Can X570 boards disable the second die on 3900X? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Can X570 boards disable the second die on 3900X?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 11:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 73
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Can X570 boards disable the second die on 3900X?

Obviously that would be pretty pointless right now. I'm wondering if when the 3950X arrives it would be possible to disable an entire die in the BIOS, overclock, and run the chip as a 8c/16th to bypass the poor Windows scheduling?
DedEmbryonicCe1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 04:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhillyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 458
Rep: 26 (Unique: 25)
not sure why my message came out as gibberish...phone interface maybe?

Original message should say:

you can set core affinity to process on specific cores on windows 10. this should have the same effect as what you are looking for. Set it to the first or second 12 logical cores and it should limit to the same chiplet. Try some benching and there may be a different with this selected.

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/proce...finity-windows

Last edited by PhillyB; 07-09-2019 at 12:51 PM. Reason: was gibberish....
PhillyB is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 73
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by PhillyB View Post
not sure why my message came out as gibberish...phone interface maybe?

Original message should say:

you can set core affinity to process on specific cores on windows 10. this should have the same effect as what you are looking for. Set it to the first or second 12 logical cores and it should limit to the same chiplet. Try some benching and there may be a different with this selected.

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/proce...finity-windows
Weird on my end the post looks totally normal and I typed it from my PC. Thanks for the link.
DedEmbryonicCe1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:37 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,540
Rep: 319 (Unique: 231)
In UEFI and maybe evne in Ryzen master you can alter these settings usually unless you have some low end mobo with simple UEFI. On x570... why not.

The only reason to do this is really epeen/bragging in benchmarks of 8C Ryzen since 3950X will be the best binned of AM4 variants for regular people.
As far as actual use and scheduler... just buy a 3700X duh! Or use the 3950x properly and fix the scheduling if it's not correct.
JackCY is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 05:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhillyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 458
Rep: 26 (Unique: 25)
Unfortunately, the Win10 scheduler is garbage for anything performance based. Seems to focus on core balancing instead of allowing high use thread to remain on a single core. Result is memory moving all over the cache system and increased processing overhead to do it. Reducing cores used in an application can be a huge boon for performance. A lot of my custom multi-threaded programs end up creating a thread and locking it to a specific cpu core to prevent that problem.

Going for the 3700x by default can be helpful for situations where the user doesnt want to set affinity and wants top performance in simpler tasks. But, productivity processes like video rendering and such will benefit from the added cores more than locking threads to a chiplet. Its a trade off that the average gamer buying the 3950x (and 3900x) will not understand since consumers are told 'more is better' instead of 'more might be better, depends on what you want to do with it'.

As a side note: I can't wait until all the kiddy gamers go out and buy the 3950x and then complain that its not as 'fast' as their 3700x. I will have popcorn ready.
PhillyB is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 05:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 498
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by PhillyB View Post
Unfortunately, the Win10 scheduler is garbage for anything performance based. Seems to focus on core balancing instead of allowing high use thread to remain on a single core. Result is memory moving all over the cache system and increased processing overhead to do it. Reducing cores used in an application can be a huge boon for performance. A lot of my custom multi-threaded programs end up creating a thread and locking it to a specific cpu core to prevent that problem.

Going for the 3700x by default can be helpful for situations where the user doesnt want to set affinity and wants top performance in simpler tasks. But, productivity processes like video rendering and such will benefit from the added cores more than locking threads to a chiplet. Its a trade off that the average gamer buying the 3950x (and 3900x) will not understand since consumers are told 'more is better' instead of 'more might be better, depends on what you want to do with it'.

As a side note: I can't wait until all the kiddy gamers go out and buy the 3950x and then complain that its not as 'fast' as their 3700x. I will have popcorn ready.
Well actually if i had money to throw i'd buy 3950x, disable one die and abuse 8/16 with greater binning clock speeds for gaming
Synoxia is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 05:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,070
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
I thought I heard you could lower the core count but only symmetrically. Also I don't think it's possible to disable one chiplet entirely, but don't quote me.

OCmember is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 02:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 535
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Just saw a guy on reddit post a video where he has a 3900X and disabled 1 CCD/chiplet and SMT to be able to OC the better CCD/chiplet. Seems the quality was golden on one chiplet and garbage on the other.

He was pushing a little high voltage of 1.450V to reach 4.700ghz.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...led_ujerflash/

NEW: Biostar x480GT8 ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM.... not really better
OLD: Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz, Gigabyte GA-AB350 Gaming 3, F25 BIOS Agesa 1.0.0.6
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V @ 3733Mhz 16.(17).23.17.34.71.tRFC 568 1T 1.490V (Micron E-die 16nm)
Corsair LPX 2x8Gb 2666C16R @ 3200Mhz 14.(17).17.17.31.49...(260) 1T1.470V (Micron B-die 25nm)
Nighthog is online now  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 02:31 PM
Newb to Overclock.net
 
mouacyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,807
Rep: 166 (Unique: 123)
So this is how AMD achieved the low TDP.

SL will soon have a resolder service, where they reflow the better binned dies together on a cpu.

This also explains why AMD has hidden optimal overclocking behind PBO, with no manual knobs.

Gentoo64 in Water
(14 items)
LGA775 X5470
(6 items)
CPU
9900K 5GHz 1.224v
Motherboard
EVGA Z370 Micro
GPU
MSI 1080TI GXEK 2100.5/12627
RAM
16GB Trident Z 4000C16
Hard Drive
970 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic X850 Gold
Cooling
480mm Radiator Custom
Case
Silverstone FT03
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Operating System
Gentoo Linux 64 Multi-Lib
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271UH 165Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
CPU
X5470 4GHz (stock v)
Motherboard
GA-EP45-UD3P
GPU
EVGA 9800 GTX+ 512MB
RAM
8GB 4x2GB GSkill 1066MHz DDR2
Cooling
XSPC Rasa, D5 + Res, 240mm Rad
Case
Lian-Li PC7-HX
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by mouacyk; 07-12-2019 at 03:30 PM.
mouacyk is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 04:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,070
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
Glad I haven't bought a chip yet. Will definitely be going 3950X

OCmember is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off