ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme Alpha X399 Overclocking/Support - Page 8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme Alpha X399 Overclocking/Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 119 (permalink) Old 07-31-2019, 08:58 AM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 113
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by OrionBG View Post
Guys, have any of you heard of a monoblock for this board?
Yeah.... No. The VRM block is too big for any monoblock.

O Captain! My Captain!
Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-01-2019, 04:08 AM
The IT guy...
 
OrionBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 386
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by thagabe View Post
Yeah.... No. The VRM block is too big for any monoblock.
I've seen monoblocks shaped like a "T" that cover similarly shaped VRMs... just not one for the Alpha...
BTW I read today that according to some sources, ASUS is already working on the Zenith Extreme II with X599 chipset but we will see...

T.I.T.A.N.
(14 items)
CPU
Threadripper 3960x
Motherboard
Aorus TRx40 Xtreme
GPU
EVGA RTX2080Ti XC
GPU
EVGA RTX2080Ti XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 8x8GB 3200MHz CAS14
Hard Drive
SP P34A80
Hard Drive
SP P34A80
Hard Drive
Samsung PM961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
Custom Loop Water Cooling
Case
Raijintek Enyo
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG 55" OLED B9
Audio
Creative SoundBlaster Omni 5.1
▲ hide details ▲
OrionBG is offline  
post #73 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 12:47 PM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 113
Rep: 0
@gupsterg

New Flash 2001 dropped. Mainly memory stability. I hope this helps me. My 10+ hour stability OC suddenly started to get errors? then 1 day I got like 3 league of legends crashes but every other day no issues???? Like what the hecker

O Captain! My Captain!
Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #74 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
Quote: Originally Posted by thagabe View Post
@gupsterg

New Flash 2001 dropped. Mainly memory stability. I hope this helps me. My 10+ hour stability OC suddenly started to get errors? then 1 day I got like 3 league of legends crashes but every other day no issues???? Like what the hecker
I can't say I had issues on 1901, even HWINFO freezing some data on TurboV Core opening wasn't a biggie.

I went 2001 today, my usual profile on ZE with ZEA non issue again, will try the C14 setup I used on ZEA+1901 later.

Spoiler!


Notes: Room ambient ~24C, SOC: 1.056V VDIMM: 1.355V VTTDDR: 0.675V, ProcODT: 60, Gear Down Mode & Power Down Mode Disabled, Command Rate: 1T, RTT & CAD Bus timings/strengths [Auto], BankSwapGroup: Disabled BankGroupSwapAlt: Enabled, PMU Menu Enabled/Disabled/5h.

The freeze of some monitoring data under ASUS WMI in HWINFO still occurred when TurboV Core v1.02.02 was opened, but with v1.05.03 beta it does not happen .

*** edit ***

Reran 3400C15 profile again.

Spoiler!

Last edited by gupsterg; 08-08-2019 at 04:19 PM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #75 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 11:34 AM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 113
Rep: 0
@gupsterg

Good stuff, I also updated to the latest BIOS and my memory issues are gone [email protected] Ran Karhu Memory Test for 2+ hours (coverage 6492%) with their memory normalized amount and no errors. Ran memory benchmark from the ryzen memory OC thread and my machine rebooted when trying to do 20% on all threads (limited to 28 threads) I think it was because windows ran out of usable memory but right after I ran karhu's test and 2+ hours on all 32 threads. I think the ram OC is good and this bios really helped solidify that. Maybe 1901 was not super stable compared to the previous or 2001 || or maybe my oc is still ****ty and kinda sorta works. I am paranoid so I ran the linux stresstest and passed with 0 hardware issues found so I'm gonna assume it's all good.

O Captain! My Captain!
Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
post #76 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 03:41 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
@thagabe

See spoiler for more info, the TLDR for my post is I believe some of the settings I left on [Auto] on UEFI 1901 and earlier are not the same on UEFI 2001.

Spoiler!
gupsterg is offline  
post #77 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 03:08 PM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 113
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
@thagabe

See spoiler for more info, the TLDR for my post is I believe some of the settings I left on [Auto] on UEFI 1901 and earlier are not the same on UEFI 2001.

Spoiler!
Wow you are really going all in! I like it. I have noticed you have not OC your cpu so you are right off the bat getting more accurate info that I am. I *think* my cpu oc is stable (prime tested, y-crunch, aida, etc and it's solid but maybe not I don't know) However this does mean my memory OC issues could be because of CPU if my OC was bad or not it could just be OC the CPU increases the transfer speeds of the infinity fabric etc so in all this mess I am hoping 3.8Ghz on the 1950x + 3333Mhz on ram with 14-(15-14)[email protected] be fast enough to make this system hum along.

O Captain! My Captain!
Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
post #78 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
Quote: Originally Posted by thagabe View Post
Wow you are really going all in! I like it. I have noticed you have not OC your cpu so you are right off the bat getting more accurate info that I am. I *think* my cpu oc is stable (prime tested, y-crunch, aida, etc and it's solid but maybe not I don't know) However this does mean my memory OC issues could be because of CPU if my OC was bad or not it could just be OC the CPU increases the transfer speeds of the infinity fabric etc so in all this mess I am hoping 3.8Ghz on the 1950x + 3333Mhz on ram with 14-(15-14)[email protected] be fast enough to make this system hum along.
I'll be honest 1950X stock is ample for my uses. I only OC CPU at times just for experience, gaining test data, etc.

After more rerunning I have concluded perhaps [Auto] settings had not changed. As I had to change PMU settings (aka IMC) to gain the level of stability had with 3400MHz C15 1T on UEFIs prior to 2001, I also reverted tRP from 14 to 15. I have needed to go on PMU setup Enabled/Disabled/6h, instead of Enabled/Disabled/5h. I've still kept the manual settings for RTT/CAD Bus, as I think this is best, as then I know where I stand. It would be nice if we had an app that did pull out ProODT/CAD Bus strengths & timings, etc for when [Auto], etc.

2001_Base_3400GSNIv2.1_setting.txt

Initial RT run.

Spoiler!


Rerun on warm POST.

Spoiler!


Another rerun on warm POST.

Spoiler!


Another rerun on full POST from shutdown.

Spoiler!


[email protected] CPU/GPU 19hrs

Spoiler!


Idle check.

Spoiler!


Now rerunning some more test.

*** edit ***

This ZIP has further data.

Current data.

Spoiler!

Last edited by gupsterg; 08-21-2019 at 03:24 PM.
gupsterg is offline  
post #79 of 119 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 09:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MacMus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 340
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
what do you guys think about rumor that new zen2 tr won't be working with x399?
I read this yesterday and I am heartbroken.
MacMus is offline  
post #80 of 119 (permalink) Old 09-02-2019, 01:44 PM
Not a bug, but a feature
 
thagabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Bay Life
Posts: 113
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by MacMus View Post
what do you guys think about rumor that new zen2 tr won't be working with x399?
I read this yesterday and I am heartbroken.
BS. I feel like this is the same as how some people speculated ryzen 3000 wouldn't come to older mobos (while it is technically true, some mobos cant handle it) most x399 are beefy and should be able to run tr4. I'm guessing maybe we wont get pcei4 and maybe just maybe no nvme 4x (the faster version) but otherwise I got no clue why it wouldnt work (asus clearly released the alpha because they knew something bigger was coming [2990wx worked fine on the non-alpha with just higher thermals and the need for active cooling])

Edit: I need your sauce (sources) my dude, I legit need to know who is spewing lies tbh.

O Captain! My Captain!
Buildripper
(17 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.skill
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200W P2
Cooling
Enermax Liqtech 360 TR4
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Arch Linux
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Asus 24' TN
Keyboard
Corsair K95 Platinum Gunmetal
Mouse
Logitech G802
Other
3x Noctua NF-A12x25
Other
6x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 1450rpm
Other
Cablemod Sleeves
▲ hide details ▲
thagabe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off