(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 277 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2761 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 07:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
agentesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
RTFM!

Inviato dal mio GM1913 utilizzando Tapatalk
agentesmith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2762 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 07:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
athkatla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
At the back side of the heatsink there is a tape, remove it so the ssd sticks to the heatsink. Then screw just the heatsink.

I think you removed the bolt from m/b.

Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk
athkatla is offline  
post #2763 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 07:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 354
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by RichterB View Post
Thanks, but an explanation should be more helpful. Did you place only that screw at the end of the heatsink, or do you have also one on the end of the SSD?
And why the hell my screw of the heatsink has a bolt?

The tiny screw is to secure the m.2 drive to one of the posts at the end of the m.2 drive itself. The larger screw in pic above is for the Heat sink.

It sounds like perhaps the bolt came up along with the larger screw. You will have to separate them and re install

edit: can't type or spell

x570 Aorus Master, R7 3700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo m.2 boot drive, EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750 Watt Gold, Samsung 860 evo 500GB sata steam ssd, Toshiba DT01ACA300 (3TB x 2), Toshiba HDWE150 5TB (sounds like wood pecker when playing video file it.)
pschorr1123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2764 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RichterB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post
The tiny screw is to secure the m.2 drive to one of the posts at the end of the m.2 drive itself. The larger screw in pic above is for the Heat sink.

It sounds like perhaps the bolt came up along with the larger screw. You will have to separate them and re install

edit: can't type or spell
Weird. I tried it, but it didn't work. It seems to be too much tiny for that holes.
Anyway, I think I should ask for an RMA. As far as I know, that bolt should be fixed to the metallic pin/support, or whatever you call it, numbered "110". Mine is detached, and there is no way to screw it again to the support 110, and it's not even possible to unscrew the support 110. I tried with tongs, but it is stuck.

Unlike the other support of the slot with not heatsink. That is pretty loose.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bolt.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	931.3 KB
ID:	300166  

RichterB is offline  
post #2765 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 09:39 AM
pal
New to Overclock.net
 
pal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 53
Rep: 0
you broke something. With screw which is in the motherboard box you screw down the m.2 With screw in the heat sink you screw down only the heat sink unless you m.2 device is that long. I cant even remove screw from the heatsink
pal is online now  
post #2766 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 10:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 354
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by RichterB View Post
Weird. I tried it, but it didn't work. It seems to be too much tiny for that holes.
Anyway, I think I should ask for an RMA. As far as I know, that bolt should be fixed to the metallic pin/support, or whatever you call it, numbered "110". Mine is detached, and there is no way to screw it again to the support 110, and it's not even possible to unscrew the support 110. I tried with tongs, but it is stuck.

Unlike the other support of the slot with not heatsink. That is pretty loose.
There should be little stand offs that are packed in your motherboard box along with the tiny m.2 screw. The standoff goes in one of the holes to the right of the heat sink screw. Then the tiny screw is used to secure the m.2 drive to the top of the standoff.

Sorry I didn't mention the standoffs, I had forgot this board has them separate unlike my previous boards that were already attached to the board in the 80mm hole.

Just line up your m.2 drive to determine which hole the stand off goes in.

Page 31 in manual has illustrations
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	M.2 Instructions X570 Manual.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	174.5 KB
ID:	300174  


x570 Aorus Master, R7 3700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo m.2 boot drive, EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750 Watt Gold, Samsung 860 evo 500GB sata steam ssd, Toshiba DT01ACA300 (3TB x 2), Toshiba HDWE150 5TB (sounds like wood pecker when playing video file it.)

Last edited by pschorr1123; 10-10-2019 at 10:31 AM.
pschorr1123 is offline  
post #2767 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 12:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MFarkha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Hi all - is it normal that voltage goes from 1.425V to 1.325V under load with Vdroop at HIGH on the AORUS PRO w/3900X? Does VDROOP even work on this board? I have the system at 4400MHZ/4300MHZ @ 1.425 VCORE (I had to raise VCORE to keep the my load voltage to > 1.3V but I'd rather keep my idle voltage around 1.35-1.4, if possible. I could try TURBO vdroop but a drop of over .1V seems excessive.

Last edited by MFarkha; 10-10-2019 at 01:00 PM.
MFarkha is offline  
post #2768 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 01:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MFarkha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by MFarkha View Post
Hi all - is it normal that voltage goes from 1.425V to 1.325V under load with Vdroop at HIGH on the AORUS PRO w/3900X? Does VDROOP even work on this board? I have the system at 4400MHZ/4300MHZ @ 1.45 VCORE (I had to raise VCORE to keep the my load voltage to > 1.3V but I'd rather keep my idle voltage around 1.35-1.4, if possible. I could try TURBO vdroop but a drop of over .1V seems excessive.
Ok I just changed to TURBO but the voltage deltas were the same in HWiNFO64 (1.425 no load --> 1.325 full load). Tried setting VDROOP to LOW and the system restarted once I put load on so atleast VDROOP is doing something.

Also, what is the most accurate tool for vcore? Getting different values depending on the program:

HWiNFO64
LLC = HIGH --> 1.425V no load --> 1.325 full load
LLC = TURBO --> 1.425 no load --> 1.325 full load

CPU-Z
LLC = HIGH --> 1.344V no load --> 1.308 full load
LLC = TURBO --> 1.344 no load -->1.344 full load

Voltage in Ryzen Master is set to 1.425V. So confused
MFarkha is offline  
post #2769 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 02:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by MFarkha View Post
Hi all - is it normal that voltage goes from 1.425V to 1.325V under load with Vdroop at HIGH on the AORUS PRO w/3900X? Does VDROOP even work on this board? I have the system at 4400MHZ/4300MHZ @ 1.425 VCORE (I had to raise VCORE to keep the my load voltage to > 1.3V but I'd rather keep my idle voltage around 1.35-1.4, if possible. I could try TURBO vdroop but a drop of over .1V seems excessive.
It's normal, Voltage can be upto 1.5V under light load/single CPU tests, it will drop into the 1.3V ish range when fully loaded.
I guess the idea is that when all the cores are working it's generating a lot more heat/consuming a lot more current, so the Voltage has to drop to keep things in a reasonable range.
At idle it should drop below 1V, though it tends to bounce around a lot as various windows background tasks do things.

Edit ignore the above I just realized you were probably overclocking with a fixed voltage.

Last edited by polygonhell; 10-10-2019 at 03:41 PM.
polygonhell is offline  
post #2770 of 3025 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 03:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by RaXelliX View Post
That's corrent.
That's an interesting finding, on my Master I disconnected the fan because so far the chipset doesn't go above 60c in silent mode even in a hot room, and on boot the chipset fan makes a stupid unnecessary amount of noise, so I was afraid of changing thermal pad for thermal paste based on what I searched on google, but now I'm curious, is your thermal paste anything special or just like any thermal paste for CPU/GPUs? I have Artic MX-2 lying around, so maybe changing the thermal pad for paste could decrease my chipset temps even further you say?
gabmzzn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 24 (8 members and 16 guests)
buffybill , danielekito , jsgiv , lognoronon , MacAdder , Nijo , pal , Streetdragon
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off