ASUS TUF GAMING X570 PLUS - Page 18 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS TUF GAMING X570 PLUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #171 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-19-2020, 08:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Anyone else have an extremely laggy BIOS? The mouse cursor is almost unusable, feels like it is running at 3fps. Even keystrokes get 'missed' and I have to be very careful when typing in values. Running latest BIOS.


Quote: Originally Posted by M3TAl View Post
Is it normal to fail TPU Memtest64 with a Windows program error? Was on loop 23 when a Windows error popped up stating "the memory could not be written". Going to try bootable Memtest86 next. Wondering is this RAM is bad. I'm completely new to Ryzen, maybe a voltage or two needs boosting? Figured everything would just work with no adjusting considering the RAM is on the QVL and Ryzen 3000 is supposed to like 3600MHz RAM.

Running a 3600x on this board with G.Skill Ripjaws 32GB (2 x 16GB) F4-3600C16D-32GVKC on an open air test bench. Everything is bonestock except loading DOCP profile. BIOS is still on 1201 which it shipped with.

Edit: it passed Passmark's free Memtest86 no errors, hmmm.

Did you put the RAM in Slots 2 & 4 (counting away from CPU)? For dual sticks you are supposed to use those. I have the same exact RAM and had problems until I found out about that. Good RAM btw, Hynix DJR and mine overclock pretty well considering how cheap they are.
waltdanger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #172 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 11:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by waltdanger View Post
Anyone else have an extremely laggy BIOS? The mouse cursor is almost unusable, feels like it is running at 3fps. Even keystrokes get 'missed' and I have to be very careful when typing in values. Running latest BIOS.
I have the same ram & 3600 non x, not really, its not super fast, feels maybe 13-18 fps and lags but its tolerable.
tyezh is offline  
post #173 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 11:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
OC VRM sweet spots I have found with Ryzen 3600 and this board: Dropping SOC voltage from 1.0 to 0.95 drops CPU temps by 10-15 degrees, possibly up to 17 degrees. (default soc voltage is 1.1) Anything under 0.96875 @ 4.125 ghz was unstable for me; but there was a 3-4 degree difference between 0.95 and 0.96875

I've got my 3600 running perfectly stable at 4,125, stock cooler, 1.31875v / 0.96875 Socket, with a CPU Load line calibration set to 5;

Under normal/idle casual conditions voltage hovers between 1.344-1.352, for more snappy performance. Under heavy load it drops to 1.32-1.328

If you want to seriously undervolt, using a high LLC is extremely useful; if you are going to overvolt, you want a lower llc.

Some numbers to consider playing with:

1.3500v @ 0.95 soc, Auto LLC (load line calibration) VDDR SOC LLC auto. Stable temps and voltage in OCCT.
1.3125v @ 0.95 soc, 5 CPU LLC (important), VDDR SOC LLC auto. most stable temps and voltage over all.
1.31875v @ 0.96875 5 CPU LLC (this is what I use, its highly undervolted and running perfectly stable in windows/gaming/encoding for a month. A little touchy after 20 minutes OCCT but thats perfectly fine; passed 1 hour in linpack.

Last edited by tyezh; 02-20-2020 at 11:47 PM.
tyezh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #174 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 12:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Chimeracaust View Post
Is this the best board to get in the 250$ or less range? I am about to pull the trigger, to pair with a 3800x I was gifted, curious if this is the right option. Also interested in ram recommendations, going for 32gb.
I would argue, yes, its a great board and should be future ready for the zen 3 coming later this year. Zen 3 will be the last AM4 socket, which will also have 40% (or is that 60%) less heat and power usage than the zen 2; so in the long run you can't go wrong, VRM should be overkill for an overclocked Zen 3 4950x 16 core cpu.

Its only competition is the Aorus Elite, and that has a slightly inferior VRM, PCB, and cooling; the only board that might outdo it will be the Tomahawk x570, coming out between now and March.

As for ram, I recommend G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3600 (PC4 28800) INTEL Desktop Memory Model F4-3600C16D-32GVKC; that is what I'm using.

Its really the Trident Z Neo RGB F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC for Ryzen but without RGB & $35-$45 dollars less.



First available in October 2019. Market value is $144.99. Hynix D-die (Davinci). Says for "intel" but works perfect with Ryzen motherboards. I'm running stock/auto XMP timings 16-19-19-39 at 3800 mhz O/C, 1:1 1900 infinity fabric, 67.9 latency @ 1.37500 volts (I can reduce the voltage further), with my Ryzen 3600. 3733-3800 is the sweet spot on Ryzen, any further is pointless. Almost as good as the $500+ B die 32 GB kits. B-die gets you 16-16-16, rather than 16-19-19. Marginal at best. 16 gigs of B die goes for $250. Is it worth the three extra nano seconds and 16 gigs less ram, for $100 more dollars? Here we have 32 gigs of very high quality Hynix ram. With two spare slots, I can later upgrade to 64 in 5-10 years if I like. Hynix protects against Rowhammer vulnerability better than any other brand as far as studies have shown. Best gigabyte and performance per dollar value on the market. They are rising the price sometimes up to $250 on these (or more) for obvious reasons. I bought it at $144.99, it was more than worth every penny, and at the time of this post you can find it hovering around $159.



https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07Z45XB3G?psc=1

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...quicklink=true

Last edited by tyezh; 02-22-2020 at 11:33 PM.
tyezh is offline  
post #175 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 07:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
M3TAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,193
Rep: 181 (Unique: 133)
Quote: Originally Posted by waltdanger View Post
Anyone else have an extremely laggy BIOS? The mouse cursor is almost unusable, feels like it is running at 3fps. Even keystrokes get 'missed' and I have to be very careful when typing in values. Running latest BIOS.




Did you put the RAM in Slots 2 & 4 (counting away from CPU)? For dual sticks you are supposed to use those. I have the same exact RAM and had problems until I found out about that. Good RAM btw, Hynix DJR and mine overclock pretty well considering how cheap they are.
Yes they're in the proper slots. Haven't had any issues with the system and it passed memtest so I'm calling it good. Monoblock arrives tomorrow but won't have time to tear down the water loop and run full Mayhems blitz cleaning until next weekend. Putting a block on the ram too because.... screw it the block was pretty cheap haha. I even have an ancient EK chipset block that was originally for either AM2 or AM3 boards that fits the Southbridge on this board.

So ya btw, the EK Strix-E monoblock fits this board people...
M3TAl is offline  
post #176 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 11:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by drjohnnyfever View Post
Greetings all

I bought this board about a week ago before I found this forum post.

I'm having fairly good luck so far with the latest 1405 BIOS with a 3900X and Noctua NH-U12s cooler.

I'm absolutely convinced that some negative voltage offset is desirable at least with the amount of cooling I have on this board, with this BIOS, with this chip. Currently running -0.06875. My maximum smallest fft temps with Prime95 are around 87c, with stock auto voltage they'd bump 95c. My Cinebench score also rose, and as far as I can tell I'm still boosting to 4500 to 4600mhz with single thread loads. My package power consumption reported by HWMonitor dropped to around 171 watts from 183 watts under the worst all-core loads I can come up with (small fft prime95 with AVX2 on).

Anyway, currently my best Cinebench R20 score is around 7258, AIDA64 reported memory read speed 55163MB/s.

I've hard terrible luck with the Ryzen memory calculator so I'm not using that. I have 4 16GB DIMMS of Trident Z Neo, 18-22-22-42 Micron CRJ RAM. I'm able to run them at 16-18-18-39 timings with a tRC of 58 with no issues whatsoever with a slight voltage bump to 1.370. I've run memtest86 for 8 hours and Prime95 blend for 12 hours.

Under realistic all-core loads like Handbrake my temps are in the mid to high 70's Celsius. I get near 90c under absurd synthetic loads. I've decided to upgrade to a Noctua NH-U14s which I should have tomorrow sometime in hopes of keeping worst case temps below 85c and maybe getting slightly better boost speeds.

Needless to say the 3900X is massively faster than my old 6700k 4.3GHz all-core overclock system even for most single thread workloads so thus far I'm quite happy with it. If I had to buy the board over again I'd probably spend a bit more on a better Gigabyte model.
This board and the 3900x replaced my i7-6700k with all cores at 4.5ghz OC. Glad to see single thread results better for you thus far. I am going to be messing with my memory OC and cpu oc settings in the next few days to see what I can do. I have a old H110i AIO cooler that I am using, and out of the box stock I am not seeing temps much over 75*C.
doubleatheman is offline  
post #177 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 01:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 66
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Just received my 4300Mhz C18 Samsung B-die kit, planning to under clock to 3866 with tighter timings. Im reading here people having problems going over 1800 on FLCK, is this a fixed issue?

AMD Ryzen 3800X BQ! Dark Rock Pro 4 4.35Ghz | Asus ROG Strix OC 2080Ti 2130Mhz/8500Mhz| Asus TUF Gaming x570-Plus Wifi | T-Force Extreem 16GB CL15 3800/1900 1:1 FLCK | NZXT H500 | Acer XF270HUA 2K 144HZ
Uns33n is offline  
post #178 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 11:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 2,347
Rep: 70 (Unique: 55)
Just finished my new rig and powered it on. Keyboards (ps2 and usb) power on but is unresponsive. The Asus screen directs me to press DEL or F2 to enter BIOS but I can’t enter it.

Ive tried:

1. Using 3 different wired keyboards (including PS2) and different USB ports
2. Testing with 1 ram stick at a time
3. Clear cmos
4. 3+ hours repeating this

Please help

Rig: Asus TUF x570 plus, 3800x, crucial ballistic sport LT, evga 1660ti

Lossless > foobar2K > Wasapi > Musiland 02 DAC > [Dayton SUB80 > KRK RP5 G2] / [ATH-M50]

Last edited by ThumperSD; 02-28-2020 at 11:15 PM.
ThumperSD is offline  
post #179 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
M3TAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,193
Rep: 181 (Unique: 133)
Quote: Originally Posted by ThumperSD View Post
Just finished my new rig and powered it on. Keyboards (ps2 and usb) power on but is unresponsive. The Asus screen directs me to press DEL or F2 to enter BIOS but I can’️t enter it.

Ive tried:

1. Using 3 different wired keyboards (including PS2) and different USB ports
2. Testing with 1 ram stick at a time
3. Clear cmos
4. 3+ hours repeating this

Please help [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/frown.gif[/IMG]

Rig: Asus TUF x570 plus, 3800x, crucial ballistic sport LT, evga 1660ti

Can u get in BIOS from Windows advanced startup?
M3TAl is offline  
post #180 of 198 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 11:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 2,347
Rep: 70 (Unique: 55)
Quote: Originally Posted by M3TAl View Post
Can u get in BIOS from Windows advanced startup?
This is the first time I powered it on so no OS install yet

Lossless > foobar2K > Wasapi > Musiland 02 DAC > [Dayton SUB80 > KRK RP5 G2] / [ATH-M50]
ThumperSD is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off