ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Overclocking & Discussion Thread - Page 119 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Overclocking & Discussion Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1181 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 09:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by TK421 View Post
Does C8H have dual blck like c7h and c6h? Can we get a bios screen of that option?
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
No, C8H doesn't have an external Pll.
I'm curious, what is a dual BCLK and what is the advantage, does one just check the other is running at the same frequency?

AStaUK - ROG Build.
(14 items)
CPU
3900X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
Asus ROG Strix 2080Ti OC
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ Royal
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo PLUS NVME
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo PLUS NVME
Power Supply
Asus ROG Thor
Cooling
Asus ROG Ryujin 360
Case
Asus ROG Strix Helios
Operating System
Win10 Pro x64
Monitor
Asus ROG PG279Q
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma
Mouse
Razer Blackadder Chroma
Audio
Creative Labs AE-5
▲ hide details ▲
AStaUK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1182 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 10:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
None of you have an ssd m2 pciex 4.0?

In case you can post a CrystalDiskMark ??

Thanks

R9 3900X+EkWb-Asus X570 Crosshair VIII Formula-G.Skill TridentZ 32Gb Rgb-Radeon VII+EkWb-Aorus Gen 4 1Tb Pcie 4.0-Evga P2 850W-Asus MG279Q-Phanteks Evolv Atx TG AF-W10 Pro
Lupo91 is offline  
post #1183 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 12:35 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,415
Rep: 158 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
No, C8H doesn't have an external Pll.
Quote: Originally Posted by immortal3000 View Post
Why not?
Physically, there is a generator on the board.
Another thing is that it does not work with 3xxx zen, and judging by the changelog, it will be included in 1.0.0.4

This is one of the reasons why I bought this particular board.
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Hmm...
I though only C8F had it.

Thou, I cannot see it one the pictures either on C8H.
Quote: Originally Posted by immortal3000 View Post
Really(
It turns out that I made a mistake in choosing a board ..

at all previous crosshair he was, and I was sure that there is here

Why did the asus do this?
Quote: Originally Posted by AStaUK View Post
I'm curious, what is a dual BCLK and what is the advantage, does one just check the other is running at the same frequency?


Any of you guys 100% sure there's no dual BLCK on C8H/C8F at all?


Is the "feature going to be added with planned update" real info or speculation?

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1184 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 08:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
I am using a Corsair MP600 pcie 4.0 ssd, but I am having trouble with its write speeds fluctuating considerably and am in progress on diagnosing the issue. I will keep you posted with any information I have.

Ryzen 3700x
(9 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) [x570]
GPU
Aorus RTX 2070 Xtreme
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 3200 C16
Hard Drive
Corsair MP600 Gen4 NVMe
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x (2018)
Cooling
Custom 360mm CPU Open Loop
Case
Thermaltake P3
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
SeeGee is offline  
post #1185 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 05:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FlanK3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech republic*Brno city
Posts: 1,443
Rep: 163 (Unique: 112)
Quote: Originally Posted by zsoltmol View Post
Anybody had success on C8H non wifi to increase BCLK from 100 to 101? My system instantly freezes if I increase it and do a reboot.
101 MHz OK, but 102 MHz BLCK freezes

Ryzen Threadripper TBD ,-), Ryzen Threadripper 1950X, Ryzen 7 2700X, Ryzen 5 2400G, Ryzen 7 1800X, Ryzen 7 1700X, Ryzen 5 1500X, Ryzen 5 1600X, FX-8320E, FX-8370, FX-8370E, 2x FX-9590, 4x AMD FX-8350, 2x FX-8320, 2xFX-8300, 4xAMD FX-8150, AMD FX-8120 95W, AMD FX-8120 125W, AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE, AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE 4.3 GHz stable, AMD Phenom II x 980 BE, Phenom II x4 975 BE,Phenom II x4 970 BE, 2x Phenom II x4 965 BE C3, Phenom II x4 965 BE C2, Athlon 860K, Athlon 845, A10-7870K, 2xA10-7850K, 2x A10-7700K, A10-6800K, A10-6800B, A8-6600K, A10-5800K, A8-5600K, A10-3870K, A8-3850, Athlon 5150 Kabini,Intel core i9-7900X, Intel core i7-6950X, Intel core i7-5960X, core i7-3930K, i7-980X,3x Intel core i7-8700K, i7-7700K,i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, i7-4770K, i7-3770K, i7-2600K
AMD AIR cooling challenge Cinebench R10
FlanK3r is offline  
post #1186 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 08:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by SeeGee View Post
I am using a Corsair MP600 pcie 4.0 ssd, but I am having trouble with its write speeds fluctuating considerably and am in progress on diagnosing the issue. I will keep you posted with any information I have.


I also have the Corsair MP-600 1Tb, performance is poor in 4K, and I don't understand why.


I also tried the Aorus Gen4 1Tb, but more or less the same

Here is the CrystalMark of Corsair MP-600 1 TB






Here is the CrystalMark of Aorus Gen 4 1TB






Both have poor performance in 4K

R9 3900X+EkWb-Asus X570 Crosshair VIII Formula-G.Skill TridentZ 32Gb Rgb-Radeon VII+EkWb-Aorus Gen 4 1Tb Pcie 4.0-Evga P2 850W-Asus MG279Q-Phanteks Evolv Atx TG AF-W10 Pro

Last edited by Lupo91; 10-17-2019 at 08:50 AM.
Lupo91 is offline  
post #1187 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 11:33 AM
GPU Enthusiast
 
rv8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,506
Rep: 199 (Unique: 146)
Quote: Originally Posted by centvalny View Post
C8I 0050 BIOS agesa 1.0.0.4

Fix Incorrect MemClkFreq above DDR-5000.
Add micron/spectek DDR4-5000 auto tuning rule.
Add SK Hynix DJR DDR4-5000 memory preset.
Add memory OC fail count, 0 is disabled will not recovery setting and enter safe mode, max 10-times retry.
Add BCLK fraction function.

No cb

https://www.dropbox.com/s/uq3l4dsy5x...-0050.CAP?dl=0

https://community.hwbot.org/topic/19...comment-541697

If you can comment on the 1.0.0.4 bios, have you noticed any changes in PBO behavior? Most notably will PBO try to boost closer to the added frequency range set in bios (limit is up to +200mhz?)

PBO changes was one of the things Hallock posted/talked about in the reddit post afaik, and it would be nice to see my pbo boost higher than 25mhz when my power/temp are well within limits (boosting to 4425 on 3700x @ 49c avg in single core tasks @ ~1.43v).

Steins Gate
(16 items)
CPU
3700X
Motherboard
ASUS CH8 WiFi
GPU
EVGA 2080S FTW3
RAM
2x8GB DDR4 3200 c14 @ 3800 C16 1T
Hard Drive
960 Evo
Hard Drive
850 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360
Case
Fractal Design S2
Monitor
Acer ed323qur
Keyboard
CM MK730
Mouse
G703
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Polk tsi 100
Audio
HD518
Audio
Denon PMA-60
▲ hide details ▲
rv8000 is offline  
post #1188 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 11:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,552
Rep: 859 (Unique: 327)
Quote: Originally Posted by rv8000 View Post
If you can comment on the 1.0.0.4 bios, have you noticed any changes in PBO behavior? Most notably will PBO try to boost closer to the added frequency range set in bios (limit is up to +200mhz?)

PBO changes was one of the things Hallock posted/talked about in the reddit post afaik, and it would be nice to see my pbo boost higher than 25mhz when my power/temp are well within limits (boosting to 4425 on 3700x @ 49c avg in single core tasks @ ~1.43v).
There is no way to improve hardware limits through software.

1.0.0.4 implements more features & control.
The Stilt is offline  
post #1189 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 12:43 PM
GPU Enthusiast
 
rv8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,506
Rep: 199 (Unique: 146)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
There is no way to improve hardware limits through software.

1.0.0.4 implements more features & control.
Obviously it's not as simple as this but:

Depending on the binning process you may get a 3800X that boosts to 4.5ghz @ 1.45v for single core loads.

Someone has a 3700X that boosts to 4.4ghz @ 1.4v for single core loads.

If PBO+Auto OC is based on microcode/software limitations at X value for TDP, amperage, temperature, voltage, etc... wouldn't an improved PBO algorithm theoretically let the 3700X boost higher when all of those criteria have not been exceeded? And in this specific situation AMD theoretically (and also in practice 65w vs 105w TDP) allowed the 3800X to hit a much higher PPT, TDC, and EDC, (enabling PBO and auto OC "should" allow for a higher PPT, TDC, and EDC than a stock 3800X).

I thought this was everyone's initial take away from Hallocks infamous video about PBO and Ryzen 3000, and why everyone was ticked off that it essentially did nothing. Seriously though, what's the point of having a +200mhz auto OC option for PBO and only getting 25mhz when I'm not hitting any of the 3 PBO limitations. Sure not every processor is the same but this sounds more like microcode/software limitation than hardware.

Quote:
“this feature will not guarantee the higher boost clock on any number of cores. The frequency/cores/boost duration will still depend on the firmware-managed limits, even though those limits are higher than OEM when PBO has been enabled.”
A direct quote from AMD stating it's a firmware limitation

Steins Gate
(16 items)
CPU
3700X
Motherboard
ASUS CH8 WiFi
GPU
EVGA 2080S FTW3
RAM
2x8GB DDR4 3200 c14 @ 3800 C16 1T
Hard Drive
960 Evo
Hard Drive
850 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360
Case
Fractal Design S2
Monitor
Acer ed323qur
Keyboard
CM MK730
Mouse
G703
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Polk tsi 100
Audio
HD518
Audio
Denon PMA-60
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rv8000; 10-17-2019 at 12:52 PM.
rv8000 is offline  
post #1190 of 1435 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 02:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Your results are better than mine to be honest. Can you run Atto Disk Benchmark and post your results? It has better granularity than CDM. I'll post my results when I get home and you'll see what I mean.

Ryzen 3700x
(9 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) [x570]
GPU
Aorus RTX 2070 Xtreme
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 3200 C16
Hard Drive
Corsair MP600 Gen4 NVMe
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x (2018)
Cooling
Custom 360mm CPU Open Loop
Case
Thermaltake P3
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
SeeGee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off