ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Overclocking & Discussion Thread - Page 25 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Overclocking & Discussion Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 09:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 36
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by MacG32 View Post
The reviewer in the video I posted used maxed LLC and 1.4V for 4.35GHz on a 3700X, so I think you're on the right track. I would try to increase LLC and go from there.




I can't hear it at all, even under full load. There are no manual adjustments available on the chipset fan from Asus. Good luck in your decision.


Hopefully they add that in, they usually have really good fan control.
chowbaby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 10:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KingEngineRevUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,270
Rep: 67 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by wisepds View Post
Guys, what Vcore for 4,3ghz on 3900x? I mean on load, not on idle with for example LLC2?

I can't push to 4,3 and 1,35v (1,287 under load)

Are you using BIOs or Ryzen Master? I've been trying to figure out how to control the voltages with BIOs, it doesn't work.

But anyways, use this method for now: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...mmend_massive/

I'm waiting for others to start OC so we can discuss controlling VID voltages. Haven't seen anyone talk much about CCX OC here yet.

With this method, I have accomplished the following:

Ryzen Master - All VID voltages controlled to be below 1.325, no thermal warnings happen.
CCX0 4425
CCX1 4425
CCX2 4475
CCX3 4475

der8auer's OC tool - VID voltages spike to 1.38v-1.48v, thermal warnings happen and PC shuts off
CCX0 4425
CCX1 4425
CCX2 4450
CCX3 4450

My scores with der8auer's OC tool is actually higher because Ryzen Master sucks up resources. But Ryzen Master lets me run 4475 because it controls the VID voltages!

I CAN'T GET THE BIOS TO CONTROL THE VID VOLTAGES LIKE RYZEN MASTER DOES!

Hopefully someone here can figure it out. We'll get really nice OCs soon. We need to Overclock and Undervolt the best that we can to maximize boost because if we don't, thermal throttling occurs and these chips heat up quite rapidly due to the way they are designed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PBO and PB vs No PB and PBO.png
Views:	32
Size:	210.4 KB
ID:	282404  


Current Rig
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen™ 9 3900X
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
GPU
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti SEA HAWK X
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM (F4-3600C16D-16GTZSW)
Power Supply
Corsair RMi Series™ RM1000i
Cooling
Corsair Hydro Series™ H110i GTX
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG278QR 27”
Mouse
Logitec G602
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by KingEngineRevUp; 07-20-2019 at 10:30 PM.
KingEngineRevUp is offline  
post #243 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wisepds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Seville (Spain)
Posts: 337
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by SlimJ87D View Post
Are you using BIOs or Ryzen Master? I've been trying to figure out how to control the voltages with BIOs, it doesn't work.

But anyways, use this method for now: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...mmend_massive/

I'm waiting for others to start OC so we can discuss controlling VID voltages. Haven't seen anyone talk much about CCX OC here yet.

With this method, I have accomplished the following:

Ryzen Master - All VID voltages controlled to be below 1.325, no thermal warnings happen.
CCX0 4425
CCX1 4425
CCX2 4475
CCX3 4475

der8auer's OC tool - VID voltages spike to 1.38v-1.48v, thermal warnings happen and PC shuts off
CCX0 4425
CCX1 4425
CCX2 4450
CCX3 4450

My scores with der8auer's OC tool is actually higher because Ryzen Master sucks up resources. But Ryzen Master lets me run 4475 because it controls the VID voltages!

I CAN'T GET THE BIOS TO CONTROL THE VID VOLTAGES LIKE RYZEN MASTER DOES!

Hopefully someone here can figure it out. We'll get really nice OCs soon. We need to Overclock and Undervolt the best that we can to maximize boost because if we don't, thermal throttling occurs and these chips heat up quite rapidly due to the way they are designed.
Thanks! But i want to do Overclock from the bios, not on windows. What temps have you under load? I think tha 4,6 values that Amd claims is a real fake, my ryzen 3900X doesn't get that speed...i feel cheated..

wisepds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:57 AM
OCCT Stable OCD
 
schoolofmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 2,178
Rep: 39 (Unique: 32)
Ok so any ideas, currently I'm getting random reboots/BSOD when idle, it's happened twice now.
I'll locked the computer just then to cook dinner, Chrome was running, when I came back the machine had reboot, checked bluescreens and there was no dump logged other than the first BSOD.
The first BSOD I was just browsing the web (Chrome), and I actually saw the BSOD, the log on that was with the ntoskrnl.exe.

I've run Prime95, Realbench, Cinebench, Memtest all fine, heck I've played hours of GTA V, AC:O, Metro Last Light, so it's not load or memory related.

I have a 3900x (no oc) with a negative -0.100v offset, maybe I need to lower that to -0.05v, it's all I can think of that would be causing a idle crash.

I've notice even with Chrome open my idle voltages when not touching anything drop to about 0.496v occasionally.

System:
3900x
ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
32GB (2x16GB) Gskill Trident 3200Mhz 16-18-18 38 (1.36v)
Samsing Evo 970 Pro 250GB NVMe

schoolofmonkey is offline  
post #245 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 02:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
phillyman36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 135
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Just looked in my Bios and noticed that my precision Boost overdrive is set to auto by default. Under that section
PBO
PBO scalar
Max CPU Boost clock Override
Platform Thermal throttle Limit
Everything is set to Auto by default.

Since im not really familiar with voltages should I disable some or all 4 of those?

Last edited by phillyman36; 07-21-2019 at 02:24 AM.
phillyman36 is offline  
post #246 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 02:24 AM
OCCT Stable OCD
 
schoolofmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 2,178
Rep: 39 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by phillyman36 View Post
Just looked in my Bios and noticed that my precision Boost overdrive is set to auto. Under that section
PBO
PBO scalar
Max CPU Boost clock Override
Platform Thermal throttle Limit
Everything is set to Auto by default.

Since im not really familiar with voltages should I disable some or all 4 of those?
Steve from GN basically pointed out that Auto technically means off...

schoolofmonkey is offline  
post #247 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 02:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
phillyman36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 135
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by schoolofmonkey View Post
Steve from GN basically pointed out that Auto technically means off...
Thanks lol for a second im like did my mobo just void my warranty lol

So far so good. My first install my bios was updated to the 0702 with the 7/5/2019 date. After I reinstalled the same 0702 bios with the 7/19/2019 date and installed the Aura lights first, let windows do all its updates and installed the chipset drivers from the Asus website last its running smooth. Before when I set my m,em freq to 3200 I would sometimes get a 8d post error. Haven't seen that yet.
Side note God how i sooo want to get transfer this from my white Corsair 780t to a Corsair black 680x lol

Last edited by phillyman36; 07-21-2019 at 02:39 AM.
phillyman36 is offline  
post #248 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 05:08 AM
AMD overclocker/developer
 
1usmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Ukraine / Germany
Posts: 1,587
Rep: 294 (Unique: 137)
In the interval between breakfast and writing a special review Zen 2 I want to share one more profile with you

4200C16

https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...1&d=1563710817


__________________________________


I checked the VDDG voltage requirements for the entire frequency spectrum when using a processor with a poor memory controller. 0.9 volts is enough for any scenario.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4200С16.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	586.6 KB
ID:	282456  

1usmus is offline  
post #249 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 07:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wisepds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Seville (Spain)
Posts: 337
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
In the interval between breakfast and writing a special review Zen 2 I want to share one more profile with you

4200C16

https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...1&d=1563710817


__________________________________


I checked the VDDG voltage requirements for the entire frequency spectrum when using a processor with a poor memory controller. 0.9 volts is enough for any scenario.
@1usmus ¿What values would you use for Trident Z 3600 CL15,15,15,15,35 @1,35v Samsung B-die 4x8GB on Crosshair VIII wifi? Maybe 1,38v? 1T? My rams doesn't pass the memtest... at 1,35v 15,15,15,15,35,and geardown disabled (For cl15, you know) when will you Calculator be ready? Please, help!!!

wisepds is offline  
post #250 of 1192 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Well, hello there...
 
MacG32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ET US
Posts: 4,445
Rep: 315 (Unique: 230)
Quote: Originally Posted by chowbaby View Post

Hopefully they add that in, they usually have really good fan control.

I doubt a fan control feature for the chipset fan will happen.

Quote: Originally Posted by SlimJ87D View Post
Are you using BIOs or Ryzen Master? I've been trying to figure out how to control the voltages with BIOs, it doesn't work.

But anyways, use this method for now: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...mmend_massive/

I'm waiting for others to start OC so we can discuss controlling VID voltages. Haven't seen anyone talk much about CCX OC here yet.

With this method, I have accomplished the following:

Ryzen Master - All VID voltages controlled to be below 1.325, no thermal warnings happen.
CCX0 4425
CCX1 4425
CCX2 4475
CCX3 4475

der8auer's OC tool - VID voltages spike to 1.38v-1.48v, thermal warnings happen and PC shuts off
CCX0 4425
CCX1 4425
CCX2 4450
CCX3 4450

My scores with der8auer's OC tool is actually higher because Ryzen Master sucks up resources. But Ryzen Master lets me run 4475 because it controls the VID voltages!

I CAN'T GET THE BIOS TO CONTROL THE VID VOLTAGES LIKE RYZEN MASTER DOES!

Hopefully someone here can figure it out. We'll get really nice OCs soon. We need to Overclock and Undervolt the best that we can to maximize boost because if we don't, thermal throttling occurs and these chips heat up quite rapidly due to the way they are designed.

Thank you for sharing the link and info. +Rep

Quote: Originally Posted by wisepds View Post
Thanks! But i want to do Overclock from the bios, not on windows. What temps have you under load? I think tha 4,6 values that Amd claims is a real fake, my ryzen 3900X doesn't get that speed...i feel cheated..

I'm sure as the BIOS and microcode matures you'll be able to overclock better with less volts and lower temps. Maybe the ROG Team can put together an overclock guide to maximize overclocks with minimal temperatures.

Quote: Originally Posted by schoolofmonkey View Post
Ok so any ideas, currently I'm getting random reboots/BSOD when idle, it's happened twice now.
I'll locked the computer just then to cook dinner, Chrome was running, when I came back the machine had reboot, checked bluescreens and there was no dump logged other than the first BSOD.
The first BSOD I was just browsing the web (Chrome), and I actually saw the BSOD, the log on that was with the ntoskrnl.exe.

I've run Prime95, Realbench, Cinebench, Memtest all fine, heck I've played hours of GTA V, AC:O, Metro Last Light, so it's not load or memory related.

I have a 3900x (no oc) with a negative -0.100v offset, maybe I need to lower that to -0.05v, it's all I can think of that would be causing a idle crash.

I've notice even with Chrome open my idle voltages when not touching anything drop to about 0.496v occasionally.

System:
3900x
ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
32GB (2x16GB) Gskill Trident 3200Mhz 16-18-18 38 (1.36v)
Samsing Evo 970 Pro 250GB NVMe

I wouldn't use an offset at all. Seems there's not enough volts at idle to maintain your stability.

Quote: Originally Posted by 1usmus View Post
In the interval between breakfast and writing a special review Zen 2 I want to share one more profile with you

4200C16

https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...1&d=1563710817


__________________________________


I checked the VDDG voltage requirements for the entire frequency spectrum when using a processor with a poor memory controller. 0.9 volts is enough for any scenario.

Thank you again for sharing your settings and configuration with us. I really appreciate that. +Rep

Primus
(25 items)
pfSense Firewall
(10 items)
CPU
AMD - Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8GHz 12-Core (4.6GHz Max Boost)
Motherboard
Asus - ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi) X570 AMD ATX
GPU
Asus - GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition 11GB 352-Bit GDDR5X
RAM
G.Skill - TridentZ RGB 32GB (4x8GB) 4000MHz F4-4000C17Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
Samsung - 960 Pro 512GB M.2-2280 PCI-E v3.0 x4 NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate - Exos X10 10TB 3.5" 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s
Hard Drive
Samsung - 850 Pro 512GB 2.5" SATA III 3D NAND SSD
Optical Drive
Asus - BW-12B1ST 12X SATA CD/DVD/Blu-ray Writer
Power Supply
EVGA - SuperNOVA P2 650W 80+ Platinum Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair - Hydro H100i Pro Liquid 240mm All-In-One
Cooling
G.Skill - FTB-3500C5-D Turbulence II Memory Fans
Case
Cougar - Panzer Max ATX Full Tower
Operating System
Microsoft - Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
Monitor
Acer - 2x G7 G247HYL 23.8" IPS 4ms 1920 x 1080 60Hz
Keyboard
Cooler Master - MasterKeys Pro S Cherry MX Red w/Ducky Keycaps
Mouse
Logitech - G502 Hero RGB Tunable Gaming
Mousepad
Fellowes - Black w/Microban
Audio
Realtek - ALC1220 - 7.1Ch 32bit/192KHz 120dB SNR HD
Other
Logitech - C922x HD Pro Widescreen 1080p Webcam
Other
Thrustmaster - T.Flight Stick X Joystick
Other
Canon - PIXMA MG3120 All-In-One Copier/Printer/Scanner
Other
Sennheiser - HD 650 LE Massdrop Reference Class Headphones
Other
Logitech - Z623 200W 2.1Ch THX-Certified Speakers
Other
Thermal Grizzly - Kryonaut Top Grade Thermal Compound
Other
Shure - MV5 Professional Quality Condenser Microphone
CPU
Intel - Core i7-7700 3.6GHz 4-Core (4.2GHz Max Boost)
Motherboard
ASRock - Z270M-ITX/ac LGA1151 Intel Mini ITX
RAM
Kingston - HyperX Predator 8GB 2400MHz DDR4 CL12
Hard Drive
ADATA - Premier Pro SP600 64GB 2.5" SSD
Power Supply
Silverstone - 300W 80+ Bronze Certified SFX
Cooling
Noctua - NH-L9i 33.8 CFM
Case
Cooler Master - Elite 110 Mini ITX
Operating System
pfSense Latest Version
Monitor
BenQ - GW2270 21.5" 1920x1080 60Hz
Keyboard
Qumax - Scorpius V6 Wired Mini
▲ hide details ▲


MacG32 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (2 members and 1 guests)
centvalny , immortal3000
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off