ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII overclocking & discussion thread - Page 61 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG X570 Crosshair VIII overclocking & discussion thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 12:09 PM
Enthusiast
 
Krisztias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 113
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hi Guys,

am I the only one, who has problems with HWiNFO64? I can see the clocks for CPU and memory (the left panel), but nothing more, the complete right panel is empty. I get the error message about the WMI by the start, and cant see any of the parts: not only CPU thermals and Volt, but RAM, VGA, Drives...

Reactor
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi
GPU
ROG-STRIX-RTX2080-O8G-GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
PNY CS2030 M.2 NVMe SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM750X White
Cooling
EK Custom Loop
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung 49KU6450
Mouse
Logitech MX Master 2S
▲ hide details ▲
Krisztias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 08:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 894
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
3800 safe, FCLK 1900.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cachemem8.png
Views:	22
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	288894  


Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #603 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 10:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
HELP with RAM settings. Thank you!

Very new at this

I am running a Crosshair VII Hero (wifi) latest BIOS (0803). Running G.SKILL Trident Z Neo 64GB (4 x 16GB) 3600 (PC4 28800) Model F4-3600C18Q-64GTZN. Ryzen 9 3900x.

If I run "stock" RAM speed (2333) i have no problems. If I use the DOAC profile it finds the correct ram speed and timings but i get an 8d error on motherboard. Only thing I have been able to do to get it to work is to change the RAM speed to lower than 3600 or/and the FCLK to 1600 or lower. Then I can boot .. .yet I am not getting the full benefit of the ran.

What am I doing wrong and what settings can I change to make it work better? Please keep in mind I am very new at this

Thanks a lot!
jgpasa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #604 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 04:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
phillyman36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 135
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by jgpasa View Post
Very new at this

I am running a Crosshair VII Hero (wifi) latest BIOS (0803). Running G.SKILL Trident Z Neo 64GB (4 x 16GB) 3600 (PC4 28800) Model F4-3600C18Q-64GTZN. Ryzen 9 3900x.

If I run "stock" RAM speed (2333) i have no problems. If I use the DOAC profile it finds the correct ram speed and timings but i get an 8d error on motherboard. Only thing I have been able to do to get it to work is to change the RAM speed to lower than 3600 or/and the FCLK to 1600 or lower. Then I can boot .. .yet I am not getting the full benefit of the ran.

What am I doing wrong and what settings can I change to make it work better? Please keep in mind I am very new at this

Thanks a lot!
Same problem every once in a while. I have gskill trident Z 3200. If i set it to 3200 everyone so often i get the 8d during boot up and have to hit the reset button. No problems if i let it run at the lower speed.
phillyman36 is offline  
post #605 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 04:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
flyinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 212
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by jgpasa View Post
Very new at this

I am running a Crosshair VII Hero (wifi) latest BIOS (0803). Running G.SKILL Trident Z Neo 64GB (4 x 16GB) 3600 (PC4 28800) Model F4-3600C18Q-64GTZN. Ryzen 9 3900x.

If I run "stock" RAM speed (2333) i have no problems. If I use the DOAC profile it finds the correct ram speed and timings but i get an 8d error on motherboard. Only thing I have been able to do to get it to work is to change the RAM speed to lower than 3600 or/and the FCLK to 1600 or lower. Then I can boot .. .yet I am not getting the full benefit of the ran.

What am I doing wrong and what settings can I change to make it work better? Please keep in mind I am very new at this

Thanks a lot!
Have you verified it's setting the RAM voltage correctly with the profile? I remember reading that was an issue early on using the profiles to set timings. I ask because I'm using the 2x16GB version of that kit so the only difference is the 2 extra sticks and quad vs dual channel certification. Otherwise it could just be the I/O controller on your CPU is not a great version. I'm also running on a 3700X but not sure that really matters though the 3900X does have extra write bandwidth that I don't have.

The Devil's Canyon
(10 items)
CPU
3700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC Black
RAM
GSkill Trident Neo
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra
Case
Coolermaster H500M
Operating System
Win10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
Dell U2414H
Keyboard
Steelseries M750 TKL
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5 MX Brown
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 700
Mousepad
Steelseries QCK Limited
Audio
Steelseries Arctis Pro + GameDAC
Audio
Schiit Magni 2 Uber
Audio
Schiit Modi 2 Uber
Other
Saitek X52
CPU
Intel 4790K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Formula
RAM
GSkill DDR3-2133
Hard Drive
WD2002FAEX
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Optiarc DVD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF-X
Operating System
Win10 Pro 64bit
▲ hide details ▲
flyinion is offline  
post #606 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 05:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Axon14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,018
Rep: 39 (Unique: 36)
Hi all - is there any way to control the speed of the chipset fan in the bios yet? My fan ramps up to and stays at around 3000-3500 RPM, which is a bit irritating. Theres a control in the bios but I can't do anything to change the speed or set a profile. What am I missing?
Axon14 is offline  
post #607 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 06:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
flyinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 212
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Axon14 View Post
Hi all - is there any way to control the speed of the chipset fan in the bios yet? My fan ramps up to and stays at around 3000-3500 RPM, which is a bit irritating. Theres a control in the bios but I can't do anything to change the speed or set a profile. What am I missing?
Not yet, though Asus is currently like the only mfr. to not have that ability yet as well I think. I don't think I've ever heard mine, though it could be getting drowned out by the silly stock HSF from the 3700X. Can't wait to get rid of that thing. I might notice it then.

The Devil's Canyon
(10 items)
CPU
3700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 SC Black
RAM
GSkill Trident Neo
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra
Case
Coolermaster H500M
Operating System
Win10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
Dell U2414H
Keyboard
Steelseries M750 TKL
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5 MX Brown
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 700
Mousepad
Steelseries QCK Limited
Audio
Steelseries Arctis Pro + GameDAC
Audio
Schiit Magni 2 Uber
Audio
Schiit Modi 2 Uber
Other
Saitek X52
CPU
Intel 4790K
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Formula
RAM
GSkill DDR3-2133
Hard Drive
WD2002FAEX
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Optiarc DVD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF-X
Operating System
Win10 Pro 64bit
▲ hide details ▲
flyinion is offline  
post #608 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 09:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 894
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by flyinion View Post
Not yet, though Asus is currently like the only mfr. to not have that ability yet as well I think. I don't think I've ever heard mine, though it could be getting drowned out by the silly stock HSF from the 3700X. Can't wait to get rid of that thing. I might notice it then.
Which slightly disappointed me. I thought they'd be the first, if not the only, mfr that had a customization PCH fan speed curve. They had this feature with the VRM fans for Zenith Extreme/Alpha so it boggles me why it didn't make its way to x570 boards.

Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif


Last edited by Reikoji; 08-14-2019 at 09:51 PM.
Reikoji is offline  
post #609 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 08:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 894
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
3600 Semi-Fast
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cachemem10forSUP.png
Views:	17
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	289286  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2019.08.15-09.44.png
Views:	48
Size:	664.4 KB
ID:	289288  


Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #610 of 665 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 02:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
usoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 420
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
So iam getting 2 nvme drives tomorow a super fast one for System and a slightly slower for Games, is there a preference on where the fastest one should go on the board ?

ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO
AMD R7 3800X
GSKILL DDR 3200CL14 RGB
Corsair RM650i
Asus Strix 2080 Super OC Edition
usoldier is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off