Boot says CPU fan error - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Boot says CPU fan error

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
I took this profile pic
 
Thready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 3,942
Rep: 136 (Unique: 107)
Boot says CPU fan error

Upon boot, my splash screen says CPU fan error, press F1 to continue. After loading Windows, I open HW Monitor and everything seems fine. I also ran 5 minutes of Prime 95 and my CPU temps remained fine and my fan acted accordingly. It sped up then when the test was over it slowed down. I'm posting this in Motherboard section because I think it may be a motherboard issue and the motherboard is what detected it, I think.

It has no other fans inside it. It has good ventilation and it never gets hot. Any advice? Thanks

Instagram @patrickmcguirkphotos & @mcguirk.patrick @patrickmcguirkportraits
Psychology grad student, computer hobbyist, self taught photographer
I'm really funny but I don't know when to stop.
I took my profile pic.
Zen
(17 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
GPU
RX Vega 56
RAM
24 GB DDR4 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo NVME 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX 500 256GB
Hard Drive
WD Black 3 TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 TB
Power Supply
Antec Earthwatts 650
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus mx27a
Monitor
hp 2009 m
Keyboard
Corsair MR Brown
Mouse
Razer Naga
Audio
Soundblaster Omni
▲ hide details ▲
Thready is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 10:36 AM
I can count to potato
 
Fluxmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: OBX
Posts: 443
Rep: 40 (Unique: 15)
Is your CPU fan plugged into the fan header marked CPU Fan?. If you just have it plugged into any random fan header, the fan will obviously work, but unless there is something connected to the CPU fan header, most boards will throw that error.

Darling
(20 items)
Sanic
(8 items)
Arctic
(12 items)
CPU
3900x
Motherboard
MSI x570 Ace
GPU
MSI Ventus OC RTX 2080
GPU
GTX 1080 FE
RAM
TridentZ B-die 3200cl14
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750 with heatsink
Hard Drive
WD Black SN750
Hard Drive
Micron 5100 Pro (SATA m.2)
Optical Drive
LG Bluray drive
Power Supply
EVGA 1200 P2
Cooling
Custom loop
Case
Little Devil PC-V7
Monitor
Omen 32
Monitor
Huion Kamvas GT-220 v2 Graphics drawing display
Keyboard
Clueboard w/ 67g Zealios
Mouse
Glorious Model O
Mousepad
Tekmat AR-15 gun cleaning mat
Audio
JBL 306 MKII studio montors
Audio
Focusrite 2i4 Gen2
Audio
Monolith 10" THX sub
CPU
i7 6700
Motherboard
GA-Z270N-Gaming 5
GPU
GTX Titan Black
RAM
16GB Ripjaws 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
WD Blue 3D m.2
Power Supply
Corsair AX760
Cooling
Custom loop with external MO-RA3
Case
InWin D-Frame Mini
CPU
i7 6700
Motherboard
MSI h270 tomahawk arctic
GPU
EVGA GTX 960 FTW 4GB
RAM
Basic 2133 16GB kit
Hard Drive
WD Black
Hard Drive
WD Gold
Hard Drive
Toshiba x300
Hard Drive
Patriot Scorch m.2
Optical Drive
LG Bluray drive
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 G2
Cooling
Cryorig H7
Case
Maingear Shift
▲ hide details ▲
Fluxmaven is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 11:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In Van Down by the River
Posts: 1,431
Rep: 48 (Unique: 31)
Boot says CPU fan error

Should be able to tell your bios to ignore that under settings.

It think that you don’t have any cooling installed

My Baby
(23 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Optimus Signature V2
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink w/ 2x NB-BlackSilent Pro's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 560GTX w/ 8x Arctic P14 PST PWM's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 480GTX w/ 16x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS w/ 6 Arctic P12 PST PWM's
Case
Case Labs Magnum TH10A with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG278Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Light Harmonic Oscar XXI
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 11:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
umeng2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,259
Rep: 175 (Unique: 111)
Sometimes the rpm signal is flakey and can read zero. One of my old Noctua fans from 2009 has the rpm signal read zero momentarily, but the fan works normally. You should have and option to ignore the CPU fan warning in the BIOS.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X470-Pro
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
TeamGroup T-Force 16 GB (2x8) Pro Dark (B-die TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum SSR-750PX
Cooling
Corsair H80i (not V2 or GT)
Monitor
LG 34UC80-B
Keyboard
Logitech G413
Mouse
Logitech G503 RGB
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Z (OEM)
▲ hide details ▲
umeng2002 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
I took this profile pic
 
Thready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 3,942
Rep: 136 (Unique: 107)
Quote: Originally Posted by Fluxmaven View Post
Is your CPU fan plugged into the fan header marked CPU Fan?. If you just have it plugged into any random fan header, the fan will obviously work, but unless there is something connected to the CPU fan header, most boards will throw that error.
Yeah it's all plugged in right. I think the problem is like the other 2 said. I just disabled it in the bios.

Instagram @patrickmcguirkphotos & @mcguirk.patrick @patrickmcguirkportraits
Psychology grad student, computer hobbyist, self taught photographer
I'm really funny but I don't know when to stop.
I took my profile pic.
Zen
(17 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
GPU
RX Vega 56
RAM
24 GB DDR4 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo NVME 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX 500 256GB
Hard Drive
WD Black 3 TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 TB
Power Supply
Antec Earthwatts 650
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus mx27a
Monitor
hp 2009 m
Keyboard
Corsair MR Brown
Mouse
Razer Naga
Audio
Soundblaster Omni
▲ hide details ▲
Thready is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter
I took this profile pic
 
Thready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 3,942
Rep: 136 (Unique: 107)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shawnb99 View Post
Should be able to tell your bios to ignore that under settings.

It think that you don’t have any cooling installed
Quote: Originally Posted by umeng2002 View Post
Sometimes the rpm signal is flakey and can read zero. One of my old Noctua fans from 2009 has the rpm signal read zero momentarily, but the fan works normally. You should have and option to ignore the CPU fan warning in the BIOS.
Thanks everyone. I went ahead and disabled it in the bios.

Instagram @patrickmcguirkphotos & @mcguirk.patrick @patrickmcguirkportraits
Psychology grad student, computer hobbyist, self taught photographer
I'm really funny but I don't know when to stop.
I took my profile pic.
Zen
(17 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
GPU
RX Vega 56
RAM
24 GB DDR4 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo NVME 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX 500 256GB
Hard Drive
WD Black 3 TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 TB
Power Supply
Antec Earthwatts 650
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus mx27a
Monitor
hp 2009 m
Keyboard
Corsair MR Brown
Mouse
Razer Naga
Audio
Soundblaster Omni
▲ hide details ▲
Thready is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off