(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 232 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 08:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
killaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by IntelHouseFire View Post
I'm on the Ultra and I also have the crackling issue, but I also get mouse lag as it happens; the mouse kind of freezes for half a second.

I couldn't even get 3600/1800 before manually lowering VDDG under 1v, now it starts when I try to go above that. Is higher SOC voltage the only solution as of now? It's already set to 1.1 which is kind of high? How much more do I have to push it?
A VCORE SOC voltage of 1.1 is not high. I would try increasing the voltage a step at a time. My crackling went away at around ~1.125 volts but I can't fine tune it any further due to the broken settings I reported.

Also, I had to increase the VDDG to .991 volts as well. Mine was around .947 which contributed to the audio crackling/stutter.

Last edited by killaho; 09-18-2019 at 08:22 AM.
killaho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 08:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 52
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by killaho View Post
A VCORE SOC voltage of 1.1 is not high. I would try increasing the voltage a step at a time. My crackling went away at around ~1.25 volts but I can't fine tune it any further due to the broken settings I reported.

Also, I had to increase the VDDG to .991 volts as well. Mine was around .947 which contributed to the audio crackling/stutter.
Isn't 1.2v considered the max safe voltage for SOC? Or did you mean to type 1.125?

Last edited by IntelHouseFire; 09-18-2019 at 08:16 AM.
IntelHouseFire is offline  
post #2313 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 08:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
killaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by IntelHouseFire View Post
Isn't 1.2v considered the max safe voltage for SOC? Or did you mean to type 1.125?
Yup, sorry. I left out critical digits when it comes to this setting. I did mean 1.125

Last edited by killaho; 09-18-2019 at 09:04 AM.
killaho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2314 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 08:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: WPB,Florida
Posts: 135
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I want to thank all the guys and Gals here for all the insight I've gained
reading and not opening my mouth before I read first

from the info I got here
I managed to fix my sata issues
get my ultra stable at 4.3 all core (1.35v)
get my ram from 3200(4x8GB) to 3600
I had to do a clean reload to fix the bios update issue that I and a few others were having
but I updated since without issue
other fixes include minor voltage adjustment(soc,vddg,p etc)
I don't have the fan issues

Thank you soo much
(now watch,my pc will probably blow up tonight,lol)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	433600.png
Views:	64
Size:	3.89 MB
ID:	296718  


AMD Ryzen 9 3900x| Gigabyte Aorus X570 Ultra
Corsair H150i Pro RGB | 32GB PC3200 DDR4 GSkill Trident Z RGB
Asus ROG Strix RTX2080-O8G Gaming | WD Black SN750 NVME M.2 1TB SSD for OS
Corsair K95 RGB Keyboard | Fractal Design Define S2 case
Soundblaster AE-5 | Coolermaster v1000 Gold Series PS
Marantz SR5010 AVR| Energy Take Classic 5.1
bigcid10 is offline  
post #2315 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 09:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Waltc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 26
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
For what it's worth, in my x570 Master I can input a 1900MHz IF with the attendant ram freq overclock, leaving vcore soc at default, and I experience no crackling in sound of any kind--never have under any conditions, actually, since installing the Master on July 9th, regardless of AGESA/bios version--& I've installed all of them. The crackling issue sounds much like interference of some kind, either from an internal or external device. Added thought: I run wired exclusively and disable the wireless Intel adapter in the Device Manager, as well as the onboard bluetooth device (zero point to allowing resource allocation for hardware devices I'm not using, eh?). Wondering what happens for people hearing the crackle if they do the same--wish I could think of something else to offer, but only other thing I can think of might be interference locally being generated by a household device of some kind that is picked up when your IF hits a certain freq. Hope you can get it solved..;)


A further note: I'm actually very impressed with the ALC1220 & ESS Sabre DAC hardware w/headphone amp that come standard on the x570 Master. I had been using MSI x370/x470 boards prior to going Zen 2, and I tell you the difference with my Sony MDR-7506 studio phones between the MSI Godlike and the GB Aorus Master is night and day--really, it blew me away as I never expected it. You can buy a $350 Zen2 MSI mboard, the Ace, or the $700 Godlike MSI Zen2 mboard (with a Godlike price--like the GB Aorus Extreme)--but the sound hardware is exactly the same with each MSI motherboard! You get the ALC1220, but there all similarity with the x570 Master onboard sound hardware ends: no matter how much you spend for an MSI Zen2 x570 mboard--up to $700--all you get in the way of hardware is the ALC 1220, plus....Nahimic (3.x, for Windows 10) software custom-scripted for MSI exclusively--(it's sound-processing software used to turn the CPU into a sound co-processor on the cheap--to add more bass, treble, midrange, effects, etc.) With my MSI mboards I had thought the sound was fine--at least passable--until I cranked up my x570 Master and plugged my phones into a front-panel HD-audio jack...;) Holy Moly...;)...What a difference! I'm hearing so much that I never heard before through my former MSI onboard sound--what an incredible difference. Literally was as if I'd suddenly pulled cotton out of my ears! No comparison at all! And no contest. MSI loses bigly, here. That's the sort of surprise I can live with. [I'm impressed with the entire x570 Master board, actually, but up to now had said nothing about the onboard sound.]

Windows10x64 v1903, build 18362.10022, 19.9.2 Adrenalins, Aorus Master x570 UEFI bios F7a, Corsair HX-850 PSU (72a x1 12v rail), Ryzen 5 3600X @ 3.8GHz & boost, all cores @ def v, Stock AMD cooler, 2x8GB, Patriot Viper Elite PV416G320C6K @ XMP 3733MHz 18 20 20 42 1T, LG MultiDrive DVD writer SATA, Boot: Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 250GB, 2x 1TB WD Blue 7200 rpm, ST2000DM S3 2TB, ST4000DM004 S3 4TB, BenQ EW-3270U 4k, HDR10 monitor, AMD 50th Anniv. 5700XT 8GB GDDR6
Waltc is offline  
post #2316 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 12:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by killaho View Post
After further testing I can unequivocally say that the VCORE SOC voltage settings are indeed broken. My experience matches Ryajin's exactly. Every other voltage setting reverts back to VCORE SOC voltage of 1.068V. Which for me results in audio crackling or stutter because I'm running an 1900 IF frequency.

Again this issue is exhibited on a Aorus Wifi Pro with the F6a bios.

Can anyone else with the same board confirm this as well? Thanks

There are two ways to solve those crackling issues for IF 1867 MHz and 1900MHz. Increase VSOC or lower VDDG Voltage. My aorus pro defaults to 1050mV VDDG which is too high (at least for me) because I experience random reboots and sound outages with VDDG higher than 950 mV.



I am running it now with VSOC 1.1V and VDDG 935mV and no more crashes or crackling. I can even go down to 850mV VDDG without issues. This is something I couldn't believe because Ryzen RAM calculator shows that 950mV is the minium value. I wonder why others can run it with 1050mV without issues at 1867MHz or 1900MHz IF.


Another strange thing I observed is: running IF with 1800MHz and 1050mV VDDG causes no issues with low VSOC voltage (Auto setting). So no random reboots and no sound crackling.


I can also confirm that this audio crackle thing surely has something to do with VDDG and VSOC and not some interference from outside of the PC. The crackling appears on external DAC, onboard sound and monitor sound.


My conclusion to this: there must be something wrong with some mainboard series (maybe aorus pro (wifi) only?) I suspect there is some quirk with VDDG voltage with IF frequencies at 1867MHz and above.


GBT-MatthewH can you say something about this?


Oh and the latest beta bios makes booting IF 1900MHz impossible for me while the latest stable works with IF 1900MHz.

Last edited by ryajin; 09-18-2019 at 12:39 PM.
ryajin is offline  
post #2317 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 12:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
@ryajin

To low VDDG can give trouble with AVX calculations.

For example when I ran 700-800mv VDDG I got errors running Y-cruncher. Above 900mv it was all ok.

I've seen the faster your ram the higher VDDG might be needed. Because I saw a relation to tFAW in MEM OC, the lower tFAW I tried the higher VDDG I needed to no get trouble.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #2318 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 05:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
drmrlordx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,360
Rep: 75 (Unique: 52)
Quote: Originally Posted by Marius A View Post
Mate Dumnezeu sa-ti dea sanatate ( in translation God bless you ) it was driving me insane my x570 master with 3800x, i had 79 80c after 3 cbr20 runs room temp 25c!!!!!!! , now with the setting you mentioned, negative offset -0.08125( found in my case gives best results)+llc standard+pbo off i get max 73c and way better single scores in any benchmark !!!!!!PBO is useless and still doesnt work for me max frequency is 4550mhz , i had evga clc280 and now i have noctua nh u12a +condactonaut and i was still getting crazy high temps , but with the negative offset temperatures are under control and scores are better everywhere single and multi , before bios 7a whenever i used negative offset scores were lower if i used more than -0.0275 and temps were the same very high, whatever amd did now is not the case anymore, i can still get decent results even with -0.1v , and of course under decent temps. I am running now aida64 stress test at 77c before 85 .
Glad that helped. I may play with some different offsets at some point to see if I can get performance higher, but for the most part I'm satisfied with how things worked out in F7a. I got a CBR20 score of 7394 using LLC/SoC LLC Standard and -.1v offset. Pretty sweet. Not as good as 4.4 GHz all-core OC but still. Temps are definitely lower, and I don't have to fiddle with settings if I want to run something AVX2-intensive.

Quote: Originally Posted by MikeS3000 View Post
Interesting results. I did some tests last night on my 3900x on the Aorus Pro Wifi x570 board. Previously I ran the offset at +0.018 or something like that and achieved higher boost #s in HWInfo and pretty nice single and multi-core scores in benchmarks (CB-15 and CPU-Z). I would boost at 4600-4625 on 3 cores. I played with negative offset last night at your suggestion and my best single and multi-core scores were at -0.06. This led to cooler temps as well. My maximum boost on my 3 best cores is maybe 25 MHZ lower. I have only hit 4600 mhz on one core now. I need some more testing but it does seem like the behavior has changed with negative offset whereas on previous AGESA versions one would decrease benchmark scores pretty linearly the more negative offset was applied. I went all the way down to -0.1 offset and my best CB-15 went down from 3220 to maybe 3120. The single core maybe went from 212 to 210 or 211. All these tests were done in a minimal Windows 10 bootup environment with as many apps closed as possible. I'd love to see 3 cores boosting at 4600 mhz plus, but benchmarks don't lie. If my frequency goes down slightly but benchmarks are the same or better and temps are cooler then I think it's a no-brainer to run some negative offset.
Yup, seems to be a common trend with F7a. See my CBR20 score above, what LLC setting are you using with your negative offset?

Watch this space for future . . . uh . . . stuff! Yeah. That.
drmrlordx is offline  
post #2319 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 06:30 AM
cnx
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Marius A View Post
@gbt _MatthewH

i have an issue with x570 master F7A bios and my noctua nh u12a the 2 fans are stopping from time to time and not starting up anymore. i have to turn off and on the pc so they can start again . Fan stop is disabled in bios but still my fans stop spinning, fans are set on pwm profile normal tried auto same happens should i put them on a pump connection fan header ?

The problem is well known. According to @GBT-MatthewH it is being worked on in cooperation with Noctua.
The current status would be interesting.





cnx is offline  
post #2320 of 2811 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 07:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Waltc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 26
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by ryajin View Post
I can also confirm that this audio crackle thing surely has something to do with VDDG and VSOC and not some interference from outside of the PC. The crackling appears on external DAC, onboard sound and monitor sound...


My conclusion to this: there must be something wrong with some mainboard series (maybe aorus pro (wifi) only?) I suspect there is some quirk with VDDG voltage with IF frequencies at 1867MHz and above.


GBT-MatthewH can you say something about this?


Oh and the latest beta bios makes booting IF 1900MHz impossible for me while the latest stable works with IF 1900MHz.

The interference notion was merely a suggestion as even at a 1900MHz IF I hear no crackling at all, without regard to VDDG or VSOC, eg. That would pretty much indicate the absence of a physical circuitry problem or "design flaw"...it's sort of amusing how easy it is to forget that overclocking isn't guaranteed by any hardware manufacturer. Indeed, I'm only surprised by the pleasant fact that I can go to XMP 3800 with my XMP 3200 ram at all... I've decided to stick with XMP 3733 for the time being as even P95 is stable there so far.

Windows10x64 v1903, build 18362.10022, 19.9.2 Adrenalins, Aorus Master x570 UEFI bios F7a, Corsair HX-850 PSU (72a x1 12v rail), Ryzen 5 3600X @ 3.8GHz & boost, all cores @ def v, Stock AMD cooler, 2x8GB, Patriot Viper Elite PV416G320C6K @ XMP 3733MHz 18 20 20 42 1T, LG MultiDrive DVD writer SATA, Boot: Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 250GB, 2x 1TB WD Blue 7200 rpm, ST2000DM S3 2TB, ST4000DM004 S3 4TB, BenQ EW-3270U 4k, HDR10 monitor, AMD 50th Anniv. 5700XT 8GB GDDR6
Waltc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 17 (7 members and 10 guests)
arnebanan , danielekito , Fff Fff , GBT-MatthewH , Hyralak , kingwaffle , ktmrc8
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off