ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Overclocking & Discussion Thread - Page 282 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Overclocking & Discussion Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2811 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-24-2020, 09:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
New CH8W with CPU Power Issue

Just finished building a machine with a C8HW motherboard that lites up the 8-Pin CPU LED as soon as the PSU is turned on. Have two 4x4 cables attached to both the 8-pin connector and the 4-pin connector and can't seem to convince the damn thing it's getting power. Everything else is fine, fans etc. Just a bright red "hey dummy connect the 8-pin CPU power before you burn out your motherboard" light nagging at me.

Is this normal?

THOR 1200 P PSU should work amirite?
nuvector is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2812 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-24-2020, 09:51 PM
Been around...
 
garyd9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Pittsburgh, PA (USA)
Posts: 493
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by nuvector View Post
Just finished building a machine with a C8HW motherboard that lites up the 8-Pin CPU LED as soon as the PSU is turned on. Have two 4x4 cables attached to both the 8-pin connector and the 4-pin connector and can't seem to convince the damn thing it's getting power. Everything else is fine, fans etc. Just a bright red "hey dummy connect the 8-pin CPU power before you burn out your motherboard" light nagging at me.

Is this normal?

THOR 1200 P PSU should work amirite?
No, it's not normal. First, just for the sake of testing, I'd only connect the 8pin connector. (The additional 4pin isn't really needed unless your going for extreme overclocking or your PSU cables use thin wires. The motherboard should boot fine with only the 8pin connected (in addition to the normal ATX connector, of course.)

If you get the same issue, try to swap cables and/or connections to the PSU. (If it's a modular PSU, try a different cable and different PSU connector. If it's not modular, then just a different cable.) Again, stick with only the 8pin connector.

If you still get the same issue, I'd check that the cables/connectors with a multi-meter to ensure they are providing 12VDC on all 4 pairs. If the cables/PSU connectors are all good based on a multi-meter test, but the motherboard still acts as if it's not getting power on the connection, I'd exchange the motherboard for a new one.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
NVidia RTX 2070 Super Founders Edition
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws 32GB 3600 CL16 (Hynix DJR @ 16-16-19-21)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime TX-750
Cooling
EKWB Velocity CPU Water Block
Cooling
HWLabs 360GTS Radiator
Cooling
EK-XTOP with D5 Pump
Cooling
Monsoon MMRS tube Res
Case
Thermaltake Core X5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Asus PB328Q 32" WQHD
Monitor
Asus 25" 16:10 (forgot the model number)
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5
Mouse
Logitech G900
Mousepad
Corsair MM300
▲ hide details ▲
garyd9 is offline  
post #2813 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-24-2020, 11:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
New CH8W with CPU Power Issue

Quote: Originally Posted by garyd9 View Post
If you still get the same issue, I'd check that the cables/connectors with a multi-meter to ensure they are providing 12VDC on all 4 pairs. If the cables/PSU connectors are all good based on a multi-meter test, but the motherboard still acts as if it's not getting power on the connection, I'd exchange the motherboard for a new one.
Ugh. I put a multimeter on the cable and I'm reading 6.4-6.8VDC across the pins. I think that's not good. (Tried plugging the cable into a couple of other plugs into the PSU and got no voltage.) May have a bad PSU?

I'm not an electrical engineer, but I feel like someone should be paying me like one...
nuvector is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2814 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-26-2020, 12:06 AM
Been around...
 
garyd9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Pittsburgh, PA (USA)
Posts: 493
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by nuvector View Post
Ugh. I put a multimeter on the cable and I'm reading 6.4-6.8VDC across the pins. I think that's not good. (Tried plugging the cable into a couple of other plugs into the PSU and got no voltage.) May have a bad PSU?
If the PSU is on (not in standby) You should be seeing 12VDC across the pins on all 4 pairs of the 8 pin connector (sometimes called ATX12V 4+4, sometimes called EPS 8pin)

Doing that is tricky - you have to attach the main ATX power connector to the motherboard (or jumper it) to get the PSU to power up, and them carefully measure the 4+4 or 8pin connector. Be aware of which pins are +12VDC and which pins are ground. You can use the following webpage as a guide: https://www.moddiy.com/pages/Power-S...d-Pinouts.html

On some modular power supplies, it's possible to plug the modular cables into the wrong jacks on the power supply, so just be aware of that possibility.

Otherwise, if the PSU was properly powered on (not in standby) and you're only seeing 6.5VDC on the EPS connectors, you should consider replacing the PSU or at least contacting the manufacturer for support.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
NVidia RTX 2070 Super Founders Edition
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws 32GB 3600 CL16 (Hynix DJR @ 16-16-19-21)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime TX-750
Cooling
EKWB Velocity CPU Water Block
Cooling
HWLabs 360GTS Radiator
Cooling
EK-XTOP with D5 Pump
Cooling
Monsoon MMRS tube Res
Case
Thermaltake Core X5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Asus PB328Q 32" WQHD
Monitor
Asus 25" 16:10 (forgot the model number)
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5
Mouse
Logitech G900
Mousepad
Corsair MM300
▲ hide details ▲
garyd9 is offline  
post #2815 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-26-2020, 07:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,053
Rep: 57 (Unique: 24)
Quote: Originally Posted by flyinion View Post
Looks like nobody noticed, but new chipset drivers apparently came out 3 days ago.........

Code:
Revision Number     File Size     Release Date
2.07.14.327         48 MB         7/21/202
I noticed today

Don't forget to ground yourself

https://valid.x86.fr/9ly8hi
Reikoji is offline  
post #2816 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-29-2020, 03:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baio73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 162
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Since I've updated to BIOS v2103 I can no longer set my RAM @3600MHz CAS 14 with the values from Calculator.
I've tried raising VRAM to 1.45 but still get beeps on boot... best I can set now is CAS 15 but with GearDownMode enabled it's 16 (with GDM off it won't post).
Any advice for me?

Baio

CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3700X COOLER Corsair H150i Pro RGB MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY Dell U2515H AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb INPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513
Baio73 is offline  
post #2817 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-29-2020, 07:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,053
Rep: 57 (Unique: 24)
Quote: Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
Since I've updated to BIOS v2103 I can no longer set my RAM @3600MHz CAS 14 with the values from Calculator.
I've tried raising VRAM to 1.45 but still get beeps on boot... best I can set now is CAS 15 but with GearDownMode enabled it's 16 (with GDM off it won't post).
Any advice for me?

Baio
Better off flashing back to 1302 or prior. 2103 doesn't work right for everyone, me included.

Don't forget to ground yourself

https://valid.x86.fr/9ly8hi
Reikoji is offline  
post #2818 of 2836 (permalink) Old 07-29-2020, 10:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Baio73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 162
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Reikoji View Post
Better off flashing back to 1302 or prior. 2103 doesn't work right for everyone, me included.
Well... I read around of many people made the step to the new BIOS without issues...
Just wondering if there is a specific parameter to look at to improve stability. For example, I read on Reddit about people reaching stable 1900 IF lowering SOC voltage, which is something against theory.
I'm not so addicted with hardware I can't run my pc at CAS16 for a while.

Baio

CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3700X COOLER Corsair H150i Pro RGB MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY Dell U2515H AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb INPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513
Baio73 is offline  
post #2819 of 2836 (permalink) Old 08-04-2020, 01:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
benbenkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,065
Rep: 82 (Unique: 59)
I really wonder why the poor SATA performance hasn't been acknowledged yet. It's like everyone is trying to sweep it under the rug.
benbenkr is offline  
post #2820 of 2836 (permalink) Old 08-04-2020, 01:55 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 775
Rep: 36 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by benbenkr View Post
I really wonder why the poor SATA performance hasn't been acknowledged yet. It's like everyone is trying to sweep it under the rug.
There's a problem with SATA performance? First time I've heard of this. Just tried copying a large-ish video file from my M.2 SSD to my SATA one and it was basically instant, getting the full 500-ish MB/s write speed of my SATA SSD. What problem are you facing? Can you elaborate?

New baby : Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X, Ryzen 7 3800x, Sapphire RX 5700 XT Nitro +, Asus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi), G.Skill TridentZ Neo 16GB 3600MHz 16-16-16-36, Corsair H150i Pro, EVGA 850G3, Corsair Force MP600 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Old Rig : Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
Yennefer
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3800x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Nitro+
RAM
G. Skill TridentZ Neo 16GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP600 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 4TB
Power Supply
EVGA 850G3
Cooling
Corsair Hydro H150i Pro
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung LC27HG70QQUXEN
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Roccat Tyon
▲ hide details ▲
tolis626 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off