(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 694 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6931 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 08:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Waltc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 83
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by ManniX-ITA View Post
So the solution was to keep the USB cable for the LEDs plugged in on the mainboard but disable them via software?
What about the RGB cable instead of the USB? Does it trigger too the cold boot issue?

I only had to plug in the USB cable from the cooler in order to turn off the three LED's, using the Cooler Master software. I would imagine that if I removed the USB cable that they would stay off, just as they stayed on before I used the cable & software to turn them off. I probably should simply unplug the cable since I'm not going to turn them on... The RGB cable only is required to sync the cooler RGB with the the System Fusion RGB, but I won't plug it in because I don't run Fusion or any other RGB lighting.


The cold boot came into play because only at that time did the Prism LED's suck up enough power from the CMOS battery to cause the saved bios settings to get dumped with the default bios settings used instead--at least, that's the working theory... Anyway--it works, and I'm still cold-booting without a hitch, I'm glad to say...

Windows10x64 v1909, build 18363.752, 20.3.1 Adrenalins, Aorus Master x570 UEFI bios F12e, Corsair HX-850 PSU (72a x1 12v rail), Ryzen 9 3900X, all cores @ def v, Stock AMD cooler, 2x8GB, Patriot Viper Elite PV416G320C6K @ XMP 3733MHz 18 19 19 19 38 1T, LG MultiDrive DVD writer SATA, Boot: Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 250GB, 2x 1TB WD Blue 7200 rpm, ST2000DM S3 2TB, ST4000DM004 S3 4TB, BenQ EW-3270U, AMD 50th Anniv. 5700XT 8GB GDDR6
Waltc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6932 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 09:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 608
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Waltc View Post
I only had to plug in the USB cable from the cooler in order to turn off the three LED's, using the Cooler Master software. I would imagine that if I removed the USB cable that they would stay off, just as they stayed on before I used the cable & software to turn them off. I probably should simply unplug the cable since I'm not going to turn them on... The RGB cable only is required to sync the cooler RGB with the the System Fusion RGB, but I won't plug it in because I don't run Fusion or any other RGB lighting.


The cold boot came into play because only at that time did the Prism LED's suck up enough power from the CMOS battery to cause the saved bios settings to get dumped with the default bios settings used instead--at least, that's the working theory... Anyway--it works, and I'm still cold-booting without a hitch, I'm glad to say...
I wonder if the couple other users in this thread that reported having a dead cmos battery that was causing their boot issues was really down to the cooler leds sucking down power when system is off.

Very weird issue to say the least. Do you think enabling the ERP setting would help at all?

x570 Aorus Master, R7 3700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo m.2 boot drive, EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750 Watt Gold, Samsung 860 evo 500GB sata steam ssd, Toshiba DT01ACA300 (3TB x 2), Toshiba HDWE150 5TB (sounds like wood pecker when playing video file it.)
pschorr1123 is offline  
post #6933 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 11:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ManniX-ITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post
I wonder if the couple other users in this thread that reported having a dead cmos battery that was causing their boot issues was really down to the cooler leds sucking down power when system is off.

Very weird issue to say the least. Do you think enabling the ERP setting would help at all?
It's very interesting because I would have expected a battery drain from the internal RGB header... but the USB?
The problem could be not only limited to the LEDs but possibly to anything connected inside or outside.

Pandorum
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3800x
Motherboard
GigaByte X570 AORUS Master
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 F4-3600C16-GTZNC 16-18-19-32-48-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 970 PRO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
beQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
Case
Corsair 750D Airflow
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248 144MHz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed
▲ hide details ▲
ManniX-ITA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6934 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 11:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 40
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rastaviper View Post
I search for the F12A bios for the x570 Elite.
Can't find older bioses at the tt forum.
Can someone help?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

I don't recall seeing a F12a. I've got F12b and F12c?
buffalo2102 is offline  
post #6935 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 07:44 PM
- Insanity Beckons -
 
Elrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,160
Rep: 176 (Unique: 91)
Quote: Originally Posted by Waltc View Post
Not much difference in temps--but then again the Prism cooler is much better... It's fun--glad I bought it! Idles in the 35C-45C zone, under load, usually around 65C-70C Max.

Excellent core temps .

This Prism Cooler has certainly worked for you here because it has far better temps than my 3800x with an old Thermalright HR-02 setup.
Elrick is offline  
post #6936 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 04:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 608
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by buffalo2102 View Post
I don't recall seeing a F12a. I've got F12b and F12c?
I looked in my DL folder and have a f12a that I named beta. It was downloaded 1-20-2020 and I don't recall where it came from but I usually name the folder to remind me of origin (tt, beta, or official), so I believe it may be one of the last bios version GB Matt hooked us up with. Perhaps some one else can confirm

I only have the Master version though, so I wouldn't be able to hook you up with it.

x570 Aorus Master, R7 3700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo m.2 boot drive, EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750 Watt Gold, Samsung 860 evo 500GB sata steam ssd, Toshiba DT01ACA300 (3TB x 2), Toshiba HDWE150 5TB (sounds like wood pecker when playing video file it.)
pschorr1123 is offline  
post #6937 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 11:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nangu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 89
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Waltc View Post
I only had to plug in the USB cable from the cooler in order to turn off the three LED's, using the Cooler Master software. I would imagine that if I removed the USB cable that they would stay off, just as they stayed on before I used the cable & software to turn them off. I probably should simply unplug the cable since I'm not going to turn them on... The RGB cable only is required to sync the cooler RGB with the the System Fusion RGB, but I won't plug it in because I don't run Fusion or any other RGB lighting.


The cold boot came into play because only at that time did the Prism LED's suck up enough power from the CMOS battery to cause the saved bios settings to get dumped with the default bios settings used instead--at least, that's the working theory... Anyway--it works, and I'm still cold-booting without a hitch, I'm glad to say...
I always tought RGB was powered from the PSU when the motherboard is swtched off (aka idle power), not the cmos battery, regardless if it's usb powered or not. To me, it's a nonsense if GB designed it this way. Also, cmos battery is 3v, rgb is how much? 5v?

I'm shocked really if that's the real issue.
nangu is offline  
post #6938 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 11:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bluechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 247
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by nangu View Post
I always tought RGB was powered from the PSU when the motherboard is swtched off (aka idle power), not the cmos battery, regardless if it's usb powered or not. To me, it's a nonsense if GB designed it this way. Also, cmos battery is 3v, rgb is how much? 5v?



I'm shocked really if that's the real issue.
If indeed this is the issue then it's a Gigabyte design flaw in the power delivery.
Nothing and i mean nothing has anything to do with the battery circuit except the cmos itself.
I suspect a flaw in the ground of the motherboard but im sceptical of this really.

CPU
Ryzen 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Pro
GPU
Nvidia GT710 Pci X1
RAM
Trident Z DDR4-3200MHz CL14-14-14-34 1.35V 64GB (4x16GB)
Hard Drive
HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 4TB 7200 RPM 512n SAS 6Gb/s 3.5-Inch 64MB HDD Enterprise Hard Drive HUS724040ALS640
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 256GB M.2 2280
Power Supply
Corsair HX750i High-Performance ATX Power Supply — 750 Watt 80 Plus® PLATINUM Certified PSU
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 chromax black
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Cooling
NOCTUA NF-A8 FLX FAN 80MM
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 740
Operating System
VMware ESXi 6.7 Update 3
Other
Asus HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2
Other
HPE Smart Array P440/4GB FBWC 12Gb 1-port Int SAS Controller
▲ hide details ▲
bluechris is offline  
post #6939 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 12:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 105
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post
I looked in my DL folder and have a f12a that I named beta. It was downloaded 1-20-2020 and I don't recall where it came from but I usually name the folder to remind me of origin (tt, beta, or official), so I believe it may be one of the last bios version GB Matt hooked us up with. Perhaps some one else can confirm

I only have the Master version though, so I wouldn't be able to hook you up with it.
F12A was on TT forums at some point, but the links have been removed.

ryouiki is offline  
post #6940 of 6983 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 01:07 PM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 460
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by buffalo2102 View Post
I don't recall seeing a F12a. I've got F12b and F12c?
Thanks.
I thought I have seen it somewhere else.

Anyway flashed F12f which is the latest official.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4490mhz, Mugen Rev.B, v1.46, 3rd position at HWBOT
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 15-14-13-1T 1.46v
Official Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 13 (2 members and 11 guests)
aveamurechi , bigcid10
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off