Boot problem with new Crosshair VII Hero - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Boot problem with new Crosshair VII Hero

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 12:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Boot problem with new Crosshair VII Hero

I just built a new PC and for a change went the AMD route, but I'm having issues booting everything up. I haven't even gotten to install Windows yet. When I turn the PC on, I get a 0E Post Code error and I have no idea what to do about it. My monitor doesn't even turn on. Here's my other hardware:

Ryzen 2700x
32gb (2X16gb) G.Skill RAM 3200 (F4-3200C16D-32GTZR)
Asus ROG Strix RTX 2070 (ROG-STRIX-RTX2070-O8G-GAMING)


I tried pulling one RAM stick and get the same error with either stick. I know my RAM isn't on the QVL list Asus has, but does that really make that much of a difference? Also, I updated to the newest BIOS (2304) using the CrashFree Bios 3 using a FAT32 drive, should that make a difference.

Oh, and if it matters, my board is the regular Hero, not the WiFi version.

Last edited by dom92880; 06-20-2019 at 12:18 AM.
dom92880 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 01:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rocklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 78
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
0E - Microcode not found

https://duckduckgo.com/?t=&q=microcode+not+found&

edit; understood, didn't check

got it from this list, assuming codes are same.

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ebug-LED-Codes

sf
(7 items)
CPU
i9-9900k
Motherboard
Phantom SLi/ac
GPU
1660 SC Ultra
RAM
16Gb G-skill
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
660p
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Rocklin; 06-20-2019 at 01:28 AM.
Rocklin is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 01:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Rocklin View Post
0E - Microcode not found


i'd toggle Bios switch


got it from this list, assuming codes are same.

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ebug-LED-Codes

No dual BIOS on the Crosshair, unfortunately.
dom92880 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 02:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rocklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 78
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
or flashback function? the flash without entering Bios ?

someone on forums they could boot with 1 stick of Ram during 0e code


https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-flashback-fix
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fbd.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	123.1 KB
ID:	275204  


sf
(7 items)
CPU
i9-9900k
Motherboard
Phantom SLi/ac
GPU
1660 SC Ultra
RAM
16Gb G-skill
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
660p
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
▲ hide details ▲
Rocklin is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 02:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Rocklin View Post
or flashback function? the flash without entering Bios ?

someone on forums they could boot with 1 stick of Ram during 0e code


https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-flashback-fix

Yup, that's what I did. That's what I meant by the "CrashFree Bios 3" thing in my first post.
dom92880 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 08:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,209
Rep: 7 (Unique: 4)
Which RAM slots are you using?

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is online now  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
Which RAM slots are you using?

A2 and B2 like the manual recommends.
dom92880 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 07:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Do you have any devices plugged into the USB 3 ports in the back? If so, switch to your USB 2 ports and try booting up again.

Last edited by dlbsyst; 06-20-2019 at 07:16 PM.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Do you have any devices plugged into the USB 3 ports in the back? If so, switch to your USB 2 ports and try booting up again.
I haven't tried that, but I tried with only the monitor plugged in to one of the display ports on the 2070 and still got the 0E error.
I've built at least 5 PCs and have never had any issue at all....it's frustrating as hell!
dom92880 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-2019, 07:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by dom92880 View Post
I haven't tried that, but I tried with only the monitor plugged in to one of the display ports on the 2070 and still got the 0E error.
I've built at least 5 PCs and have never had any issue at all....it's frustrating as hell!
I understand. I'm sorry I can't be more help. It's difficult to diagnose your problem without more information. Have you tried plugging an HDMI cable into your monitor and RTX 2070 to see if its sending the signal through HDMI rather than Display Port?
dlbsyst is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off