(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread) - Page 779 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Owners Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7781 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 01:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dansi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,054
Rep: 32 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by ManniX-ITA View Post
Thanks for sharing it!
Make sense to me, I always update both BIOS and never had a cold boot issue.
We should see someone with this issue recurring if it's fixing it.
I also recommend disable 2nd bios using the hard dip switch.
Gigabyte did not do a good job with their 2nd bios fall over coding.

So it is more clear. failed ram overclock recovery -> tries to boot 2nd bios -> bad coding -> board locks up.

ram overclocking is very hard to pickup if you pushed it to its max.
You can pass hours of memtest, but it may fail while training boot up.
dansi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7782 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 03:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 66
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by dansi View Post
I also recommend disable 2nd bios using the hard dip switch.
Gigabyte did not do a good job with their 2nd bios fall over coding.

So it is more clear. failed ram overclock recovery -> tries to boot 2nd bios -> bad coding -> board locks up.

ram overclocking is very hard to pickup if you pushed it to its max.
You can pass hours of memtest, but it may fail while training boot up.
i agree i disabled that second bios on my master first thing when i got the board via the onboard switches , i will use it only if the primary fails .
Marius A is offline  
post #7783 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 03:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I share all my testing down below.

TYPE

D die from micro
CMK32GX4M2B3200C16
Corsair



X.M.P settings

16-18-18-18-36



BEST SETTINGS

1776mhz V1.35 [email protected] 100%

16-16-18-18-36

tRC60 tRRDS6 tRRDL9 rFAW24 tWTRS5 tWTRL14 tWR12

tRDRD SCL3

tWRWR SCL3

tRFC550 tCWL16 tRTP10 tRDWR7 tWRRD3

tWRWR SC1

tWRWR SD7

tWRWR DD6

tRDRD SC1

tRDRD SD5

tRDRD DD4

tCKE0



Memory voltage test

1776mhz V1.35 lvl 10 [email protected] 100%
1800mhz V1.35 lvl 3 [email protected],25%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm20 [email protected],19%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm24 [email protected],15%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm30 [email protected],26%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm40 [email protected],76%
*1800mhz V1.35 ohm60 [email protected],40%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm40 pODT53.3 [email protected],25%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm40 pODT48 [email protected],60%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm40 pODT43.6 [email protected],60%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm40 pODT40 [email protected],26%
1800mhz V1.35 ohm40 pODT36.9 [email protected],20%

1800mhz V1.38 [email protected],59%
1800mhz V1.39 [email protected],59%
1800mhz V1.40 [email protected],57%
1800mhz V1.41 [email protected],59%
1800mhz V1.42 [email protected],60%
1800mhz V1.43 [email protected],59%
1800mhz 1qV1.44 [email protected],58%
1800mhz V1.45 [email protected],80%
1800mhz V1.46 [email protected],62%
1800mhz V1.47 [email protected],62%
1800mhz V1.44 [email protected],81% ohm 24 [email protected],58%
1800mhz V1.44 Trfc650 ohm 24 [email protected],60% [email protected],58%
1800mhz V1.44 ohm20 [email protected],81%


Timing changed

17-18-18-18-36
1800mhz V1.44 [email protected],70%
1800mhz V1.44 ohm 24 [email protected],74%
1800mhz V1.45 ohm 24 [email protected],62%


Timing changed
16-18-18-19-37

1800mhz V1.44 [email protected],62%
1800mhz V1.44 ohm 30 [email protected],62%
1800mhz V1.44 ohm 24 procODT53.3 [email protected],57%


Timing changed
17-18-18-19-37
No boot


Timing changed
18-18-18-18-37
1800mhz V1.44 [email protected],62%


Timing changed
18-18-18-19-37
1800mhz V1.444 [email protected],62%


Timing changed

20-20-20-20-50
1800mhz V1.50 ohm40 pODT43.6 [email protected],00%



LvL 1 = 8%
LvL 2 = 16%
LvL 3 = 25%
LvL 4 = 33% moving inversions, 8bit pettern
LvL 5 = 41% moving inversions, random pattern

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7784 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 06:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RaXelliX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 339
Rep: 27 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by Marius A View Post
i agree i disabled that second bios on my master first thing when i got the board via the onboard switches , i will use it only if the primary fails .
I use them interchangibly. Meaning i have only one enabled but when i flash a new BIOS i will flash to the one slot im not currently using. That way if the new BIOS is acting up or the flash fails i can flip the switch and be back at my stable BIOS again.

It's a great system if managed properly. Will problably come handy once i got to Zen3 later this year. God knows how stable the new BIOS is and what it does to backwards support. Tho as a 3800X owner im problably safe. I would be more worried if i was using 2000 series. This is in reference to the fact that some B450 and X470 boards will lose support for some older Ryzen CPU's once flashed with compatible BIOS. But people forget that X570 also has 16MB ROM chip on most boards.
RaXelliX is offline  
post #7785 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 09:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
airforce46270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Here is the issue I am having. I shut down my computer normally the night before, woke up and went to turn it on and nothing. There was no power going to the board. I went through all the steps, testing different power supplies and nothing. Removed the board to RMA and read about removing the battery and resetting the CMOS. It totally worked. So I put everything back in and all was good up until 3 days ago when it did it again. This time, all I did was remove my graphics card and removed the battery. It has happened 3 times since February, almost a month apart. Do you think disabling the second BIOS might fix this? I am willing to try anything at this point.

Blue Thunder
(6 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3600X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Royal 16GB DDR-4 3800 MHz
Case
Fractal Meshify-C
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
airforce46270 is offline  
post #7786 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
daddyfatsax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 29
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by airforce46270 View Post
Here is the issue I am having. I shut down my computer normally the night before, woke up and went to turn it on and nothing. There was no power going to the board. I went through all the steps, testing different power supplies and nothing. Removed the board to RMA and read about removing the battery and resetting the CMOS. It totally worked. So I put everything back in and all was good up until 3 days ago when it did it again. This time, all I did was remove my graphics card and removed the battery. It has happened 3 times since February, almost a month apart. Do you think disabling the second BIOS might fix this? I am willing to try anything at this point.
Kinda having the same issue, but my board is just going through CMOS batteries. Every morning when I turn it on the BIOS is reset. Change the CMOS battery and I am good for a few weeks. My PC is plugged into a UPS too, so there should be no power loss. I don't get it.
daddyfatsax is offline  
post #7787 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 10:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pschorr1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 739
Rep: 15 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by airforce46270 View Post
Here is the issue I am having. I shut down my computer normally the night before, woke up and went to turn it on and nothing. There was no power going to the board. I went through all the steps, testing different power supplies and nothing. Removed the board to RMA and read about removing the battery and resetting the CMOS. It totally worked. So I put everything back in and all was good up until 3 days ago when it did it again. This time, all I did was remove my graphics card and removed the battery. It has happened 3 times since February, almost a month apart. Do you think disabling the second BIOS might fix this? I am willing to try anything at this point.
you aren't really disabling 2nd bios by setting the dip switch you are just choosing to manually select which bios you boot from rather than letting GB decide which is the default behavior. And it will have no effect on your issue. You can try to replace cmos battery with a new one. It has worked for a couple people here. No known cause as what is causing the cmos battery to drain so fast or if that is the cause of "seemingly dead board" or a side effect of it.

One other user with the stock wraith cooler with the aRGB lights had an issue where the CMOS battery was being drained when pc was shut down. Turned out in his case that the aRGB leds were sucking down juice when pc was shut off. He resolved his issue by connecting the led cable the comes with cooler to argb header ( was unused in his scenario) in order to use the RGB Fusion software to disable the cooler leds. This most likely isn't your issue but was just a thought. You can enable ERP in bios which is a power savings feature that will ensure usb ports/ leds/ etc are powered off when PC is shut down to see if this will help with your issue.

There are a few users in this thread that have had similar issues like you only they were never able to get the board to power back on. People who have really early production numbers seem to be more likely to have the dead board issue but it's not guaranteed and there isn't any know cause or diagnosis of what component on the board actually failed. Hopefully, your more frequent occurrence of the issue isn't a precursor to permanent board failure

x570 Aorus Master, R7 3700X, 16GB G Skill F4-3600C16D-16GVK, Rx Vega 64 Liquid, 500GB Samsung 970 Evo m.2 boot drive, EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750 Watt Gold, Samsung 860 evo 500GB sata steam ssd, Toshiba DT01ACA300 (3TB x 2), Toshiba HDWE150 5TB (sounds like wood pecker when playing video file it.)
pschorr1123 is offline  
post #7788 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 11:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
airforce46270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by pschorr1123 View Post
you aren't really disabling 2nd bios by setting the dip switch you are just choosing to manually select which bios you boot from rather than letting GB decide which is the default behavior. And it will have no effect on your issue. You can try to replace cmos battery with a new one. It has worked for a couple people here. No known cause as what is causing the cmos battery to drain so fast or if that is the cause of "seemingly dead board" or a side effect of it.

One other user with the stock wraith cooler with the aRGB lights had an issue where the CMOS battery was being drained when pc was shut down. Turned out in his case that the aRGB leds were sucking down juice when pc was shut off. He resolved his issue by connecting the led cable the comes with cooler to argb header ( was unused in his scenario) in order to use the RGB Fusion software to disable the cooler leds. This most likely isn't your issue but was just a thought. You can enable ERP in bios which is a power savings feature that will ensure usb ports/ leds/ etc are powered off when PC is shut down to see if this will help with your issue.

There are a few users in this thread that have had similar issues like you only they were never able to get the board to power back on. People who have really early production numbers seem to be more likely to have the dead board issue but it's not guaranteed and there isn't any know cause or diagnosis of what component on the board actually failed. Hopefully, your more frequent occurrence of the issue isn't a precursor to permanent board failure
Thanks for the tips. I replaced the battery the last time it happened, so we will see if that will fix it. I never had this issue until I moved to the F11 bios, so maybe it is related to that somehow. I will enable ERP (if I haven't done so already) and see if that helps too. At this point, it's like throwing spaghetti at the wall and seeing what sticks. Thanks again and I will keep you posted.

Blue Thunder
(6 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3600X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Royal 16GB DDR-4 3800 MHz
Case
Fractal Meshify-C
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
airforce46270 is offline  
post #7789 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 06:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dansi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,054
Rep: 32 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by airforce46270 View Post
Thanks for the tips. I replaced the battery the last time it happened, so we will see if that will fix it. I never had this issue until I moved to the F11 bios, so maybe it is related to that somehow. I will enable ERP (if I haven't done so already) and see if that helps too. At this point, it's like throwing spaghetti at the wall and seeing what sticks. Thanks again and I will keep you posted.
did you do any ram OC or even just selecting xmp?
gigabtye bios also have a bug if you select xmp, you may need to manually change ram voltage to 1.35v.
other vendor bios will auto set to 1.35v with xmp in my past experience.

that could contribute to your bios reset, ram OC failure, unknowingly.
dansi is offline  
post #7790 of 8967 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 06:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dansi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,054
Rep: 32 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by RaXelliX View Post
I use them interchangibly. Meaning i have only one enabled but when i flash a new BIOS i will flash to the one slot im not currently using. That way if the new BIOS is acting up or the flash fails i can flip the switch and be back at my stable BIOS again.

It's a great system if managed properly. Will problably come handy once i got to Zen3 later this year. God knows how stable the new BIOS is and what it does to backwards support. Tho as a 3800X owner im problably safe. I would be more worried if i was using 2000 series. This is in reference to the fact that some B450 and X470 boards will lose support for some older Ryzen CPU's once flashed with compatible BIOS. But people forget that X570 also has 16MB ROM chip on most boards.
IIRC, mostly gigabyte x570 boards.

Other vendors have moved to 32mb, because they know Zen2 can support 32mb, only Zen1 and Zen1+ cpus have 16mb addressable limits-per Gamernexus.

Someonr at Gigabyte obviously missed the memo.
dansi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (3 members and 4 guests)
cyril4u , Dazog , SacraficeMyGoat
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off