen.
- In Windows power plan you'll need to make certain Minimum Processor State is set to a value below 50%. If you don't then the CPU can't go through all its p-states. You can use whichever Windows power plan you'd like.
- Set Performance Bias in BIOS to anything. It optimizes CPU cache and anything is better than nothing.
- Performance Enhancer Level 3 and Level 4 will lock the multiplier and it will not downclock. It's a PBO overclock. Performance Enhancer Level 1 or Level 2 is regular PBO. Any of these will allow the CPU to reach all it's speeds as long as you have Minimum Processor State in Windows power plan to below 50%.
- If you set a manual VCORE voltage then the CPU will behaved as overclocked and will not reach all its speeds. You have to use an offset positive or negative.
- Find the 1usmus DRAM Calculator for Ryzen. Some folks can do 3600MHz with 14-14-14-14 timings while many more have to use 3600MHz 14-15-14-14. Some can get 3666MHz stable with reasonable voltages and very few 3733MHz.
- Get into the Crosshair VII forum.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 05:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
theocurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Hi, thank you for replying so quick, and sorry i hadn't replyied. I have Been trying to get this thing stable it a nightmare, sometimes i can play for hours, and then sometimes it crashes on desktop. thought it might have been my 5y old PSU so i replaced it. but nope.... I have up to date drivers, bios, windows...
Windows is on a custom power plan with minimum @ 5%
and apart from the changes on the images all the rest is on auto..
Attached Images
File Type: bmp 190221130300.BMP (3.00 MB, 121 views)
File Type: bmp 190221130312.BMP (3.00 MB, 84 views)
File Type: bmp 190221130321.BMP (3.00 MB, 81 views)
File Type: bmp 190221130329.BMP (3.00 MB, 69 views)
File Type: bmp 190221130336.BMP (3.00 MB, 65 views)
File Type: bmp 190221130344.BMP (3.00 MB, 69 views)

MY PC
(9 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti BLACK EDITION
RAM
HYPERX PREDATOR - HX440C19PB3AK2
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3
Cooling
CUSTOM WATERCOOLING
Case
COOLER MASTER STACKER 935+915F+915R
Operating System
Windows 10 1809
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by theocurtis; 02-21-2019 at 05:18 AM.
theocurtis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
theocurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
See could it be my RAM? I have been trying to run it @ 3600 at stock voltage 1.35v, now that might be low compared to the 1.44v that 1usmus 3600 settings for my stick, but i was under the impression that HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit was [email protected] so @3600 should be the same maybe less no?

MY PC
(9 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti BLACK EDITION
RAM
HYPERX PREDATOR - HX440C19PB3AK2
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3
Cooling
CUSTOM WATERCOOLING
Case
COOLER MASTER STACKER 935+915F+915R
Operating System
Windows 10 1809
▲ hide details ▲
theocurtis is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
theocurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
https://imgur.com/a/NoenVpj

MY PC
(9 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti BLACK EDITION
RAM
HYPERX PREDATOR - HX440C19PB3AK2
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3
Cooling
CUSTOM WATERCOOLING
Case
COOLER MASTER STACKER 935+915F+915R
Operating System
Windows 10 1809
▲ hide details ▲
theocurtis is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 11:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,872
Rep: 868 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by theocurtis View Post
See could it be my RAM? I have been trying to run it @ 3600 at stock voltage 1.35v, now that might be low compared to the 1.44v that 1usmus 3600 settings for my stick, but i was under the impression that HX440C19PB3AK2/16 Kit was [email protected] so @3600 should be the same maybe less no?
Looking at those BIOS settings, i noticed you set TPUII and then made more changes after. Never tried that way. To my understanding TPU allows for auto oc'ing, so all other settings for the cpu should be left alone. Now, the ram i guess can be adjusted either DOCP or using the calculator. I'd recommend the latter for 3600 MHz up. Try DOCP for 3200-3466 @ 1.35V.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 10:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Where the West Begins
Posts: 224
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I have f4-3600c16d-16gtzr b-die kit and I have to reduce my memory frequency to 3533 from the docp 3600 to run stable at 16-16-16-16-36 docp timings.

I have the 4266cl19 trident royal b-die kit and it is unable to run the above timings at 3600. Best I was able to run it on my imc was 3400 with cl14 timings.

CPU is 2700x/c7h with soc at 1.125v, vdram at 1.425v. I will be trying out nick name's tightened timings from above this weekend. I am more hopeful about the 3600 kit on my ryzen than the 4266 kit, looking to build a 9900k to try and maximize the faster kit freqs.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Bill Murray
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 2700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair 7 Wifi
GPU
ROG Poseidon 1080TI
GPU
ROG Poseidon 1080TI
RAM
F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Hard Drive
Seagate BAArracude
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G3
Cooling
Custom Cooling Loop
Case
Corsair Obsidian 900D
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Glaive
Other
Corsair RGB Headset Stand
▲ hide details ▲
specialedge is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-24-2019, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
theocurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
So i put everything at stock, xmp profile for 3600, and i get these errors, could this be the culprit?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190224_221323.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	1.18 MB
ID:	255544  


MY PC
(9 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti BLACK EDITION
RAM
HYPERX PREDATOR - HX440C19PB3AK2
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3
Cooling
CUSTOM WATERCOOLING
Case
COOLER MASTER STACKER 935+915F+915R
Operating System
Windows 10 1809
▲ hide details ▲
theocurtis is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 02:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,367
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by theocurtis View Post
So i put everything at stock, xmp profile for 3600, and i get these errors, could this be the culprit?
I bet your main problem for not being fully stable is your RAM OC! Running 3600 needs a lot of fiddle and then still it isn't 100% stable! Believe me, i have weeks/months of test-results with more then 6 ramkits.
I can run several Ramtest with +10K% success stability test and still getting random issues.
For daily use i recommend not going above 3466/3533mhz on RAM OC. If you want zero issues, then just select 3466 + 14 14 14 14 28 42 (1.4v) and leave your sub timings till you know you are 100% stable with base RAM OC.

majestynl is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 03:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
theocurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Small but big question, my RAM is rated [email protected] i should never go above that when underclocking? No?

MY PC
(9 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti BLACK EDITION
RAM
HYPERX PREDATOR - HX440C19PB3AK2
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3
Cooling
CUSTOM WATERCOOLING
Case
COOLER MASTER STACKER 935+915F+915R
Operating System
Windows 10 1809
▲ hide details ▲
theocurtis is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off